Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
123.5312545
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Great, they are getting money from people to give to the troops. They also don't care who it is they get money from. They are targeting the elderly, especially retired military, and taking advantage of them preying on their patriotism and senility. I have told them to leave my father alone, they won't. They take advantage of people. And if you have to do that do help others, then something is really wrong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they are made aware of a situation,they need to take the elderly, sick and confused off their mailing list and just leave them alone. I am not concerned about their charity, I am concerned about my elderly father they are taking advantage of. It's sickening.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

My husband of 21yrs in the United States Army was injured in Iraq. Through out 18 surgeries within 4 years our family of 3 fell on some really hard times. Living in hospitals and hotels for most of that time. We were referred to Adopt A Platoon in 2010. From the first phone call in the middle of a crisis this organization basically adopted our family! Helped with expense the Army couldn't fund! Example the army would pay for me to be a caregiver but not for our 4yr old at the time. For the past 4 yrs not only has this organization helped us financial but has provided pure love and genuine support!
Because of this organization I did not feel alone and I now have another family to turn too!
I can never say thank you enough!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Those negative reports have no idea how much a package means to those troops. I asked my step-son. He and his group in the 82nd ABN received packages from this organization in 2012. I trust his judgement. He is a retired Marine (active and reserves) and a retired detective from the LAPD. Over thirty years in both. He was with the 82nd via a government contract.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Adoptaplatoon (Lozano, TX 78568) failed 7 major standards (e.g. Board Oversight, Board Compensation, Budget Plan, Donor Privacy) of the 20 total standards of the BBB.

Their official filings list no fundraisers even though they paid $336,000 to "professional" fundraisers. Wonder were
these funds went? Three of their board members are listed as "independent" when they are not.

Interesting how the positive reviews are all loaded with misspellings and other mistakes. Probably products of the Texas educational system, or maybe just under educated scam artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find and jail the board members. Disband the organization. Investigate Texas' State Attorney General's Office.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a veterans charity as a benefactor for a golf tournament we hold every september. I'm glad i read your reviews as we were considering AAP. What concerned me even more was that 9 of their 5 star reviews were all in month of March which looked very much like a campaign and on top of BBB's review made those reviews even more suspicious. I'm sure some good comes out of thier efforts but the nepotism is too blatant on the board and on their staff of paid staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the board members with non family members, conduct annual transparent audits to begin with

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was considering donating but based on advisory and previous donors remarks, I will not donate. My donation will be sent to Am Vets and paralyzed Vets

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

This is a dispicable group. I donated once but will save my donations for DAV and Paralyzed Vets. I'm the daughter of 2 Vets, worked with the Army at Landstuhl during OEF/OIF, and now work in a VA. Active duty deserve better than this SNAFU organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 27, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I am disguted and shocked by this charities lack of conscience and morals.
You can be sure that any positive reviews are being posted by employees of this lowlife outfit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I am shocked. If you read the Charity Review by BBB it's even worse than the fundraising being over 45%. The CEO is the Chairman of the Board and the Board does not review his performance at least every 2 years. The Board held only 1 meeting in 2011. There's more - go to bbb.org and enter the organization name.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 17, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Have been giving to this charity for about 6 months. Just reviewed their financials on Charity Navigator. The director's salary is reasonable, for a business, but not for a charity. This should be all-volunteer work, and all possible funds used for program costs of assembling and shipping packages to our service men and women. Another thing "wrong" with their financials is Fundraising Costs of over 45%. Red Flag here. Anything over 15-20% for fundraising is out of line. Also low scores for transparency and independent reviews/audits for their financials are Red Flags. DO NOT get caught up in emotions on this. It's a good cause; just a poorly run organization. There are plenty of good military related charities out there who spend 70-80% of all contributions for the service members. Would not recommend this charity. Give to Fischer House instead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers