Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for several years. I see miracles every day! Dale and her staff go out of their way to help the students in all aspects of their lives. I am honored to be a volunteer there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a smal... more

October 21, 2013

I took the tutor training and started volunteering at the Adult Reading Center in April, 1990 as a one on one tutor. Since that start I have tutored many students, either one on one or small groups. It still amazes me how appreciative the students are that I would take my time to help them learn to read, write and speak English. I've had students with every little education on up to students with a number of degrees and no matter what level they are it is a real enjoyment to me to be a part of the ARC helping them to improve. Other then the tutoring I also have served on the Board of Directors and try to take care of maintaining the facility.

The center provides a path for anyone who has the desire to improve their status in the community and is willing to dedicate their time, work hard reap the results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to increase the size of the facility so more students could be given the chance to learn.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I am presently a member of the board and have been associated with the Adult Reading Center for over 20 years. I have been a tutor, board member and maintenance provider. The Center started as a small operation teaching adults to learn how to read and speak English, with a few students, to the present that provides instruction to multible classes throughout the week. Students in the beginning were primarily of Spanish decent whereas at the present there are over 30+ languages seeking to learn English. Besides improving there English skills, students can learn how study for their GED, write a resume, operate a computer, interview for a job or study for the citizenship test. All the programs offered are free to the student. The Center plans to expand its opeation to provide the resources necessary to meet the growing demand of adults wanting to improve their status in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been a Board Member for a year. I have seen and heard a lot ot testominies from people who have received their services and just to see the progress is such a great achievement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I first stated out by volunteering for the Adult Reading Center as a waiter for their Annual Red Hat Luncheon many years ago and have done it every year since. I was able to listen to some of the students give testimonials about how the center has changed their lives, not only financially but also to their own self-esteem. I was not aware at the time how many adults were still, not able to read and the need for such a organization. Several students have received their GED's and went on to colleges to continue their education. This center is still growing and continues to have such a positive impact on our community. Seeing the accomplishments in a students face and hearing the success stories from the ones who came from the center can be a life-changing event. I'm honored to be part of this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing at all. The staff and volunteers at the center are fabulous.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have been a partner with the Adult Reading Center since 2002, when we moved to Pearland,TX. While there I was a volunteer and donor. Since moving from the area I have remained a donor, that's how ... more

October 21, 2013

I have been a volunteer , board member, and now only a donor as live in MN.
The Center continues to look for new and innovatative ideas to teach their students and extend their reach into entire county to support literacy.

The staff, volunteers and students truly support the mission
statement of this organization.

Barb Nelson
North Branch MN

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I have been a partner with the Adult Reading Center since 2002, when we moved to Pearland,TX. While there I was a volunteer and donor. Since moving from the area I have remained a donor, that's how much I beleive in what theyare doing . This organization can stretch a dollar and is changing so many lives. The success stories are unlimited. While I was there we had students representing over 35 countries. Dale Pillow, Exc. Director is lways looking for better ways to service the students and enchance their learnng experiences. It s so rewarding when the student is able to become a citizen, read to their child or help with their homework. Students not only learn but also help each other. Many volunteer with funding raising opportunities and are always so willing to share their stories.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for several years and have been amazed as to the progress the center has made in the past few years. They have reached out to the community and prov... more

October 21, 2013

As a member of the board for the past 4 years I have watched the center continue to grow in services and in the number of students served. The center offers ESL, Adult Basic Education, GED classes and a variety of workforce development that aides students to better their education, skills and confidence level. It is always rewarding to find that one of the students has received their GED and is now signing up for college classes. It is also rewarding to hear that a mother or father is now able to help their children do homework because they can now understand and read the homework that was sent home.

I am very proud to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been involved with the Adult Reading Center for several years and have been amazed as to the progress the center has made in the past few years. They have reached out to the community and provided multiple services to assist those who have limited English literacy skills. By teaching these Adults to read, write and speak English and to assist in obtaining a GED or Citizenship, they are helping these students obtain better jobs and earn a better living. To hear of some of the success stories they have accomplished is not only heart warming but makes you proud of what the Adult Reading Center is all about. They truly are an asset to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013


I’ve been a fan of the Adult Reading Center since I came for a tour with the Pearland Chamber of Commerce Leadership Class seven years ago. I was pretty blown away by everything I learned that day about the Center’s mission/purpose, the people whose lives are changed by this place, the people
who work and volunteer here and by all the good things that are accomplished in this tiny blue house. Every time I hear the Center's Executive Director, Dale Pillow, give the Center’s Annual Report to our Board of Directors, the same sense of amazement washes over me. It’s still hard for me to believe that such a small staff along with some truly dedicated volunteers can make such an incredible difference in so many peoples’ lives.

Of course, it’s the students who actually do all the work but I think once they muster the courage to come to the Center, it’s our teachers’ and staff’s encouragement that keeps them coming back.

I occasionally help one student who graduated in May by reviewing her college English papers. She told me when she first came to the Center, she had no confidence. Zero. She said it’s her teacher, Al LeBlanc, who gave her the confidence not only to earn her high school degree (by completing a portion of the TAKS test) but to enroll in classes at a local community college. He just kept telling her she was smart and that she could do anything she put her mind to. She said if not for his faith in her, she would have given up.

Recently one of our students, who I’d guess is in his mid 60s, was treated to his first birthday party EVER by his volunteer tutor right here in our little kitchen.

People who never thought they’d earn a GED, drop in to announce they’re starting classes at a community college or they’ve landed a new job that will make life easier for their family.

Immigrants who have overcome so many hurdles to come to our country, manage not only to learn our language, but to flourish and go on to become citizens.

I’m not sure of many places a person can volunteer where little miracles and little moments of true inspiration happen around you and with great frequency. This place does more than educate, it lifts people up in more ways than I can name.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could, I would give it a grant that would allow the Center to expand its programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

As former board member I have seen the impact that the Adult Reading Center has on our community. Besides providing free instruction to adults with limited English literacy skills, they povide a nurturing environment that improves reading, writing and basic communication skills in order to help equip:
Parents with the language skills needed to empower their children; and all adults with the language skills needed to succeed in the workplace, they educate the community on the need for their organizaton and the awareness of adults that need their services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The Adult Reading Center helps any person that walks in off the street with open arms. No matter the level, the ability to speak English, or someone needing to brush up for a GED, the ARC helps, gives the student confidence and has a back-up plan for students that need to try again in a comfortable, encouraging setting. The ARC is a huge asset that truly works for a more literate and employable community. I am constantly amazed at how the Center does so much for so many for so little money flowing through the accounts. Any recognition is truly deserved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to fund them at a higher level including a new facility. I am an experienced high level central office administrator that works with instruction and I am amazed at what the center does with volunteers. Incredible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have been able to watch ARC grow in the community over the past 2 1/2 years. The staff members, volunteers, and board members have been a cohesive team in helping the organization reach the level o... more

October 18, 2013

I have been with the Adult Reading Center for over 3 years. The organization was well established when I joined in 2010, but it has been amazing to watch it grow to the next level. The students show a true desire to learn and the instructors/tutors show a genuine desire to help these students reach their goals. Students going through this program can obtain these services free of charge and take advantage of scholarships that the Reading Center offers. Volunteers can help tutor a student and change their life forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Looking to the future, create more classroom space to allow for more classes to take place at once.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I have been able to watch ARC grow in the community over the past 2 1/2 years. The staff members, volunteers, and board members have been a cohesive team in helping the organization reach the level of impact it has made on the community. The students are the focus and all members of the organization are involved in helping them achieve their true potential. I have never been a part of something this rewarding and life-changing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help answer phones; direct students; assemble marketing pieces Volunteer