Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I've been to some of the advocates for adolescent mother's events supporting the founder/my sister Lillian Harris and they are amazing! Everyone always has a great time and just to see the passion my sister has for this inspires me! Great organization! And I believe a great help for the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes should be made! Excellent organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I joined Advocates for Adolescent Mothers(AFAM) in the Summer of 2011. Since then I have had multiple opportunities to share my story as a teen mom and student, as well as benefit from multiple opportunities with the organization. AFAM has provided parenting resources, which have helped promote a healthy relationship and development for my daughter and I. Additionally, through fundraising for AFAM and running in the Shamrock Shuffle this year, I was able to give back, increase my health, and complete my goals. Moreover, budgeting, goal setting, and vision board activities have helped me stay focused on my goals and plan for the future. Having another mom join in the workshops this year has given me the opportunity to share and listen to each other's stories; providing a richer experience. Most recently, I utilized a skit to address an issue with effective communication in my current job. As I was prepared, the conversation with my employer went smoothly, and I was able to express my concern effectively. AFAM has provided me with so many enriching opportunities, and I look forward to continuing involvement in AFAM and seeing it grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide workshops with more individuals and create more mentoring opportunities with members of the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 14, 2014

more

June 14, 2014

I have worked with AFAM for over 8 years doing back to school health fairs for young women and children. It was a pleasure working with such a strong independent, leader and outspoken person of AFAM I hope her and her organization for helping young women with children reach the highest milestone for years to come...May god bless

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

My name is Dorsey Smith. I and several of the girls from my own group have had the pleasure of serving as volunteers for AFAM. I am always impressed with Lillian's dedication and commitment to the young women that she serves. We have volunteered during the back to school drive and most recently during her Christmas wrapping drive. Lillian has also been so gracious as to offer us tickets to see the Chicago Sky games. The services that AFAM provide are desperately needed and so is the impassioned leadership that Lillian has proven to supply. I look forward to many endeavors with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I am very pleased to introduce myself as one of the founding Board members of AFAM. It has been very rewarding to work with Ms. Lillian and Advocates for Adolescent Mothers. I strongly believe in AFAM’s mission and vision, which is why I have made significant contributions in the areas of fundraising and planning, and by hosting Board and committee meetings, as well as providing moral support in every way that I can. I joined AFAM’s Board because I want to help the organization accomplish its vision, which includes the creation of an evidence based supportive housing model which will be replicated nationally. The organization has made great accomplishments since 2009, including the Back to School Celebration, the Holiday Drive program, and the Educational Empowerment Grant. Advocates for Adolescent Mothers mission is very important to me because I to was a teen parent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would work to help it grow and make significant changes in the lives of these young ladies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

AFAM has far exceeded my expectations as a nonprofit. I remember when the founder of this wonderful nonprofit spoke of it as a dream to help adolescent mothers. Since then, my wife and I have watched her dream become a reality. It is amazing what God will do when you have a heart for His people. This is also an inspiration to anyone who has a dream. Dreams come true. My wife and I have donated to AFAM and we will continue to donate to such a valuable resource in the community. I urge anyone who is reading this to donate any amount to this wonderful nonprofit. God bless AFAM!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

I am a supporter of the work and the mission of AFAM. it is truly a worthy cause. They have done an awesome job of finding ways to cintribute while staying true to their mission and purpose. The founder has the passion, drive amd ethics to continually grow this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Potentially look at ways to create ongoing community programs to help guide young women and moms on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

I have always appreciated and valued groups that aid teens. When I was I introduced to AFAM shortly before becoming a single parent. Now I appreciate the organization even more so. Being a single parent is hard enough without the add pressure of being a teen who wants to fight becoming a stereotype. AFAM enables young women the resources to make the right choices for themselves and their children. I will continue to support this organization however and when ever I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

As a volunteer with Advocates for Adolescent Mothers I have found that the organization to be focused and authentic in it's advocacy for, education of, and service to adolescent moms. It has been rewarding to work with AFAM because they have afforded me the opportunity to serve in an area that I am extremely passionate about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them build the relationships required for a more substance financial base with the objective of extending their outreach and service to more adolescent mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

I have had the pleasure of knowing the founder of AFAM most of my life and her passion and drive only seems to grow stronger with the years. I truly believe there is no obstacle to big for the members of this organization to hurdle. The help and strength thru provide the young women is special and very much needed. I will support there cause as long as I am able to do so.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!