Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.742865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

About 3 and a half years ago I needed help moving into a new house for my safety . adopt a family help me with my deposit and also help me with counseling services for myself and my child. they have truly become just like a second family to us! They have continued to be supportive and a support system for me and my child we are so thankful to God for them;)!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the Adopt a Family to every city in America because they are truly a blessing for people in need!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Adopt A Family provides a compassionate ear and a lifeline to families in times of crisis. They then follow up with each family to provide the tools and the education necessary to create and implement a plan to build a strong future capable of weathering future storms on their own. Many of their clients go on to assist other families in the community and inspire others to build on the success of their program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand their capacity to reach, assist and educate more families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

About three years ago, I lost my job that provided most of the cost of the rent. So I sought the help of Adopt A Family to help me to complete the rent, so they gave me not just financial support; also, they provided financial aid. They helped me twice to complete the cost of the rent. Then they follow up my case by teaching me how I can be ahead in the United States. I participated in a program call "Project Inspiration" which has been a blessing for some reasons. One of the reasons is that they thought me steps and ways to be ahead and come out of poverty. With them I seted up my first goals such as find another job with a better wage, and I got it! I found a job that has provided me an income that permit to pay my rent and save some money for the future. Another reason is that they have been close to me in a constant communication by email, telephone, or meetings which have been helpful. I do not feel alone, they always be there to give me an unconditional help at any time. In addition, every end of year they ask me and my family to make a wish list, so Adopt A Family find generous families whom have made our Christmas by sharing with us their joyful when they sent all those gifts that provided us happiness. No doubt that in the middle of our poverty with our great dream of being ahead there are people working hard close to us as Adopt A Family to make it true.

Marta Villela
Single Mother

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to have the chance to have meetings with them on Saturdays because they worked just from Monday to Friday, and unfortunatelly I do not have time to meet them during the weekdays because of my job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Pam and her intelligent staff at Adopt A Family of Marin are incredibly compassionate towards the clients that come to AAF for support. From listening, to educating, to offering financial support, AAF provides a very important and valuable service to the Marin Community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I can not even express how much adopt a family has helped my family in a time of need. They have helped me several times,but the most important time was when I had to move on short notice due to my landlord selling his home. I came up with about half of my deposit for new property and they were able to help me with other half in very short notice.

It is essential for residents to come up with astronomical deposits in marin and you can't come up with it in time,you will simply be passed over to the next 20 people waiting ion line to get that property.

They have also helped me in adopting my family for Christmas. What a blessing and relief it was for me to know my kids would be taken care of.

This organization is amazing and gets better every year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Well, where do I begin? The staff at adopt a family really must love what they do! I am a difficult person to get along with. Maybe it has something to do with my circumstances. These, are the same circumstances that send me running to Adopt a Family's office. I'm positive, if these ladies didn't love what they do, there is no way they would sit on the phone or take time out of their busy days to help an irrational person such as myself, to figure out their family life, living expenses, career choices, job search, resumé building, mock interviews, bad breaks, food shortage, daycare, counseling, living arrangements, pg&e, christmas gifts, victim services, references. My favorite to date has to be when they act as liason between me and the other agencies that don't take the time to listen. If other agenencies used Adopt a Family as the prototype we might be able to eradicate joblessness, homelessness and domestic violence! Pam this is for you! Gloria Gaynor "I will survive". She played that song to teach and remind me that I didn't have to tolerate domestic abuse. She was right! Thank Sarah & Leanne! You two are iron fists in velvet gloves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them continue to do their magic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I originally went to Marin Adopt A Family to take a class that was being offered to the community on Success and Getting Ahead in life. At the time, I was dealing with a lot of issues and so taking that class was my outlet for stress and for what I was going through at home. You see, I was taking care of my husband who was at home dying from Prostate Cancer! I have 3 children plus grand kids that I take care of plus my husband and best friend , who is now on hospice and slowly perishing. I was about 3 weeks from graduating with the rest of my class when my husband passed away! I was not prepared for his death as it came upon us so quickly! Being low income with 6 children, NO HUSBAND and ALONE, I had no idea where to turn for help? I had no clue of burial or cremation costs? The bills still had to get paid and the kids still had to eat? I still needed gas in the car and my funds were gone so fast, I was lost when Leanne and Sarah came to our aide! Marin Adopt A Family was truly a Godsend to my family in our darkest hour of need! It's as if the heavens opened up and the blessings came pouring down on my family! The things in life that matter and are important, and the things that they covered for us. The Rent, Food, Bills Ect, I had enough to deal with already with just losing my husband and life partner. So I just want everyone to know what a wonderful and needed organization Marin Adopt A Family is for our community. Had it not been for them, myself and my children would probably be homeless and living in our car or a Family Shelter! So Thanks again to all the Marin Adopt A Family Staff, and the generous people who donate to help Real families with Real needs!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I were to change anything about this organization, I would only make it bigger! So that they would be available to more families in the community who are in need, but have no where to go.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Adopt a Family is a GREAT organization! I am a single Mom and I've reached out to Adopt a Family on many occasions. They have helped me provide Christmas gifts for my daughter and emergency rent money when I was unemployed and not able to make ends meet. Adopt a Family has also provided me with many resources so I could better my life and move forward. Leanne and Sarah are very compassionate and understanding no matter what situation arises. I've participated in a class they held for 15 weeks and learned how to get out of poverty. It really gives me hope that there IS a way out and there are resources out there to help - resources I wouldn't have known about without Adopt a Family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would LOVE to be a part of their staff!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

First I'm sorry for My writhing in English, I never be in the school English, I learner in the streets.
Adopt a Family is a grat institution they no only help you, they are very worry for your future and try to do every ting can help you and your family, I was very depress and they found a
therapist working for me, My denture bridge come out and they found a Dentist help me.'
Always they are looking for your welfare and monitored your status.
Thanks Adopt a Family for help me and my family and for given to me more espectations in my life.
Sara and Leaan you are Angels, and always you are available to listen me and help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

given to them more money (grants) to help more Spanish people

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Adopt A Family of Marin has helped my small family more than once with financial emergency money, referral to counseling, and the Holiday Program. I had nothing to give my daughter last Xmas. I was just hoping to get through the Holiday Season with just paying our rent and the bills. I heard about the Adopt A Family Holiday Program and signed up just in the nick of time. I could not believe the care, thought, and time our donor must have spent thinking and shopping for us. I was overwhelmed. I was able to surprise my daughter Xmas Morning. I cried. I was filled with joy and hope. Thank you to all of you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers