Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
123.5142945
Write A Review
August 15, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

Great, they are getting money from people to give to the troops. They also don't care who it is they get money from. They are targeting the elderly, especially retired military, and taking advantage of them preying on their patriotism and senility. I have told them to leave my father alone, they won't. They take advantage of people. And if you have to do that do help others, then something is really wrong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they are made aware of a situation,they need to take the elderly, sick and confused off their mailing list and just leave them alone. I am not concerned about their charity, I am concerned about my elderly father they are taking advantage of. It's sickening.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Adoptaplatoon (Lozano, TX 78568) failed 7 major standards (e.g. Board Oversight, Board Compensation, Budget Plan, Donor Privacy) of the 20 total standards of the BBB.

Their official filings list no fundraisers even though they paid $336,000 to "professional" fundraisers. Wonder were
these funds went? Three of their board members are listed as "independent" when they are not.

Interesting how the positive reviews are all loaded with misspellings and other mistakes. Probably products of the Texas educational system, or maybe just under educated scam artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find and jail the board members. Disband the organization. Investigate Texas' State Attorney General's Office.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I am disguted and shocked by this charities lack of conscience and morals.
You can be sure that any positive reviews are being posted by employees of this lowlife outfit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I am ALL for supporting our troops in any way possible ESPECIALLY around the holidays BUT! after reading up on this organization and then reading a letter they sent my grandmother to get a donation a couple of weeks later..Was just absolutely ridiculous!! They haul quite a bit of money but do not show reference to where it goes...you are truly better off going at this SOLO and finding a soldier in need through many other avenues..please just be careful who you start writing checks to!! Thanks!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I NOW HAVE FIVE TOOTHBRUSHES; YES,I DONATED FOR 4 OR 5 YEARS. THESE WERE TO BE SENT BACK WITH A DONATION. ONE OF MY GRAND CHILDREN SPENT THE WEEKEND WITH US AND FORGOT TO BRING HIS TOOTHBRUSH. I GAVE HIM ONE OF THESE AND IT WAS WORN OUT AFTER 3 DAYS OF USE. MADE IN MEXICO OR CHINA? I WILL CONTINUE TO SUPPORT WOUNDED WARRIORS AND BLINDED VETS BUT NOT THIS CHARITY ---JABO S

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 23, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 23, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Our family has supported various soldiers for several years through AdoptAPlatoon - wonderful concrete way to contribute even if short on funds. Letters, care packages, anything at all is appreciated. My late father ( a career Marine) was so adament that this organization's efforts was the type of support a combat vet needs and wants, he specified it in his final wishes that contributions be made tothem 'in lieu of flowers'. Great organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 26, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

Their financial information is terribly incomplete and makes no sense - 1.4M in prgram costs and over 4M in other expenses??? The Better Business Bureau gives them a very low rating based on their failure to meet most of the BBB's financial criteria (such as oversight).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced the results of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the adherence to sound financial guidelines for a charitable organization. Improve and clarify their financial information.

March 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

My family have been Adoptaplatoon supporters for years and it enriches our lives as much as the soldiers. My children draw pictures and make cards to include in the care packages. We have also participated in many of their seasonal campaigns (holiday stockings, valentine's day candy, etc.) with our Brownie Scout troop and school classes.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Showing our appreciation to the soldiers while teaching my children about the importance of the sacrifices they and the military families make every day.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I've only communicated via e-mail with the all volunteer "staff", but they are wonderful!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

It is hard to imagine that a simple handwritten letter from a "stranger" could make two people come to tears. In the middle of a war, our soldier wrote to us and sent us the gift of a tape and a booklet on living a happy life! We are grateful for the priviledge of supporting this young man who gained his citizenship while serving in Iraq! He signed his letter. "We are family now--Love from your adopted soldier"

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The simple joy of knowing our letters and monthly gift box are being delivered to a soldier risking his life every day for our country!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers