Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for several years. I see miracles every day! Dale and her staff go out of their way to help the students in all aspects of their lives. I am honored to be a volunteer there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a smal... more

October 21, 2013

I took the tutor training and started volunteering at the Adult Reading Center in April, 1990 as a one on one tutor. Since that start I have tutored many students, either one on one or small groups. It still amazes me how appreciative the students are that I would take my time to help them learn to read, write and speak English. I've had students with every little education on up to students with a number of degrees and no matter what level they are it is a real enjoyment to me to be a part of the ARC helping them to improve. Other then the tutoring I also have served on the Board of Directors and try to take care of maintaining the facility.

The center provides a path for anyone who has the desire to improve their status in the community and is willing to dedicate their time, work hard reap the results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to increase the size of the facility so more students could be given the chance to learn.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a small operation teaching adults to learn how to read and speak English, with a few students, to the present that provides instruction to multible classes throughout the week. Students in the beginning were primarily of Spanish decent whereas at the present there are over 30+ languages seeking to learn English. Besides improving there English skills, students can learn how study for their GED, write a resume, operate a computer, interview for a job or study for the citizenship test. All the programs offered are free to the student. The Center plans to expand its opeation to provide the resources necessary to meet the growing demand of adults wanting to improve their status in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been a Board Member for a year. I have seen and heard a lot ot testominies from people who have received their services and just to see the progress is such a great achievement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013


I’ve been a fan of the Adult Reading Center since I came for a tour with the Pearland Chamber of Commerce Leadership Class seven years ago. I was pretty blown away by everything I learned that day about the Center’s mission/purpose, the people whose lives are changed by this place, the people
who work and volunteer here and by all the good things that are accomplished in this tiny blue house. Every time I hear the Center's Executive Director, Dale Pillow, give the Center’s Annual Report to our Board of Directors, the same sense of amazement washes over me. It’s still hard for me to believe that such a small staff along with some truly dedicated volunteers can make such an incredible difference in so many peoples’ lives.

Of course, it’s the students who actually do all the work but I think once they muster the courage to come to the Center, it’s our teachers’ and staff’s encouragement that keeps them coming back.

I occasionally help one student who graduated in May by reviewing her college English papers. She told me when she first came to the Center, she had no confidence. Zero. She said it’s her teacher, Al LeBlanc, who gave her the confidence not only to earn her high school degree (by completing a portion of the TAKS test) but to enroll in classes at a local community college. He just kept telling her she was smart and that she could do anything she put her mind to. She said if not for his faith in her, she would have given up.

Recently one of our students, who I’d guess is in his mid 60s, was treated to his first birthday party EVER by his volunteer tutor right here in our little kitchen.

People who never thought they’d earn a GED, drop in to announce they’re starting classes at a community college or they’ve landed a new job that will make life easier for their family.

Immigrants who have overcome so many hurdles to come to our country, manage not only to learn our language, but to flourish and go on to become citizens.

I’m not sure of many places a person can volunteer where little miracles and little moments of true inspiration happen around you and with great frequency. This place does more than educate, it lifts people up in more ways than I can name.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could, I would give it a grant that would allow the Center to expand its programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My experience as an Adult Reading Center volunteer has been wonderful. I've been able to take part in several functions and working with their staff and fellow volunteers has been very rewarding. Their mission is clear and their staff is unstoppable! It is wonderful to volunteer for an organization that is so dedicated to the community and it's citizens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Adult Reading Center in Pearland is a positive place full of energy creating a comfortable learning environment for students to learn English, study for their GED, prepare for citizenship, and prepare for job search. Volunteers work hard to ensure all students are successful in reaching their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its outreach to help more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Adult Reading Center since Nov., 2012 and love the work, interactions with the dedicated staff and appreciative of the great accomplishments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the Adult Reading Center for many years. I see the students and hear their stories every day and am humbled by them. After having lived in Europe for 4 years I realize how hard it is to move to a new place and learn a new culture. I like to think we are helping our students by making it easier for them in their day to day lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help answer phones; direct students; assemble marketing pieces Volunteer