Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.742865
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

Adopt A Family is a constant source of empowerment in my life. I know I can always call on Sarah and Leanne for assistance creatively problem solving and I know that there is nothing that I can't face with strength and grace because they have my back. The lessons I have learned from Project Inspiration serve me every day as I endeavor to achieve my goals and the Holiday program allowed me to give my children a truly profound Christmas this year. Thank you Adopt A Family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

become an intern and help develop helpful programs for budgeting and nutrition.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Adopt A Family of Marin really saved our family from homelessness in August 2012. My husband and I have two young boys and we were faced with the loss of our jobs and a 3 day notice to vacate our apartment in San Rafael. We had no family or friends we could turn to for a financial "bail out", but we were lucky to hear about Adopt A Family of Marin. Desperate for a miracle, I called and was greeted by a counselor who invited us to apply for assistance. What a blessing we received from this organization!

Adopt A Family was kind and compassionate to our family and even provided counseling. They were able to help us with a security deposit on a new house and we were able to relocate to Sacramento county, which was much more affordable.

As a result of their gift, our family has a nice home to rent and we have started a small business. We are stable and grateful to this day, thanks to Adopt A Family of Marin and the new start and life they gave us. Truly a lifesaving organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I was blessed beyond measure when Adopt a Family contacted me regarding adopting my family for Christmas last year, 2012. In the late fall, we were suddenly hit with financial hardships that left us in extreme dire straits. We were directed to contact Adopt a Family to see if there was anything they could help us with. At that time, our immediate needs were outside the scope of the agency. With the holidays quickly approaching, anxiety and sadness were overwhelmingly increasing. Then one day, I received a call from Adopt a Family informing me that they would like to 'adopt us for Christmas'. All I could do is cry, with tears of joy and sincere humble appreciation. I filled out the paper work for my 2 teens, and they contacted me and said 'we need you to also fill out your information'. I told them that I didn't need anything; the fact they were going to be blessing my children meant more to me than words could express. But, they insisted, I too was to be blest in this process. We were grateful that Christmas Season, not just for the amazing gifts we received, but we felt loved and cared for by a community of people we didn't know and probably would never meet. Our lives were touched in ways beyond my expression of words. They are truly a unique organization - one we are so fortunate to have!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

They have helped me more than I could have asked for ,taking the class on getting ahead was the most greatest experience that I could have taking part in . Thank you so much !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing at all right now, get up the good work in all the helping me and other families that you have helped as well!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a client I am so greatful for Adopt A Family.they have been a major help to me and my family. Adopt A Family is such an positive organization. i appreciate everything they have done for my family. they are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely not change anything.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Adopt A Family of Marin makes a positive difference for families when they are in need. They support families by providing them with resources when they need them the most. They support families with rental assistance, which makes it possible for families to continue having a place to live. In addition, they support families by giving them access to groceries, which makes it possible for families to have food to eat, giving them access to clothing, which makes it possible for families to have clothes to wear, and by giving them access to fuel, which makes it possible for families to commute. They also support families with classes which teach families how to access the resources they need, and how to utilize their resources efficiently. Moreover, Adopt A Family of Marin supports families by giving them access to counseling, and referring them to financial advisors. Adopt A Family of Marin makes a significant difference for families when they are in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

About 3 and a half years ago I needed help moving into a new house for my safety . adopt a family help me with my deposit and also help me with counseling services for myself and my child. they have truly become just like a second family to us! They have continued to be supportive and a support system for me and my child we are so thankful to God for them;)!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the Adopt a Family to every city in America because they are truly a blessing for people in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

About three years ago, I lost my job that provided most of the cost of the rent. So I sought the help of Adopt A Family to help me to complete the rent, so they gave me not just financial support; also, they provided financial aid. They helped me twice to complete the cost of the rent. Then they follow up my case by teaching me how I can be ahead in the United States. I participated in a program call "Project Inspiration" which has been a blessing for some reasons. One of the reasons is that they thought me steps and ways to be ahead and come out of poverty. With them I seted up my first goals such as find another job with a better wage, and I got it! I found a job that has provided me an income that permit to pay my rent and save some money for the future. Another reason is that they have been close to me in a constant communication by email, telephone, or meetings which have been helpful. I do not feel alone, they always be there to give me an unconditional help at any time. In addition, every end of year they ask me and my family to make a wish list, so Adopt A Family find generous families whom have made our Christmas by sharing with us their joyful when they sent all those gifts that provided us happiness. No doubt that in the middle of our poverty with our great dream of being ahead there are people working hard close to us as Adopt A Family to make it true.

Marta Villela
Single Mother

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to have the chance to have meetings with them on Saturdays because they worked just from Monday to Friday, and unfortunatelly I do not have time to meet them during the weekdays because of my job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I can not even express how much adopt a family has helped my family in a time of need. They have helped me several times,but the most important time was when I had to move on short notice due to my landlord selling his home. I came up with about half of my deposit for new property and they were able to help me with other half in very short notice.

It is essential for residents to come up with astronomical deposits in marin and you can't come up with it in time,you will simply be passed over to the next 20 people waiting ion line to get that property.

They have also helped me in adopting my family for Christmas. What a blessing and relief it was for me to know my kids would be taken care of.

This organization is amazing and gets better every year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Well, where do I begin? The staff at adopt a family really must love what they do! I am a difficult person to get along with. Maybe it has something to do with my circumstances. These, are the same circumstances that send me running to Adopt a Family's office. I'm positive, if these ladies didn't love what they do, there is no way they would sit on the phone or take time out of their busy days to help an irrational person such as myself, to figure out their family life, living expenses, career choices, job search, resumé building, mock interviews, bad breaks, food shortage, daycare, counseling, living arrangements, pg&e, christmas gifts, victim services, references. My favorite to date has to be when they act as liason between me and the other agencies that don't take the time to listen. If other agenencies used Adopt a Family as the prototype we might be able to eradicate joblessness, homelessness and domestic violence! Pam this is for you! Gloria Gaynor "I will survive". She played that song to teach and remind me that I didn't have to tolerate domestic abuse. She was right! Thank Sarah & Leanne! You two are iron fists in velvet gloves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them continue to do their magic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers