Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

AHEAD is a great organization doing wonderful things to help wome and children attain a fruitful and healthy life. Not to be overlooked is the opportunity for volunteers, who make the work possible, to gain inner peace, sense of doing great work and knowledge that one person can make a difference in the lives of others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a fund raiser.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

MANY LIVES, LITERALLY, HAVE BEEN SAVED, AND MANY MORE TRANSFORMED BY THE WORK OF AHEAD, INC. I am so pleased to have been involved, for the past 15 years, with an organization that is making a diff... more

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

MANY LIVES, LITERALLY, HAVE BEEN SAVED, AND MANY MORE TRANSFORMED BY THE WORK OF AHEAD, INC. I am so pleased to have been involved, for the past 16 years, with an organization that is making a difference in the lives of so many in Tanzania, and the Gambia in West Africa. The organization, STAFFED ENTIRELY BY VOLUNTEERS, was started by a couple of very dedicated individuals: Dr. Irving Williams, Pediatrician, and his wife, Elvira, who holds a Master's of Public Health Administration. They raised four wonderful children (3 of whom are medical doctors and one with a PhD), all while giving back to the community of less fortunate children in Boston, Massachusetts. However, they felt compelled, even while their children were still young, to make a difference on a larger stage and thus gave birth, almost 30 years ago, to AHEAD, Inc. They began by creating medical, educational and agricultural facilities in Tanzania and later in the Gambia. They trained health care workers to teach their community how to prevent aids and to care for those who had been infected. They provided vans that would transport personnel and medical equipment. They trained people to teach families in rural communities how to purify water by making "cookers," at the cost of $1.00 each, (monies received through fundraising) that would use the sun to clean the water. They created schools, and trained teachers. They taught families how to sow, harvest, and sell their vegetables to provide needed income. Volunteers travel to Tanzania, and the Gambia, each spring to assist with AHEAD's work. AHEAD has truly demonstrated the old maxim, "Children [and families] don't care how much you know, it is important that they know how much you care. Lives have been changed, people have been inspired and communities are becoming more healthy, educated, and financially self-sufficient because AHEAD, not only cares, but uses its limited, and often personal, resources to teach what it knows. My husband and I have also been financially supporting this very worthwhile organization for the past 16 years and are extremely pleased with the help our monies have been able to provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

MANY LIVES, LITERALLY, HAVE BEEN SAVED, AND MANY MORE TRANSFORMED BY THE WORK OF AHEAD, INC. I am so pleased to have been involved, for the past 15 years, with an organization that is making a difference in the lives of so many in Tanzania, and the Gambia in West Africa. The organization, STAFFED ENTIRELY BY VOLUNTEERS, was started by a couple of very dedicated individuals: Dr. Irving Williams, Pediatrician, and his wife, Elvira, who holds a Master's of Public Health Administration. They raised four wonderful children (3 of whom are medical doctors and one with a PhD), all while giving back to the community of less fortunate children in Boston, Massachusetts. However, they felt compelled, even while their children were still young, to make a difference on a larger stage and thus gave birth, almost 30 years ago, to AHEAD, Inc. They began by creating medical, educational and agricultural facilities in Tanzania and later in the Gambia. They trained health care workers to teach their community how to prevent aids and to care for those who had been infected. They provided vans that would transport personnel and medical equipment. They trained people to teach families in rural communities how to purify water by making "cookers," at the cost of $1.00 each, (monies received through fundraising) that would use the sun to clean the water. They created schools, and trained teachers. They taught families how to sow, harvest, and sell their vegetables to provide needed income. Volunteers travel to Tanzania, and the Gambia, each spring to assist with AHEAD's work. AHEAD has truly demonstrated the old maxim, "Children [and families] don't care how much you know, it is important that they know how much you care. Lives have been changed, people have been inspired and communities are becoming more healthy, educated, and financially self-sufficient because AHEAD, not only cares, but uses its limited, and often personal, resources to teach what it knows.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This remarkable African self-help organization , known as "AHEAD, Inc.", has been going strong for over 40 years thanks to the untiring efforts of a family of a dedicated family of health care providers and over 100 volunteers who have lived and worked side by side with the people of Tanzania. As a volunteer I have traveled to the Meatu and Kisarware Districts of Tanzania, two of the most impoverished rural locations in Tanzania. AHEAD takes on the most challenging of the communities , where the villagers have little or no access to preventive health care services, or access to clean water. As a volunteer, I helped rehabilitate regional hospitals in both districts, assisted with health education programs in Meatu, worked with teen high school students learning computer skills, and in Washington, D.C. helped organize several years of fundraising activities. AHEAD relies almost totally on individual donations and each summer takes a group of volunteers to live and work side by side with Tanzanians. It is very inspiring to work with AHEAD!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to increase their resources through charitable giving from foundations or other forms of charitable institutions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Fantastic experience! As a first time participant in AHEAD's volunteer program this year (and first time volunteering abroad), the experience in Tanzania far exceeded my expectations. With so many terrific projects, there is something for everyone. I did not have trained experience in Health, Education, or Agricultural Development but I felt that I was still able to contribute in a significant way. Meeting and working with the people in Kisarawe District, and other "super-fun" volunteers, was life-changing. I saw first hand how small things can make a huge difference. I would highly recommend AHEAD to anyone wishing to volunteer or donate to an organization that has been making a real impact on the lives of many for 30 years - and an extra special bonus is that the experience ends with a Tanzania safari tour!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been supporting AHEAD for many years and find that every dollar of our donations is used for specific needs in the Tanzania community. The golf tournament we ran to raise funds for AHEAD went to purchase a much needed ambulance for rural areas. My mother and daughter traveled with AHEAD to Tanzania and worked with villagers - and saw first hand how the money is spent. There is no waste and the programs they run are MUCH needed and benefit many. It is an excellent organization and we have no doubt that they make a huge, positive impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a Board Member of Adventure in Health, Education, and Agricultural Development (AHEAD, Inc.), I am proud that we are embarking on another 30 years of service to under-served areas in Tanzania and The Gambia. We continue our goals to further reduce poverty, premature deaths from preventable diseases, and to give youths opportunities for a meaningful education. We have been successful in helping decrease infant and maternal mortality rates in thirteen villages, immunizing thousands of children from birth to age five, establishing a skill center to facilitate the development of knowledge and skills in youth that lead to jobs, reducing the rate of HIV/AIDS infection and, in general, positively improving the life styles of thousands of persons in the regions in which we serve. AHEAD, Inc. performs its work in Tanzania and The Gambia with a small permanent staff in Tanzania and scores of volunteers, mostly, from the U.S. and Bermuda.

I have worked with AHEAD, Inc. for 15+ years and plan to continue to do so for a long time to come. Working with AHEAD, Inc. has been irreplaceable because the experiences have provided me with a sense of purpose and wonder.

I request that you provide this organization with your support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AHEAD, Inc is one of the most outstanding organizations in the world today. For the past 30 years, AHEAD has been working in developing communities to provide health services to women and children, education services for those aspiring to learn, and training for those who want to work and provide for themselves and their families, and be an asset in their communities and nation.

AHEAD has been an organization that over the past 30 years has worked with underserved communities in African countries to improve the quality of life for their citizens. Women no longer have to fear death during pregnancies because AHEAD has provided safe, clean supplies for expectant mothers during deliveries. Children receive immunizations provided by AHEAD which has significantly reduced the number of infants and children who die from preventable childhood diseases. All these things AHEAD has done over these years that has made a difference in the lives of women and children. PLEASE give AHEAD your support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since 1985, AHEAD, Inc. (Adventures in Health Education and Agricultural Development, Inc.) has been at the forefront of developing and implementing programs to eliminate poverty, diseases, illiteracy, and, improve the quality of life for individuals. Since its inception, AHEAD has relied on the generosity of volunteers to help decrease high infant and child mortality; immunize millions of children; reduce the incidence of malnutrition; and provide pre-natal care for women, as well as provide educational opportunities for orphans and other vulnerable children.
As our president would say, “We are delighted about, and grateful to volunteers who have joined us in this mission. We invite others to join us in this essential work. We know that if you do, the experiences will be a part of your pleasant memories for a long time to come. We invite you to peruse the AHEAD, Inc. Website (www.aheadinc.org) to learn more about what we do. We invite you to think about innovative ideas and ways to strengthen and extend AHEAD, Inc.’s scope and to share those ideas with us electronically (elvirafw@aheadinc.org) or by contacting the office 9301-530-3697).”

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered with AHEAD, Inc. in 1993, as a volunteer in their youth program in The Gambia, West Africa. It was my first trip abroad and it was a truly transformative and amazing experience. I learned so much about myself, the world, and the interconnectedness of humanity is connected. AHEAD has been doing tremendous work in African villages -- literally helping mothers and babies survive , and communites thrive, for many years. It is because of my experience with AHEAD that I pursued graduate studies and became an anthropologist. I am proud to be able to support the continued work of AHEAD and raise awareness about the work of this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AHEAD-TANZANINA
GREAT NON PROFITNGO
Ahead- Inc., since its inception about 30 years ago, both Elvira and Irving Williams has been working tirelessly to make the lives of many Tanzanian more dignified. Through education, health care and medicine, agricultural training they have empowered
numerous people to control their daily lives. I have seen their works in my homeland Tanzania (Kisarawe). The approach and philosophy of Ahead-Tanzania resonate well with the local community. They teach the people on how to “fish” rather than providing them with a ready-made “fish”. People feel much more empowered with education (skills and job training training), new methods of farming, and prevention of AIDS/HIV. The volunteers from USA through Ahead to Kisarawe in Tanzania bring a powerful message on the level of socio-political intercultural amalgamation. Kisarawe is a Coast area of Dar Es Salaam with much influence of Islam culture. Through Ahead-Tanzania the people along the coast realizes what people of USA stands for. People realize that we are one in the human race, and therefore we have to care each other. Ahead-Tanzania is above all political bias in the hearts of the people in Tanzania.
Yonga

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers