Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2013

more

December 1, 2013

My name is Sergey Pushkin . I live in Ukraine. I was diagnosed with melanoma.
For a resident of the CIS, it does not just sound like a death sentence. It is a death sentence.
We have prehistoric level of medical care, lack health insurance system, while effective modern drugs are more
expensive here than in the United States and other civilized countries. Often these drugs are simply not available, because there is no one to buy them - people do not have money to buy them. Patients lose hope.
It is very important that there are charities like ADVITA FUND. Such organizations are very much needed.
They help and give hope to patients for access to treatment and recovery.
I contacted ADVITA FUND USA for help. I was surprised to find their volunteers genuinely wanting to help me. They are looking for solutions for my problem and offering their help.In particularly helps me alot Marina Ouana. Thank you Marina ,thank you for human support

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization that helps children and adults with cancer in different countries travel and receive cancer treatment at one of the best hospitals in the world. Great people to work with. Everyone is a volunteer, so it is great to see that all the resources go to help out the patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

"If you ever need a helping hand, it's at the end of your arm, as you get older, remember you have another hand: The first is to help yourself, the second is to help others."

My name is Marina, I’m 23 and from Russia. First of all, I'd like to express my gratitude to a helpful ADVITA FUND
USA and say that this organization could timely make arrangements for my arrival in the USA, helped me with hotel accomodation and medical consultation at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. I pretty know my illness osteosarcoma involving the left tibia is very dangerous, that's why surgeons and chemotherapists from Russia asked the colleagues from MD Anderson to check me, make some additional medical evaluation. I agreed. The whole trip would cost much money for me but, fortunately, I was said about such a wonderful fund as ADVITA US. Especially I'm sincerely happy with the meeting such interesting and careful people from ADVITA (Marina Ouano and Antonina Kurtova)! They showed me and my mother not only the doors and passages of MD Anderson but entertained us, drove through the whole city and gave many useful advices. Thank them and this organization very much for everything!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

Advita fund is the non-profit organization that raises money for a great cause by helping Russian orphan children striked with Leukemia with their medical costs. I remember one of the charity diiner events organized by our friend to help 12-year old girl from St Petersburg. With her progressing illness she needed a bone marrow transplant which would have been performed at MD Anderson. As a result, we raised a sufficient amount of funds to do a medical procedure. We felt good by giving a young girl a Hope to live! She passed away a few months later - her body was too weak to survive a new bone marrow transpalnt. But she died with hope - nobody gave up on her! By contributing money for a great cause, you give a hope and chance to cure a sick child ! The legacy we leave is not in our possessions, but What We Do !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have started volunteering with Advita Fund USA in October 2009. The reason I joined the team was Fund's involvement in assisting patients from the former Soviet Union on treatment in Russia and other countries. In many cases, these patients get hit the hardest since, as non-citizens, they need to pay full costs of treatment and living abroad. And here is where Advita Fund USA comes to make a life-saving difference. I have been personally involved in helping a young patient from Azerbaijan on leukemia treatment in Germany and a child from Ukraine on treatment in Italy. Both experiences demonstrated the extent by which Advita patients rely on the Fund and its donors, and how immensely grateful their families are for the Fund’s support and commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

My story was begun in 2010 in Ukraine when Doctor said that my mother has Melanoma diagnosis. That time we didn't expect how serious is this. The treatment was started. Time was gone, but no response neighter from surgery nor from chemotherapy. We start looking for innovation. New and effective treatment was found in EU and USA. But we were not able even to make examination to identify elegibility for such new treatment. Months surfing Internet, hundreds mails to different instances with any small chance to find someone who could help were unsucessfull. We were offered to pass treatment in one of the German Hospital, but the price was too high - about 8000 Euro per month. We were unable to pay, and it was refused. State of mother health coming worst and worst. Suddenly answer was received from Advita USA. Mrs Marina Ouano responded with helping hand. She directed me to right person in Saint Petersburg - Elena Gracheva. Together we start working to solve my mother's treatment problem. Elena found laboratory where we could get BRAF test. It is in the Saint Petersburg. The histological glasses were delivered with volunteers help there. And now we are awaiting results. At the same time we were searching available clinical trials in a number of Oncoinstitutes over the world. And now selection has fallen on to the University of Pennsylvania,US, where it is possible to get free treatment, excluding only transfer and other related to diagnostic expences. Medical records, which are required by appointed Doctor in US, are under preparation and translation. Once we finish, I guess we start making arrangements for transfering with subsequent treatment. I know that for any question I can ask Advita and their will answer me as much as in their ability and power. I received not only real help but assurance of success. My eyes same as eyes of my mother are full of Hope, which was lost in 2010. My all most sincere THANKS to those two women Marina and Elena as part of Advita representatives. I don't know how my life could turn over when I certainly knew that the treatment was available but I couldn't reach it for my mother. She has nobody except her children. My farther left me and my sister when we were small childs walking children garden. All life she works to make everything that we are her children could become a normal social chain amongst people. She never had time to rest. Now she is 55. She just become grandmother. And now she is only thinking about her decease. She don't have time to play with her granddaughter. Hard life with hard decease. She merit to be alive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them rights to get any available treatment for free.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Advita Fund USA has been helping many people with cancer through the years to get the treatment and have a chance at Life. I have been volunteering for this wonderful organization for about 2 years now. Everyone at Advita is a volunteer, and it is so gratifying to see that all the funds raised go directly to patients for treatment and other medical expenses. I personally have met children and their families who came to the U.S. for treatment thanks to Advita's hard work. All of those patients have received proper treatment and on their way to full recovery. I really hope that Advita would get more recognition in the U.S. in order raise more funds for cancer patients who are in desperate need of help. This is truly a great organization ran by honest and caring people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AdvitaFundUsa is a unique charity ran on kindness and selfless determination of it's volunteers and first and foremost it's founder Marina Ouano. The fund helps cancer patients from Russia and former Soviet republics to get access to clinical trials in US and provides assistance with treatment expenses. The majority of people helped by AdvitaUSA are considered to be hopeless cases in Russia and mostly left on their own in search of treatment. For these patients Advita's help means a difference between life and death. Advita gives hope not only for physical survival but also shows that kindness of strangers is not an empty sound, that there are people on laid planet who care for you without even knowing you - just because you need this care so much! Marina and Tonya show true dedication and invest not only time and money but heart and soul in giving hope to so many people helped by the fund. it's impossible to overestimate what this hope and this love mean to people who came to Advita as to their last resort.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The reason why I support Advita is because I know that my contribution will actually make a difference. People who run this fund invest their life in saving the lives of others - and they do it passionately. I am proud of them and will always be supporting Advita. These people work hard to turn a sad story into a happy one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Something really important is happening, in Russia where raising money for a great causes always seems to be fraudulent, right now you can hear about so many different organizations/funds who really helps and cares about every single soul who is seeking the help. Advita Fund USA is one of them. My close friend is the Advita’s active volunteer, and from first hand I know so many stories of hope, and cure, and life. And I am fortunate to be part of it as a donor, by making contribution I know that anybody who needs help will get it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with translating from Russian to English, help raising funds. Volunteer