Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

AHEAD has made such tremendous strides in strengthening the lives of men, women and children in Tanzania and The Gambia! AHEAD's projects not only provide the resources to meet the needs of individuals living in the communities served, but help individuals to collectively build the knowledge and skills in the areas of health, education, and environmental awareness that are necessary to empower the communities to thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am 13 years old and I traveled to Tanzania with my Great Uncle Irving a pediatrician and my Great Aunt Elvira. My mother went too but she was sent to the hospital to work on patients. I went to the school to meet the students who were older teens. They told us of their aspirations at the Ahead school to learn computers and communications.
The showed us a play they wrote about a girls whose father would let her go to school. she and her mother left him and she was educated. Years later her father went to her for a job. I learned that school should not be taken for granted and I work harder now. I gave out gift from America and I painted class rooms but the gift the students and teacher gave to me was so much more.
I reach out and learn about others and I want to become a physician.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more teens go to Africa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

My trips to Tanzania are and always will be exciting. But out of all of them this recent one was the most exciting. I finally came out of my shell (or tried to) as the grandson of Mama and Baba Williams and that allowed me to help out more and finally become a volunteer.
I loved the
fact that I was able to donate to the kids and give them something. Hey after all of the hospitality and kindness that they gave me, it’s about time I give them something back. I also helped out with painting and organizing games for the kids, it was a long and strenuous task but I felt like I was doing something for someone else other than myself, and to me that is always a good feeling to have.
But being with AHEAD isn’t just about doing something right for yourself. It’s all about finding your true self. Many of us are born from Africa and as times go on, sometimes we forget that and we get lost in the modern day culture and society (especially us teens). We end up doing things that we aren’t meant to do, sometimes we do things that aren’t even right. We even hurt the ones we love. And that’s why I thank you Tanzania, I thank you AHEAD, thank you Africa and, especially you mama and baba for always giving back to others. Also for giving me a chance to spread my wings once more and take flight to a place where I can feel at home, not out of place or an outsider. I love you.

Sadiki enwh. St. George
Age 14
2013 volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. Continue helping others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

AHEAD, Incorporated has made a tremendous difference in the health and survival of mothers, infants and youth, having touched the lives of millions in rural communities in Africa since 1981. The mission of AHEAD, Inc is to substantially reduce the maternal and infant morbidity and mortality rates; and, to cultivate and advance healthy living in rural communities in Tanzania and The Gambia. AHEAD implements innovative life-saving programs that build leadership among people living in rural communities. Beneficiaries are involved in all aspects of AHEAD programs, from conception of projects and programs, planning, implementing and giving oversight. The administrators and implementers of all programs are residents of the countries which ensures that programs are sustainable. I am most impressed with the reception and appreciation of beneficiaries of AHEAD, Incorporated. I commend the founders, board of directors, donors and all who have had some impact on AHEAD and its programs during its 30 plus years of providing services to the people of Tanzania and The Gambia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest that a profit-making arm be established to ensure funding for all programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

BLESSED OPPORTUNITY
I am greatful to have had the opportunity to travel abroad with AHEAD, INC to Tanzania, for the first time to perform mission work. My experience was humbling, educational, rewarding, life-changing, exciting, exuberant and
healthy to say the least. I have seen the positive impact that the AHEAD organization has made in the Kisarware District of Tanzania. How they have improved the quality of education and health for the families there. My time there was very inspiring, especially seeing how we connected with and learned from one another. AHEAD INC promotes diversity in a "on hands way" helping one by educating, understanding and encouraging us to appreciate others and their backgrounds. I highly recommend AHEAD,INC. to work/serve with. Dr and Mrs Williams and family is to be commended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

AHEAD Inc. is a nonprofit that makes direct and crucial contributions to the lives of Africans through inexpensive on-the-ground projects: "Adventures in Health, Education and Agricultural Development... more

October 22, 2013

AHEAD Inc. is an organization dedicated to solving dire problems faced by Africans that are barely imaginable to Americans. While doing this AHEAD also provides flexible opportunities for volunteers to go to Africa and apply whatever skills and knowledge they have to attack these problems.
AHEAD has a 30-year track record of saving lives, for example, through immunizations, and giving people hope through training opportunities. Lately AHEAD has concentrated on reducing the unacceptable mortality rate of mothers giving birth by finding ways to get them to a hospital.
As a volunteer, I worked with youth seeking to learn a trade to make themselves employable. What AHEAD accomplishes on many fronts is extraordinary, but so much more could be done, at the grass-roots level where AHEAD works, if funds were available. For example, less than $100 will give a young man or woman a year's training to qualify for electrical work.
I am a board member now, and I urge you to give a few dollars that will go father than you could imagine by donating to AHEAD.
As those who visit AHEAD at work in Tanzania and the Gambia know firsthand, our planet is like a boat. If we work together we will float.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build on its people-to-people component that the founders have used so effectively.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

AHEAD Inc. is a nonprofit that makes direct and crucial contributions to the lives of Africans through inexpensive on-the-ground projects: "Adventures in Health, Education and Agricultural Development" (the words behind the acronymn). Started 30 years ago by a savvy and committed African-American couple, Irving Williams, M.D., and his wife Elvira, M.S.W., of Bethesda, MD, AHEAD has saved countless lives through mass immunizations, medical treatment in clinics, water purification, solar cooking and much more. I spent two weeks with the organization's Education arm in Tanzania, East Africa, where AHEAD teaches carpentry, computer and electrical skills to students that enable them to earn certification and enter the job market. Many of them orphans, these young people would have no comparable opportunity without this program, which costs less than $100 per student. About 60 students graduate from the program each year, but many more could be trained if funds were available. AHEAD also pays the tuition for about 100 students to attend secondary school in Tanzania, but again the need is much greater than the available funding. The motivation of AHEAD students, as I witnessed it in the classroom, is indeed awesome. These students are grateful to be in class because they know this is probably their only opportunity to learn a skill in order to advance in life. AHEAD also makes an extra effort to ensure that young women have an opportunity to become self-sufficient. In the Health arena, AHEAD has been striving to provide transportation from the villages to regional hospitals for women about to give birth with complications; the aim here is to reduce Tanzania's unacceptably high infant-mortality rate. AHEAD also operates in The Gambia, West Africa. If you want to give someone a chance to make it in life with only a modest contribution, AHEAD could be your best investment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with AHEAD, Inc. in Tanzania over this past sumer. Although the trip was short, at just 3 weeks, it was still a wonderful learning experience, on both professional and personal levels. What is unique about AHEAD, Inc. is their deep connection with the local people--the Williams' family immersed themselved in Tanzanian culture when they founded the organization and have tailored AHEAD to directly meet the needs of the people by starting sustainable projects in health and education. AHEAD, Inc. does not merely provide healthcare and education, but they empower the people to learn and then teach and take care of one another---which is best exemplified by their own school teachers who were once AHEAD students themselves. AHEAD and the Williams' family have made a lasting difference in the lives of so many. I am so glad I had a chance to volunteer with them and learn a little bit about Tanzanian culture, as well as current issues in healthcare and education faced by this country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My only criticism of AHEAD, Inc. is their lack of pracitcal organization as far as the more technical aspects of planning the trip to Tanzania, such telling volunteers where to meet, booking tickets etc. As well, as a health professional, I had hoped that they would have been able to arrange more clinical time during my stay. I realize it was a short trip, but even a few more days, even in an observational clinical role would have been hugely appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My husband Mike and I were among the first group of volunteers to go to Tanzania with the Williams in 1988. I am a Physician Assistant and worked in the office with Dr. Irving Williams. I heard that he took all his vacation in July every year and went to Tanzania to work and I was bowled over. I continue to this day to be bowled over by the Williams and their organization.
In the 1970's they took their 4 children and moved to Tanzania, he, a pediatrician and his wife, Elvira, an educator. He said they "wanted to give back". When they returned and settled in the Washington, DC area, they continued their work by founding this organization. AHEAD is their life. They give everything to their life's work. Their home is outfitted to be a meeting place, classroom, storage facility and headquarters of their organization. They are the most unassuming, altruistic, giving and truly "good" people I know.
THE ORGANIZATION IS ENTIRELY RUN BY VOLUNTEERS. Every year they take volunteers who work WITH the African people, who have the energy and willingness, but lack the supplies and information. AHEAD started not by going into the village and telling the people what they were going to do for them, but by asking them what they needed done. The first thing this pediatrician and his teacher wife did at the Kishapu clinic was build a water catchment/containment facility. Dr. Williams said the medical people spent the first two hours every day walking five miles to get water for the clinic, and that is what they wanted done.
In 1988, I spent the months before we left getting donations from the drug company representatives of medicines that we could take with us. I personally packed them in my car, drove them to the Williams' house, packed them, flew with them to Tanzania, loaded them into the truck, unpacked them in Kishapu, and then saw the woman with terrible arthritis who had walked 2 hours to get to the clinic and waited 4 hours to see me, and I gave her 10 Advil. She kissed my hand. I cried. It was the most rewarding thing I have ever done.
Mike and I also helped the villagers to put screens on all the windows to prevent malaria carrying mosquitos from getting into the clinic and OB delivery room. We did a survey in the village at the market place to see what fruits and vegetables were available and what they cost, to give AHEAD an idea of what would grow in the area and was affordable to the people. Subsequent groups helped plant gardens, and establish solar energy so the clinic could have a refrigerator to keep vaccines and light for night time emergencies and deliveries. They took a Toyota to replace the bicycle pulling the cart that served as the "ambulance" taking emergencies to the hospital 2 hours away.
Mike and I have retired and moved away. The Williams carry on. We help them financially with what we can. If you want to give to an organization where 100 % of your donation goes to do the good work, this is the one. If you want your life changed forever, your frame of reference on life altered forever, then call them and go with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let people know about them and fix the lottery so they would win

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

NINE YEARS AGO MY COLLEGE AGE DAUGHTER WAS A 5 WEEK VOLUNTEER WITH PROJECT AHEAD INCOOPERATED. SHE WAS AN ADVANTAGED CHILD WHO RETURNED SEEKING OUT WAYS TO HELP OTHERS. SHE HAS BEEN A BIG SISTER TO A TEEN IN ATLANTA AND WORKS IN THRIFT SHOPS FOR HOMELESS SHELTERS AND MODELS FOR NONPROFIT FASHONING SHOWS. SHE SITS ON THE BOARD OF A NON PROFIT THINK TANK AND WORKS 40 HOURS A WEEK AS A TV REPORTER.
SHE HAS HOSTED A JAZZ FESTIVAL FOR AHEAD INC. TO GIVE BACK. SHE WAS IN 5 WEEKS A GIVING PERSON JUST FROM TEACHING AFRICAN STUDENTS , PAINTING A SCHOOL HOUSE AND TEACHERS QUARTERS AND MENTORING STUDENTS. WITH PROJECT AHEAD SHE SLEPT IN TENTS AND USED THE HOLE IN THE GROUND TOILET. SOMEDAYS, SHE SAID THAT SHE HAD NOTHING TO EAT BUT IT BROUGHT HER IN TOUCH THE STUDENTS AND HOW WASTEFUL AND NEEDLESSLY DISSATISFIED WE ARE IN AMERICA.
I WENT WITH AHEAD INC. THIS AUGUST, NO, I DIDN'T SLEEP IN A TENT AND I HAD ENDLESS ROLLS OF TOILET PAPER BUT THE EXPERIENCE WAS THE SAME. I WENT TO MUHAMBILI HOSPITAL THE NATIONAL TERTIARY CARE HOSPITAL TO VOLUNTEER. I AM A PEDIATRIC CARDIOLOGIST AND THERE ARE ONLY TWO OTHERS IN THE COUNTRY. THEY ARE BOTH AT THE TEACIHING HOSPITAL. TOGETHER WE DIAGNOSED T.B. PERICARDITIS AND RHEMATIC VALVE DISEASE IN A LITTLE GIRL WITH MARFAN'S.
I SAW LITTLE BLUE BABIES AND ONE WITH A BIG HOLE IN THE HEART BOTH WAITING TO BE FLOWN TO ANOTHER COUNTRY FOR SURGERY. ONE LITTLE BOY AND A HEART DEFECT THAT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED THEN SUFFERED AN INFECTION IN HIS HEART FROM POOR DENTAL CARE. HE DIED THE NIGHT HE WAS DIAGNOSED. IF APPROPIATE CARE IN HIS VILLAGE WERE AVAILABLE IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED. THESE ARE THE CHILDREN WHO WERE CARRIED ON A PARENT'S BACK FOR MILES TO DAR ES SAALAM. AS SUCH, THEY ARE ALSO CARRIED IN THE HOSPITAL AS THERE WERE NO PEDIATRIC WHEEL CHAIRS. WHEN THERE ARE MANY ADMISSIONS, THE CHILDREN SLEEP TWO IN A BED WITH THEIR PARENTS. RHEUMATIC FEVER, MALARIA, HIV AND DIARRHEA ARE CONSIDED COMORBID DISEASES TO BE EXPECTED WITH THE APPENDICITS, ECT. PROJECT AHEAD PURPOSELY PLACED THEMSELVES OUT IN THE RURAL AREAS TO IMPACT DISEASE PREVENTION. TAZANIA NEEDS TO DEVELOPE ITS REGIONAL MEDICAL SERVICES AND EARLY REFERRAL PROGRAM AS WELL AS LEVEL THREE MEDICAL CARE. I WILL RETURN WITH MEDICAL COLLEGES TO HELP. I LEFT A EXCELLANT TEACHING MANUSCRIPT ON FETAL ECHOCARDIOLOGY FOR DIAGNOSIS AND MANAGEMENT. I HOPE THAT WILL IMPACT DELIVERY OF TERTIARY CARE.
IN MY US CITY, I VOLUNTEER IN A MEDICAL NOT FOR PROFIT, ENCOURAGING STUDENTS INTERESTED IN MEDICAL CAREERS AND TEACHING AT SCHOOLS. WE HAV A HEALTH FAIR FOR UNINSURED. THE KEY TO A ORGANIZATION THAT USES ITS FUNDS MAXIMALLY TO HELP THE MOST PEOPLE IS PERSONAL INVOLVEMENT OF THE DIRECTORS IN PROJECTS. THE DIRECTORS OF AHEAD AE ALWAYS THERE AND THINKING OF THE BRIDGE TO THE NEXT PROJECT. I HVE READ THE PREVIOUS REVEIWERE AND PERSONALLY KNOW THAAT THE PROGRAM DESCRIBED ARE REAL AND BIGGER THAN LIFE FOR THE PEOPLE OF RURAL TANZANIA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

PLACE SATELLITE AHEAD INC. GROUPS IN OTHER PARTS OF THE COUNTRY. THIS WOULD BRING MORE AWARENESS OF THE EFFORT AND WOULD GENERTE A LARGER DONATION BASE.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has been working for children for about 30 years. Their primary purpose is poverty alleviation. They provide education for children, health care, and care for orphans and other vulnerable children. One big example is raising the number of children who have received a full complement of childhood immunizations in Tanzania from 27% to 98%. I have volunteered time. That is fantastic. They deserve all our support.
Van

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more financial support, and have them work in every developing country in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers