Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
123.545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

Never heard anything negative about ADRA that would stop me from donating. ADRA goes around the world to help those in need regardless of religious affiliation, political persuasion or other irrelevant considerations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Donors need to know that this organization is in a miss. It has just fired its president and there is widespread dissatisfaction from its global offices about the head office in MD. See this story: http://spectrummagazine.org/blog/2012/06/25/adra-board-dismisses-president and

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

ADRA is highly respected worldwide for the excellent work that they do. Their overhead is extremely low, and they do not over-pay their executives. Their organizational culture is one of MISSION, and they do more than throw food or band-aids at a problem--they seek for ways to make long-lasting changes that will improve lives. It is unfortunate that the "formula" approach to ratings has left them with a lower-than-deserved rating.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

There is a new president at ADRA, Rudi Maier, and he has fired many good people. He is spending money like it's going out of fashion and is spending it on unnecessary things. I have friends who work there and they say he is a dictator; his way or the highway. And if he doesn't like you, he screams and humiliates people. His friend and colleague, Mario Ochoa, fondly known as Teflon Man to staff because he somehow manages to avoid getting fired even though he's violated church and agency policies, woud squish Rudi like a gnat if he got the chance. Staff are unhappy and they just fired the in house counsellor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The august 2011 review has some mis-information. ADRA receives the majority of it's funding from the government. it is a common perception among Seventh day Adventist members to believe they provide the majority of funding. contributions from members only amounted to 5million in 2009 vs over 33million from the us government. in fact the us government provides over half the revenue of ADRA each year

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 11, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 11, 2011

I too disagree with ADRA's rating. Last time I donated the organization was taking less than 10% of each dollar donated in comparison to other organizations that take up to 30% of each dollar. Their CEO/President compensation is very low and comparable to a normal job where as other charity organizations pay their CEO/President up to or close to One Million dollars a year as well as other compensation. ADRA also uses word of mouth and the churches magazines and publications to do their advertising so they have more money to put toward the actual need. They publish a catalog each year where 100% of your donation goes to the need of your choice. They deserve an excellent rating.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

and through my donations and the wonderful things ADRA has accomplished especially in other countries. I have viewed their films, read their updates, and seen in their financials and pies that they strive to be fiscally responsible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

August 10, 2011

I have a problem with ADRA's lowered rating. It's revenues are off largely due to the economy. ADRA is funded heavily by church members and the impact of job loss and business slowdown here in the US has limited my ability to donate as I'm sure it has limited others. ADRA's significant income from independent sources allows it to operate more freely of government meddling than it might were it more heavily funded from government sources. This is a good thing, at least the way I look at it. Unfortunately, independent donors can't borrow from China to keep up our "foreign aid" contributions, so income from us will necessarily drop. ADRA still operates on a relatively lean admin budget and its board serves on their own nickel. This is a good organization and deserves far better than two stars.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Regular reports from the field about their organizations and from family members who have worked with them in mission field projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a bigger budget.

January 21, 2010

more

January 21, 2010

From my research this group has extremely low overhead, but talented personnel to accomplish productive results under dire condtions world-wide, with onsite trained representatives, under pretty good supervision. Their website has multiple areas of selectable options [for donators], that are well thought out. Their team is extraordinary, in terms of providing 'Bang-for-the-Buck' results vis-a-vis the general public contributions/donations.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the world for prosperity and stable health

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers