Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have been able to watch ARC grow in the community over the past 2 1/2 years. The staff members, volunteers, and board members have been a cohesive team in helping the organization reach the level o... more

October 18, 2013

I have been with the Adult Reading Center for over 3 years. The organization was well established when I joined in 2010, but it has been amazing to watch it grow to the next level. The students show a true desire to learn and the instructors/tutors show a genuine desire to help these students reach their goals. Students going through this program can obtain these services free of charge and take advantage of scholarships that the Reading Center offers. Volunteers can help tutor a student and change their life forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Looking to the future, create more classroom space to allow for more classes to take place at once.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I have been able to watch ARC grow in the community over the past 2 1/2 years. The staff members, volunteers, and board members have been a cohesive team in helping the organization reach the level of impact it has made on the community. The students are the focus and all members of the organization are involved in helping them achieve their true potential. I have never been a part of something this rewarding and life-changing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for over 26 years and have watched it grow from an small all volunteer organization serving a handful of adults to a vibrant organization serving over 1,000 adult learners each year. The front office staff greets each learner and volunteer with a smile and an eagerness to help. Our Volunteer Coordinator works diligently to make sure that each volunteer has a rewarding experience. Our volunteer tutors and our classroom instructors are constantly seeking new ways to help our adult learners overcome their barriers and feel a sense of accomplishment. But over and above all that, our adult learners walk in every day with something to share - whether it's a new job or a promotion in their job, completion of one test on their GED or passing all 5 and getting their GED, or sometimes it's just that they are happy to be learning something new. These adult learners are what make the Adult Reading Center the wonderful learning environment that it is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add another building so that we could serve more adults.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center (ARC) provides comprehensive literacy services for adult learners at all levels. Their executive administrator, program staff and volunteers are committed to best practices and efficiencies of delivery of services that ensure donors are getting an outstanding return on their contribution and learners are moving toward successful goals for better jobs and to support their family's needs. As a member of the Literacy Texas Board, the state literacy coalition, I have worked with ARC for several years and encourage support of this hard-working non-profit. We hope that more Texas literacy providers will develop the standards of excellence similar to those used by the Adult Reading Center, and we extend our best wishes for continued success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

I love the athmosphere at the Adult Reading Center. Everyone is nice and helpful since the first minute you cross the door. There is a big sence of community and all students enjoy their learning experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a great model of successful community service. I have been involved with the group for 20 years and have seen it grow its impact, sustain its support and make a substantial difference in the community. It has a great board and outstanding executive director as well as some marvellous awareness events including the bright, hilarous, ostentatious and incredibly moving, Red Hat Luncheon. I was moved to tears by the message of a young lady who came to the US with almost nothing and no ability to communicate in English. She told of her struggle to support her family, told of the way she found the center and explained the training she received for the job she now held - all presented to the audience in English. Wow! Keep up the great work ARC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a sure bet that your donations will go to a good cause. The center serves the Brazoria County and South houston area by providing a wide range of literacy services that include: Adult Basic Education, tutoring for non-literate students using the amazing Barton method, English as a Second Language (ESL), citizenship, training for disaster preparation and family literacy. The Board of Directors is actively oversees the management of their programs in order to demonstrate fiscal responsibility. They are great at meeting deadlines and produce well written detailed reports of their activities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am one of the founders of the Adult Reading Center and have been continuously involved with the Center for the past 25 years. From a launch in 1987 with 3 learner/tutor pairs, the Adult Reading Center has achieved steady, managed growth over the last 25 years to 4 full-time and 5 part-time staff, 11 part-time instructors, and over 200 volunteers assisting over 900 adult learners each year. With the following key initiatives, the Adult Reading Center is an economic incubator and a complete service center using a comprehensive approach that will take adult learners from learning to read, write and speak English to obtaining a GED and a job earning a living wage while becoming contributing members of our community: Adult Basic Education, GED, English for Speakers of Other Languages, Citizenship Classes, Family Literacy, Computer Learning Lab, and Workforce Education and Job Soft Skills Training. Jorge, an adult learner, said it best, “Some people walk by [the Center] and think it’s just a house…you can’t tell what it is. But this place changes lives. It’s changed mine.”

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help answer phones; direct students; assemble marketing pieces Volunteer