Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
123.5142945
Write A Review
October 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to this place and then decided to do a search to check them out.
Look @ the BBB review, google maps their address (that is provided on their IRS forms) and see the headquarters of this "non-profit". I need not say more. shocking! Compare their declared income (many
millions) with this two car garage with one garbage can at the curb.
October 26, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Those negative reports have no idea how much a package means to those troops. I asked my step-son. He and his group in the 82nd ABN received packages from this organization in 2012. I trust his judgement. He is a retired Marine (active and reserves) and a retired detective from the LAPD. Over thirty years in both. He was with the 82nd via a government contract.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 16, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I was considering donating but based on advisory and previous donors remarks, I will not donate. My donation will be sent to Am Vets and paralyzed Vets

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

This is a dispicable group. I donated once but will save my donations for DAV and Paralyzed Vets. I'm the daughter of 2 Vets, worked with the Army at Landstuhl during OEF/OIF, and now work in a VA. Active duty deserve better than this SNAFU organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I am shocked. If you read the Charity Review by BBB it's even worse than the fundraising being over 45%. The CEO is the Chairman of the Board and the Board does not review his performance at least every 2 years. The Board held only 1 meeting in 2011. There's more - go to bbb.org and enter the organization name.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 17, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Have been giving to this charity for about 6 months. Just reviewed their financials on Charity Navigator. The director's salary is reasonable, for a business, but not for a charity. This should be all-volunteer work, and all possible funds used for program costs of assembling and shipping packages to our service men and women. Another thing "wrong" with their financials is Fundraising Costs of over 45%. Red Flag here. Anything over 15-20% for fundraising is out of line. Also low scores for transparency and independent reviews/audits for their financials are Red Flags. DO NOT get caught up in emotions on this. It's a good cause; just a poorly run organization. There are plenty of good military related charities out there who spend 70-80% of all contributions for the service members. Would not recommend this charity. Give to Fischer House instead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I was a donor but after educating myself with reviewing Charity Navigator and Better Business Bureau, I am NO longer a donor and am requesting my name be removed from donor lists asap. Sad.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

What an amazing group of people that work tirelessly to help us as Americans, remind our troops that we are thankful for their service, pray for their safe return and appreciate all they (as well as their families) sacrifice! I have worked with Adoptaplatoon for over 3 years now, in all types of capacities from pen pal adoptions, to adopting an entire platoon and the experience has been amazing! I would encourage anyone who wants to get involved with a nonprofit to consider this great organization and remember that you can serve in all types of capacities big or small it all helps! We cannot let our troops-brothers, husbands, wives, sisters, uncles, friends etc think that they have been forgotten.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that I know I am helping a soldier that is sacrificing being away from their family and friends to maintain my freedoms, and for that I am ever thankful.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, dedicated to their cause, energetic, available to answer any questions or concerns.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help out so many deserving American men and women serving in dangerous combat zones around the world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers