Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

I would like to express our deep gratitude to Advita Fund USA, and Marina Ouano personally, that
helped us (Popov family from Vologda) and paid for air tickets from Russia to Israel where we went for treatment. The volunteers where always in contact with us and they were very responsive.
Thank you
very much!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help more people needing support with treatment expenses

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

My name is Sergey Pushkin . I live in Ukraine. I was diagnosed with melanoma.
For a resident of the CIS, it does not just sound like a death sentence. It is a death sentence.
We have prehistoric level of medical care, lack health insurance system, while effective modern drugs are more
expensive here than in the United States and other civilized countries. Often these drugs are simply not available, because there is no one to buy them - people do not have money to buy them. Patients lose hope.
It is very important that there are charities like ADVITA FUND. Such organizations are very much needed.
They help and give hope to patients for access to treatment and recovery.
I contacted ADVITA FUND USA for help. I was surprised to find their volunteers genuinely wanting to help me. They are looking for solutions for my problem and offering their help.In particularly helps me alot Marina Ouana. Thank you Marina ,thank you for human support

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

"If you ever need a helping hand, it's at the end of your arm, as you get older, remember you have another hand: The first is to help yourself, the second is to help others."

My name is Marina, I’m 23 and from Russia. First of all, I'd like to express my gratitude to a helpful ADVITA FUND
USA and say that this organization could timely make arrangements for my arrival in the USA, helped me with hotel accomodation and medical consultation at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. I pretty know my illness osteosarcoma involving the left tibia is very dangerous, that's why surgeons and chemotherapists from Russia asked the colleagues from MD Anderson to check me, make some additional medical evaluation. I agreed. The whole trip would cost much money for me but, fortunately, I was said about such a wonderful fund as ADVITA US. Especially I'm sincerely happy with the meeting such interesting and careful people from ADVITA (Marina Ouano and Antonina Kurtova)! They showed me and my mother not only the doors and passages of MD Anderson but entertained us, drove through the whole city and gave many useful advices. Thank them and this organization very much for everything!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

My story was begun in 2010 in Ukraine when Doctor said that my mother has Melanoma diagnosis. That time we didn't expect how serious is this. The treatment was started. Time was gone, but no response neighter from surgery nor from chemotherapy. We start looking for innovation. New and effective treatment was found in EU and USA. But we were not able even to make examination to identify elegibility for such new treatment. Months surfing Internet, hundreds mails to different instances with any small chance to find someone who could help were unsucessfull. We were offered to pass treatment in one of the German Hospital, but the price was too high - about 8000 Euro per month. We were unable to pay, and it was refused. State of mother health coming worst and worst. Suddenly answer was received from Advita USA. Mrs Marina Ouano responded with helping hand. She directed me to right person in Saint Petersburg - Elena Gracheva. Together we start working to solve my mother's treatment problem. Elena found laboratory where we could get BRAF test. It is in the Saint Petersburg. The histological glasses were delivered with volunteers help there. And now we are awaiting results. At the same time we were searching available clinical trials in a number of Oncoinstitutes over the world. And now selection has fallen on to the University of Pennsylvania,US, where it is possible to get free treatment, excluding only transfer and other related to diagnostic expences. Medical records, which are required by appointed Doctor in US, are under preparation and translation. Once we finish, I guess we start making arrangements for transfering with subsequent treatment. I know that for any question I can ask Advita and their will answer me as much as in their ability and power. I received not only real help but assurance of success. My eyes same as eyes of my mother are full of Hope, which was lost in 2010. My all most sincere THANKS to those two women Marina and Elena as part of Advita representatives. I don't know how my life could turn over when I certainly knew that the treatment was available but I couldn't reach it for my mother. She has nobody except her children. My farther left me and my sister when we were small childs walking children garden. All life she works to make everything that we are her children could become a normal social chain amongst people. She never had time to rest. Now she is 55. She just become grandmother. And now she is only thinking about her decease. She don't have time to play with her granddaughter. Hard life with hard decease. She merit to be alive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them rights to get any available treatment for free.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Sergey M. 39, Moscow Region, Russia.I have been sick with Hodgkins lymphoma since 1997. I have gone through chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and stem cells transplantation. I have had 2 relapses. After the third relapse, doctors in Russia told me that there was no more hope for remission in my case and suggested palliative treatment. Only very advanced, cutting-edge (and also very expensive) treatment abroad could be helpful in my case.
I have found out about the Advita Fund from another patient who by then had received a very substantial help from this fund. I contacted Advita and also got my lucky chance. I received a very advanced treatment in USA, which would be absolutely impossible without financial and information support form Advita. if you could help Advita financially, then this fund would able to support even more patients who need help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2011

more

July 17, 2011

Elena, 41, Togliatti, Samara Region, Russia.
In 2008. I was diagnosed with breast cancer with metastases to the lungs.
I took 5 lines of chemotherapy (1st 7 courses, 2nd 6 courses, 3rd 6 courses, 4th 6 courses, 5th 12 courses). A neighbor in the ward gave me the address of Marina Quano and
I asked her for help. Throughout the year, with her assistants Marina is actively engaged in my problem. She picks me for possible clinical studies, consults with doctors from other countries on the treatment strategy and the required additional tests, reports on new developments in medical oncology by means of articles from technical journals, providing psychological support without ignoring any one of my letter or request, always timely and accurate answers to questions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thanks to the doctors and Marina Quano, third year alive and raising children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I want to thank all the members of your organization and especially Marina Quano for skilled and efficient work, for the assistance needed by many cancer patients and myself. Thank you very much. I wish your organization's future development and prosperity. Sincerely, Elena.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 22, 2011

more

March 22, 2011

I want to tell the whole world and will continue to do my best to spread the word about this OUTSTANDING non-profit organization. The amount of compassion, understanding, professionalism and *real practical help* I 've (my family has) received through them is AMAZING. The dedication of volunteers who run this Fund is nothing short of admirable! The amount of effort, time, even their personal investment they put into this cause that they really believe in is very touching to someone like me who just happened to encounter the world of childhood cancer as a result of personal tragedy.

I hope their base of contributors continues to grow every year. Ability to accept income tax deductible donations is SUCH a huge advantage that needs to be utilized by more people/businesses. It is such a unique, wonderful opportunity to invest in young lives: to help save lives which otherwise don't have a chance in their own homeland!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

when we were seeking help and stumbled upon Advita USA, we were: devastated by the horrible news of a dear child possibly not having any hope, we were heart-broken and grieving, confused and almost suffacated by the feeling of hopelessness AND helplessness. Advita knowledgeable staff has responded to us immediately, with the words of hope, encouragement, they listened to us, they offered suggestions, options, they did all they could to relieve us of the burdens of research that takes countless hours;

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they do what they do BEAUTIFULLY putting in so much of their personal time and passion into this life-saving endeavor. I really do believe itt has the potential of becoming really big, if they have the right exposure and more permanent (hopefully, corporate) following of sponsors. This would allow them the ability to raise large sums of money required for medical treatments (especially cancer!) overseas fast, and even independent of patients' families and friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 22, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
July 22, 2010

Я обратилась в благотворительный фонд "АдВита" с просьбой о помощи в оплате моего лечения. С января 2010 года по текущий момент работники фонда помогали мне всевозможными способами.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Волонтеры фонда создали мне страничку, организовали сбор средств

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with translating from Russian to English, help raising funds. Volunteer