Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
123.5142945
Write A Review
February 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I am disguted and shocked by this charities lack of conscience and morals.
You can be sure that any positive reviews are being posted by employees of this lowlife outfit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I am shocked. If you read the Charity Review by BBB it's even worse than the fundraising being over 45%. The CEO is the Chairman of the Board and the Board does not review his performance at least every 2 years. The Board held only 1 meeting in 2011. There's more - go to bbb.org and enter the organization name.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 17, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Have been giving to this charity for about 6 months. Just reviewed their financials on Charity Navigator. The director's salary is reasonable, for a business, but not for a charity. This should be all-volunteer work, and all possible funds used for program costs of assembling and shipping packages to our service men and women. Another thing "wrong" with their financials is Fundraising Costs of over 45%. Red Flag here. Anything over 15-20% for fundraising is out of line. Also low scores for transparency and independent reviews/audits for their financials are Red Flags. DO NOT get caught up in emotions on this. It's a good cause; just a poorly run organization. There are plenty of good military related charities out there who spend 70-80% of all contributions for the service members. Would not recommend this charity. Give to Fischer House instead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I was a donor but after educating myself with reviewing Charity Navigator and Better Business Bureau, I am NO longer a donor and am requesting my name be removed from donor lists asap. Sad.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I don't know how Adopt A Platoon spends its funds, All I know is that they provide information regarding pen pals (which I always have 2) and platoons that need specific support. They send out monthly bulletins about campaigns providing the troops with socks, underwear, and specialty items for the holidays. I have never been asked dontae money, only things that the troops need. I have gotten mail from Chaplains saying how much Adopt A Platoon is appreciated by those it serves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with AdoptaPlatoon for over a year now, and I consider myself lucky to get involved with such a great organization. I've had the chance to help my sorority adopt a platoon of marines, as well as adopting individual soldiers myself. AAP has done a great job with making sure people know what to send, not only to their soldiers, but also to their campaigns that they send out throughout the year. I also had a chance to volunteer with AAP through my college english class. I wrote their manual on "How to Send Care Packages" so that people would be able to support their soldiers and know what they need to do in order to make sure that their packages are received. I've really had a great experience with AAP, and they do a great job with getting you involved, both with adopting soldiers and if you want to actually assist the organization. Definitely recommend getting involved with them!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I am ALL for supporting our troops in any way possible ESPECIALLY around the holidays BUT! after reading up on this organization and then reading a letter they sent my grandmother to get a donation a couple of weeks later..Was just absolutely ridiculous!! They haul quite a bit of money but do not show reference to where it goes...you are truly better off going at this SOLO and finding a soldier in need through many other avenues..please just be careful who you start writing checks to!! Thanks!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I NOW HAVE FIVE TOOTHBRUSHES; YES,I DONATED FOR 4 OR 5 YEARS. THESE WERE TO BE SENT BACK WITH A DONATION. ONE OF MY GRAND CHILDREN SPENT THE WEEKEND WITH US AND FORGOT TO BRING HIS TOOTHBRUSH. I GAVE HIM ONE OF THESE AND IT WAS WORN OUT AFTER 3 DAYS OF USE. MADE IN MEXICO OR CHINA? I WILL CONTINUE TO SUPPORT WOUNDED WARRIORS AND BLINDED VETS BUT NOT THIS CHARITY ---JABO S

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 23, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 23, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Our family has supported various soldiers for several years through AdoptAPlatoon - wonderful concrete way to contribute even if short on funds. Letters, care packages, anything at all is appreciated. My late father ( a career Marine) was so adament that this organization's efforts was the type of support a combat vet needs and wants, he specified it in his final wishes that contributions be made tothem 'in lieu of flowers'. Great organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

trying to get names of military to send care packages to and cant get enough names we ship out 150 boxes every 3 months and trommow sept 23 we dont have dnough names anyone hase names please send them to me asap today we are liget we have our web sight supportersofmilitary.com and we have been doing this sence 2004 thanks for any help

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i do this every 3 months and do all kinds of fund raisers to support it

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get people more aware what troops need

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers