Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I started helping in 2012. and I think it is great what adventure bags does to help kids who are taken out of their home by fire or by the department on children services or anything else. I just want to keep volunteering because I know I am helping kids
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

I volunteer for Adventure Bags with my mom. It is a great opportunity for me to give back in a way that could have impacted my own life as a foster child. I choose to volunteer because I know that value of what's being done here.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

This organization is run entirely on donations. No one is paid and the only way it continues is through donations and all the hard work of the volunteers! This is a true nonprofit and their goal is simple helping kids feel secure and they do just that! I have seen first hand the impact these Bags have on children in need. It is something so small but yet so needed and appreciated. Something to call your own when all you own is gone. Wonderful organization!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 9, 2013

Adventure Bags has been a very important part of my life and of my son's life over the past 2 years. We first encountered Adventure Bags as a church project. My son had recently come from foster car... more

September 9, 2014

Most amazing hands on charity my family had worked with. A blessing to our community
September 9, 2013

Adventure Bags has been a very important part of my life and of my son's life over the past 2 years. We first encountered Adventure Bags as a church project. My son had recently come from foster care so the topic was one he could relate to. When we volunteered, we felt comfortable and needed. Even my son felt his work and input was valued. This is one of the only charities we have worked for that wanted our time and affordable donations more than our money. Since that first day, we have been back several times. The leaders are so kind and passionate. I know my son will always have a place in his heart for Adventure Bags just as I do. The project means even more to me having his perspective. He says he wishes he had something like it. The leaders are even in tune to his ideas. I know the ambitions of Adventure Bags serves a real purpose. I also know the hard work put in by the leaders on a daily basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

Adventure Bags is awesome! Not only are they doing a wonderful thing for displaced kids, Debbie is wonderful to allow special needs kids to help out too! My 22 yr old special needs daughter is no long... more

September 9, 2014

I met Debbie at a Network with Barrow meeting. Over the years, I have built their new website and helped in any way I could. Debbie is so amazing though as she allows my special needs daughter and her caregiver to come in and help out once a week. You might think, "so what? She always needs volunteers." While this is true, you have to understand my daughter. She is 23 years old, developementally 6 and VERY MOODY! She loves to help others but only when it suites her and can get very defiant. Debbie treats her like any other kid and they just move past the moment and get things done! Most people would say they didn't want my daughter to come back but Debbie understands how important it is she have things to do and makes sure has just that! Thanks Debbie for not just helping thousands of kids you don't even know, but those you do know too!

Sherri

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

Adventure Bags is awesome! Not only are they doing a wonderful thing for displaced kids, Debbie is wonderful to allow special needs kids to help out too! My 22 yr old special needs daughter is no longer in school and needed some way to fill her time. Debbie is so sweet and patient and is wonderful to not just help my daughter stay busy but she is also so helpful to me as well! She always has a kind and encouraging word when I need it most!

Thanks Debbie!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they have all the donations they need to fill as many orders for bags as possible! Donations have been slow lately and if I could I would make sure Adventure Bags always has what they need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This is coming from someone that has been there, I was 13, took to a foster home with nothing of mine. No familiar surrounding but a strange man and women telling me all will be ok, and not to worry. ( easy for them to say. ) Wen I met Debbie with adventure bags, I wish I knew of them years ago, as a child besides my mother passing away,, that was the worst feelling I ever had.. thats why I fully support this awesome cause, and im proud to be part of them. I feel like we make a difference in a childs life as far as there spirit and soul in a trying time when they look around and see nothing that they once had, but now thanks to Adventure Bags they cann start stability.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I was introduced to Adventure Bags when my son was trying to earn some community service hours for his orthodontist treatment. The founder, Debbie Gori, was so personal. She made our time seem more like a fun outing and like we were hanging out with family. The kids really enjoyed preparing the bags and gained a sense of how special and significant the backpack items would be for the child who received one in a time of need. We look forward to helping with Adventure Bags in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Debbie and the Adventure Bags team were so wonderful to work with! We scheduled a donation drive here at our preschool and received a great response. They came out on a Saturday and we worked together with parents, teachers, and kids to prepare the bags and decorate cards to include with each bag. We really felt so connected to the project and the children whose lives we would impact. We have all been touched by this amazing group and look forward to making this an annual event at our school!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started out helping Adventure bags through an event organized by my church and when I found out about their cause, I decided to get more involved. Adventure Bags is a truly amazing charity - they have helped so many children who find themselves in situations where they are taken from the family they are in, without even so much as shoes at times. Adventure bags helps these children by not only providing them with basic necessities, but by also providing them with the fact that someone loves them, someone put thought into the bag they now hold, someone cares and sometimes, just one someone caring can make the world of difference for a child!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to be able to help out more...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

This organization is one that has grown from helping a small portion of Georgia's needy children to after little over two years has been able to spread to help children in many crisis situations...this organization truly keeps to the core of their mission and puts the needs of the community children in need at heart..the organizers and volunteers are amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers