Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My experience as an Adult Reading Center volunteer has been wonderful. I've been able to take part in several functions and working with their staff and fellow volunteers has been very rewarding. Their mission is clear and their staff is unstoppable! It is wonderful to volunteer for an organization that is so dedicated to the community and it's citizens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for over 26 years and have watched it grow from an small all volunteer organization serving a handful of adults to a vibrant organization serving over 1,000 adult learners each year. The front office staff greets each learner and volunteer with a smile and an eagerness to help. Our Volunteer Coordinator works diligently to make sure that each volunteer has a rewarding experience. Our volunteer tutors and our classroom instructors are constantly seeking new ways to help our adult learners overcome their barriers and feel a sense of accomplishment. But over and above all that, our adult learners walk in every day with something to share - whether it's a new job or a promotion in their job, completion of one test on their GED or passing all 5 and getting their GED, or sometimes it's just that they are happy to be learning something new. These adult learners are what make the Adult Reading Center the wonderful learning environment that it is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add another building so that we could serve more adults.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Adult Reading Center in Pearland is a positive place full of energy creating a comfortable learning environment for students to learn English, study for their GED, prepare for citizenship, and prepare for job search. Volunteers work hard to ensure all students are successful in reaching their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its outreach to help more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a place people who have limited or no reading ability go to change their lives and a place where some of the most passionate and dedicated people in our community give of t... more

October 17, 2013

As a board member I can see first hand the impact The Adult Reading Center makes in people's lives. I also see the standing in the community the Center has just by the support of the fundraisers we have each year. The Center has a dedicated staff, volunteers, and board members that are truly passionate about impacting lives and helping those that come to take advantage of the resources the Center offers make positive changes in their lives and those of their family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center is a place people who have limited or no reading ability go to change their lives and a place where some of the most passionate and dedicated people in our community give of their time and talents to make this happen. I am in the middle of my first term as a board member and I have seen first hand the devoted staff and volunteers work tirelessly to give people the teaching and tools necessary to achieve their goals. I know I take the capacity to read and write for granted and cannot imagine what someone who does not have these abilities goes through on a daily basis. I am honored and proud to serve an organization that is impacting lives in such a dramatic way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This is excellent organization that provides a benefit to the area that enhances the entire community in ways that cannot be fully measured. Education is one of the most powerful tools one can have and organization facilitates and encourages all walks of life to better themselves through knowledge and education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Adult Reading Center since Nov., 2012 and love the work, interactions with the dedicated staff and appreciative of the great accomplishments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I am a new member to the board of the Adult Reading Center but have seen the great contributions to the community that the Center has made over the years. The Center's profound effect on people's lives is what inspired me to join the Board. It is remarkable what the Center is doing for people on a daily basis and the reach of the Center is immeasurable as its patrons go out into the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center (ARC) provides comprehensive literacy services for adult learners at all levels. Their executive administrator, program staff and volunteers are committed to best practices and efficiencies of delivery of services that ensure donors are getting an outstanding return on their contribution and learners are moving toward successful goals for better jobs and to support their family's needs. As a member of the Literacy Texas Board, the state literacy coalition, I have worked with ARC for several years and encourage support of this hard-working non-profit. We hope that more Texas literacy providers will develop the standards of excellence similar to those used by the Adult Reading Center, and we extend our best wishes for continued success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have seen in person and have heard the stories from so many who have came out of the Adult Reading Center. Many people getting a second chance to learn the basics of reading and then continueing their education to improve their position in the work force and to make a better life for themselves and their family. The GED program is my favorite as I also have a GED and a couple of years of community college behind me. Reading is one of those things that we take for granted and think everyone knows how to read. I volunteered many years at the annual Red Hat Luncheon and was so touched time after time from graduates of the program with their stories of how hard it is for an adult who can not read. Imagine not being able to help your children with School work, not being able to get any job because you are not able to fill out the paper work. I'm proud to be part of such a wonderful and needed organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Adult Reading Center in Pearland is truly a place which helps the entire community. By teaching an adult to read, they help that person, their family, coworkers, and anyone else who benefits from their new skills. The teachers are often volunteers and the instruction is free. There are even scholarships available to those students who would like to continue their education. Bravo!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help answer phones; direct students; assemble marketing pieces Volunteer