Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.81255
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I have been so impressed as a donor and a volunteer with the level of professionalism coupled with care and wisdom that I have found at Adopt a Family of Marin. Pam Meyer and her staff give me a very... more

October 29, 2014

I love Adopt a Family. They are creative in helping families help themselves, they are kind and they are effective. Everyone is passionate about their work in helping families. Their Holiday program where you can adopt a family for Christmas is fun, rewarding and a great way to engage the entire family in helping our neighbors.
October 31, 2013

I have been so impressed as a donor and a volunteer with the level of professionalism coupled with care and wisdom that I have found at Adopt a Family of Marin. Pam Meyer and her staff give me a very high level of confidence that the money that I donate to the organization is going to be used wisely and make a lasting impact on families lifting them out of poverty and homelessness to self sufficiency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure more people knew about this program and the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been working with Adopt A Family of Marin for about four years in a number of ways as a volunteer and donor. I have especially enjoyed helping out with the agency's Christmas family gift program. I know the services this agency provides to struggling families to help prevent homelessness in our county makes a big difference to the families and to our local communities. Also, their Project Inspiration program offers life sustainability tools and resources for these families to help build personal strength and goals. This is a Great non-profit! Patti
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been helping this organization for 3 years by fundraising, putting together Mother's Day baskets and adopting a family at Christmas. The thank you's that I receive from the families are heartwarming.
This year I have recruited some other individuals and businesses to adopt families.

I truly believe this group saves a lot of families from homelessness and gives them hope to keep their heads up and thrive.
The staff works on a tight budget to help families in Marin and I am very supportive of their efforts.
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

Adopt A Family is a constant source of empowerment in my life. I know I can always call on Sarah and Leanne for assistance creatively problem solving and I know that there is nothing that I can't face with strength and grace because they have my back. The lessons I have learned from Project Inspiration serve me every day as I endeavor to achieve my goals and the Holiday program allowed me to give my children a truly profound Christmas this year. Thank you Adopt A Family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

become an intern and help develop helpful programs for budgeting and nutrition.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Adopt A Family of Marin really saved our family from homelessness in August 2012. My husband and I have two young boys and we were faced with the loss of our jobs and a 3 day notice to vacate our apartment in San Rafael. We had no family or friends we could turn to for a financial "bail out", but we were lucky to hear about Adopt A Family of Marin. Desperate for a miracle, I called and was greeted by a counselor who invited us to apply for assistance. What a blessing we received from this organization!

Adopt A Family was kind and compassionate to our family and even provided counseling. They were able to help us with a security deposit on a new house and we were able to relocate to Sacramento county, which was much more affordable.

As a result of their gift, our family has a nice home to rent and we have started a small business. We are stable and grateful to this day, thanks to Adopt A Family of Marin and the new start and life they gave us. Truly a lifesaving organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I was blessed beyond measure when Adopt a Family contacted me regarding adopting my family for Christmas last year, 2012. In the late fall, we were suddenly hit with financial hardships that left us in extreme dire straits. We were directed to contact Adopt a Family to see if there was anything they could help us with. At that time, our immediate needs were outside the scope of the agency. With the holidays quickly approaching, anxiety and sadness were overwhelmingly increasing. Then one day, I received a call from Adopt a Family informing me that they would like to 'adopt us for Christmas'. All I could do is cry, with tears of joy and sincere humble appreciation. I filled out the paper work for my 2 teens, and they contacted me and said 'we need you to also fill out your information'. I told them that I didn't need anything; the fact they were going to be blessing my children meant more to me than words could express. But, they insisted, I too was to be blest in this process. We were grateful that Christmas Season, not just for the amazing gifts we received, but we felt loved and cared for by a community of people we didn't know and probably would never meet. Our lives were touched in ways beyond my expression of words. They are truly a unique organization - one we are so fortunate to have!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Wonderful organization, that makes such a difference in the lives of many families in Marin..Adopt A Family is well run, keeps costs down, and uses their money and volunteers effectively, for positive results.
Because of Adopt A Family, there are fewer homeless families in Marin County.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

They have helped me more than I could have asked for ,taking the class on getting ahead was the most greatest experience that I could have taking part in . Thank you so much !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing at all right now, get up the good work in all the helping me and other families that you have helped as well!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a client I am so greatful for Adopt A Family.they have been a major help to me and my family. Adopt A Family is such an positive organization. i appreciate everything they have done for my family. they are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely not change anything.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Adopt A Family of Marin makes a positive difference for families when they are in need. They support families by providing them with resources when they need them the most. They support families with rental assistance, which makes it possible for families to continue having a place to live. In addition, they support families by giving them access to groceries, which makes it possible for families to have food to eat, giving them access to clothing, which makes it possible for families to have clothes to wear, and by giving them access to fuel, which makes it possible for families to commute. They also support families with classes which teach families how to access the resources they need, and how to utilize their resources efficiently. Moreover, Adopt A Family of Marin supports families by giving them access to counseling, and referring them to financial advisors. Adopt A Family of Marin makes a significant difference for families when they are in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers