Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

AHEAD has made such tremendous strides in strengthening the lives of men, women and children in Tanzania and The Gambia! AHEAD's projects not only provide the resources to meet the needs of individuals living in the communities served, but help individuals to collectively build the knowledge and skills in the areas of health, education, and environmental awareness that are necessary to empower the communities to thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am 13 years old and I traveled to Tanzania with my Great Uncle Irving a pediatrician and my Great Aunt Elvira. My mother went too but she was sent to the hospital to work on patients. I went to the school to meet the students who were older teens. They told us of their aspirations at the Ahead school to learn computers and communications.
The showed us a play they wrote about a girls whose father would let her go to school. she and her mother left him and she was educated. Years later her father went to her for a job. I learned that school should not be taken for granted and I work harder now. I gave out gift from America and I painted class rooms but the gift the students and teacher gave to me was so much more.
I reach out and learn about others and I want to become a physician.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more teens go to Africa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

My trips to Tanzania are and always will be exciting. But out of all of them this recent one was the most exciting. I finally came out of my shell (or tried to) as the grandson of Mama and Baba Williams and that allowed me to help out more and finally become a volunteer.
I loved the
fact that I was able to donate to the kids and give them something. Hey after all of the hospitality and kindness that they gave me, it’s about time I give them something back. I also helped out with painting and organizing games for the kids, it was a long and strenuous task but I felt like I was doing something for someone else other than myself, and to me that is always a good feeling to have.
But being with AHEAD isn’t just about doing something right for yourself. It’s all about finding your true self. Many of us are born from Africa and as times go on, sometimes we forget that and we get lost in the modern day culture and society (especially us teens). We end up doing things that we aren’t meant to do, sometimes we do things that aren’t even right. We even hurt the ones we love. And that’s why I thank you Tanzania, I thank you AHEAD, thank you Africa and, especially you mama and baba for always giving back to others. Also for giving me a chance to spread my wings once more and take flight to a place where I can feel at home, not out of place or an outsider. I love you.

Sadiki enwh. St. George
Age 14
2013 volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. Continue helping others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

BLESSED OPPORTUNITY
I am greatful to have had the opportunity to travel abroad with AHEAD, INC to Tanzania, for the first time to perform mission work. My experience was humbling, educational, rewarding, life-changing, exciting, exuberant and
healthy to say the least. I have seen the positive impact that the AHEAD organization has made in the Kisarware District of Tanzania. How they have improved the quality of education and health for the families there. My time there was very inspiring, especially seeing how we connected with and learned from one another. AHEAD INC promotes diversity in a "on hands way" helping one by educating, understanding and encouraging us to appreciate others and their backgrounds. I highly recommend AHEAD,INC. to work/serve with. Dr and Mrs Williams and family is to be commended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with AHEAD, Inc. in Tanzania over this past sumer. Although the trip was short, at just 3 weeks, it was still a wonderful learning experience, on both professional and personal levels. What is unique about AHEAD, Inc. is their deep connection with the local people--the Williams' family immersed themselved in Tanzanian culture when they founded the organization and have tailored AHEAD to directly meet the needs of the people by starting sustainable projects in health and education. AHEAD, Inc. does not merely provide healthcare and education, but they empower the people to learn and then teach and take care of one another---which is best exemplified by their own school teachers who were once AHEAD students themselves. AHEAD and the Williams' family have made a lasting difference in the lives of so many. I am so glad I had a chance to volunteer with them and learn a little bit about Tanzanian culture, as well as current issues in healthcare and education faced by this country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My only criticism of AHEAD, Inc. is their lack of pracitcal organization as far as the more technical aspects of planning the trip to Tanzania, such telling volunteers where to meet, booking tickets etc. As well, as a health professional, I had hoped that they would have been able to arrange more clinical time during my stay. I realize it was a short trip, but even a few more days, even in an observational clinical role would have been hugely appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has been working for children for about 30 years. Their primary purpose is poverty alleviation. They provide education for children, health care, and care for orphans and other vulnerable children. One big example is raising the number of children who have received a full complement of childhood immunizations in Tanzania from 27% to 98%. I have volunteered time. That is fantastic. They deserve all our support.
Van

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more financial support, and have them work in every developing country in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

AHEAD is a great organization doing wonderful things to help wome and children attain a fruitful and healthy life. Not to be overlooked is the opportunity for volunteers, who make the work possible, to gain inner peace, sense of doing great work and knowledge that one person can make a difference in the lives of others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a fund raiser.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This remarkable African self-help organization , known as "AHEAD, Inc.", has been going strong for over 40 years thanks to the untiring efforts of a family of a dedicated family of health care providers and over 100 volunteers who have lived and worked side by side with the people of Tanzania. As a volunteer I have traveled to the Meatu and Kisarware Districts of Tanzania, two of the most impoverished rural locations in Tanzania. AHEAD takes on the most challenging of the communities , where the villagers have little or no access to preventive health care services, or access to clean water. As a volunteer, I helped rehabilitate regional hospitals in both districts, assisted with health education programs in Meatu, worked with teen high school students learning computer skills, and in Washington, D.C. helped organize several years of fundraising activities. AHEAD relies almost totally on individual donations and each summer takes a group of volunteers to live and work side by side with Tanzanians. It is very inspiring to work with AHEAD!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to increase their resources through charitable giving from foundations or other forms of charitable institutions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Fantastic experience! As a first time participant in AHEAD's volunteer program this year (and first time volunteering abroad), the experience in Tanzania far exceeded my expectations. With so many terrific projects, there is something for everyone. I did not have trained experience in Health, Education, or Agricultural Development but I felt that I was still able to contribute in a significant way. Meeting and working with the people in Kisarawe District, and other "super-fun" volunteers, was life-changing. I saw first hand how small things can make a huge difference. I would highly recommend AHEAD to anyone wishing to volunteer or donate to an organization that has been making a real impact on the lives of many for 30 years - and an extra special bonus is that the experience ends with a Tanzania safari tour!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AHEAD, Inc is one of the most outstanding organizations in the world today. For the past 30 years, AHEAD has been working in developing communities to provide health services to women and children, education services for those aspiring to learn, and training for those who want to work and provide for themselves and their families, and be an asset in their communities and nation.

AHEAD has been an organization that over the past 30 years has worked with underserved communities in African countries to improve the quality of life for their citizens. Women no longer have to fear death during pregnancies because AHEAD has provided safe, clean supplies for expectant mothers during deliveries. Children receive immunizations provided by AHEAD which has significantly reduced the number of infants and children who die from preventable childhood diseases. All these things AHEAD has done over these years that has made a difference in the lives of women and children. PLEASE give AHEAD your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers