Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I first stated out by volunteering for the Adult Reading Center as a waiter for their Annual Red Hat Luncheon many years ago and have done it every year since. I was able to listen to some of the students give testimonials about how the center has changed their lives, not only financially but also to their own self-esteem. I was not aware at the time how many adults were still, not able to read and the need for such a organization. Several students have received their GED's and went on to colleges to continue their education. This center is still growing and continues to have such a positive impact on our community. Seeing the accomplishments in a students face and hearing the success stories from the ones who came from the center can be a life-changing event. I'm honored to be part of this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing at all. The staff and volunteers at the center are fabulous.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for several years and have been amazed as to the progress the center has made in the past few years. They have reached out to the community and prov... more

October 21, 2013

As a member of the board for the past 4 years I have watched the center continue to grow in services and in the number of students served. The center offers ESL, Adult Basic Education, GED classes and a variety of workforce development that aides students to better their education, skills and confidence level. It is always rewarding to find that one of the students has received their GED and is now signing up for college classes. It is also rewarding to hear that a mother or father is now able to help their children do homework because they can now understand and read the homework that was sent home.

I am very proud to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for several years and have been amazed as to the progress the center has made in the past few years. They have reached out to the community and provided multiple services to assist those who have limited English literacy skills. By teaching these Adults to read, write and speak English and to assist in obtaining a GED or Citizenship, they are helping these students obtain better jobs and earn a better living. To hear of some of the success stories they have accomplished is not only heart warming but makes you proud of what the Adult Reading Center is all about. They truly are an asset to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

As former board member I have seen the impact that the Adult Reading Center has on our community. Besides providing free instruction to adults with limited English literacy skills, they povide a nurturing environment that improves reading, writing and basic communication skills in order to help equip:
Parents with the language skills needed to empower their children; and all adults with the language skills needed to succeed in the workplace, they educate the community on the need for their organizaton and the awareness of adults that need their services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The Adult Reading Center helps any person that walks in off the street with open arms. No matter the level, the ability to speak English, or someone needing to brush up for a GED, the ARC helps, gives the student confidence and has a back-up plan for students that need to try again in a comfortable, encouraging setting. The ARC is a huge asset that truly works for a more literate and employable community. I am constantly amazed at how the Center does so much for so many for so little money flowing through the accounts. Any recognition is truly deserved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to fund them at a higher level including a new facility. I am an experienced high level central office administrator that works with instruction and I am amazed at what the center does with volunteers. Incredible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a place people who have limited or no reading ability go to change their lives and a place where some of the most passionate and dedicated people in our community give of t... more

October 17, 2013

As a board member I can see first hand the impact The Adult Reading Center makes in people's lives. I also see the standing in the community the Center has just by the support of the fundraisers we have each year. The Center has a dedicated staff, volunteers, and board members that are truly passionate about impacting lives and helping those that come to take advantage of the resources the Center offers make positive changes in their lives and those of their family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a place people who have limited or no reading ability go to change their lives and a place where some of the most passionate and dedicated people in our community give of their time and talents to make this happen. I am in the middle of my first term as a board member and I have seen first hand the devoted staff and volunteers work tirelessly to give people the teaching and tools necessary to achieve their goals. I know I take the capacity to read and write for granted and cannot imagine what someone who does not have these abilities goes through on a daily basis. I am honored and proud to serve an organization that is impacting lives in such a dramatic way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This is excellent organization that provides a benefit to the area that enhances the entire community in ways that cannot be fully measured. Education is one of the most powerful tools one can have and organization facilitates and encourages all walks of life to better themselves through knowledge and education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I am a new member to the board of the Adult Reading Center but have seen the great contributions to the community that the Center has made over the years. The Center's profound effect on people's lives is what inspired me to join the Board. It is remarkable what the Center is doing for people on a daily basis and the reach of the Center is immeasurable as its patrons go out into the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a smal... more

October 21, 2013

I took the tutor training and started volunteering at the Adult Reading Center in April, 1990 as a one on one tutor. Since that start I have tutored many students, either one on one or small groups. It still amazes me how appreciative the students are that I would take my time to help them learn to read, write and speak English. I've had students with every little education on up to students with a number of degrees and no matter what level they are it is a real enjoyment to me to be a part of the ARC helping them to improve. Other then the tutoring I also have served on the Board of Directors and try to take care of maintaining the facility.

The center provides a path for anyone who has the desire to improve their status in the community and is willing to dedicate their time, work hard reap the results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to increase the size of the facility so more students could be given the chance to learn.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a small operation teaching adults to learn how to read and speak English, with a few students, to the present that provides instruction to multible classes throughout the week. Students in the beginning were primarily of Spanish decent whereas at the present there are over 30+ languages seeking to learn English. Besides improving there English skills, students can learn how study for their GED, write a resume, operate a computer, interview for a job or study for the citizenship test. All the programs offered are free to the student. The Center plans to expand its opeation to provide the resources necessary to meet the growing demand of adults wanting to improve their status in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have seen in person and have heard the stories from so many who have came out of the Adult Reading Center. Many people getting a second chance to learn the basics of reading and then continueing their education to improve their position in the work force and to make a better life for themselves and their family. The GED program is my favorite as I also have a GED and a couple of years of community college behind me. Reading is one of those things that we take for granted and think everyone knows how to read. I volunteered many years at the annual Red Hat Luncheon and was so touched time after time from graduates of the program with their stories of how hard it is for an adult who can not read. Imagine not being able to help your children with School work, not being able to get any job because you are not able to fill out the paper work. I'm proud to be part of such a wonderful and needed organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I was introduced to the Adult Reding Center many years ago. I was shocked to learn about the number of adults in my community who struggle to read and I was saddened by the impact this has on their lives. The Adult Reading Center offers their services free of charge and anyone is welcome. I am amazed by what they do with so little. They do more than teach adults to read, they change their lives and the lives of their families by giving the gift of literacy. The staff and volunteers at the Center are amazing and dedicated and I am honored to be involved with such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help answer phones; direct students; assemble marketing pieces Volunteer