Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I've been a member of ADK for almost two years. Since I am a college student, it's difficult for me to find time to participate in a large number of ADK's events, but I read their newsletters faithfully and have found that they consistently offer a wide range of activities. I've only ever had good experiences when I have interacted with ADK, and plan on staying a member for life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

The Adirondac Mountain Club aka "ADK" is a terrific member driven organization which has for the better part of a century has organized and enabled recreational opportunities and conservation projects throughout the Adirondack Mountains of New York and the New York State as a whole. It has been able to continue its excellent work and grow due to its unique organization in which dues are shared with it's local chapters. Approximately 40 cents of every dollar raised from dues is shared in this way - allowing local chapters to publish their own outing schedule and undertake their own local activities such as maintaining trials in a number of local state parks and preserves as well as supporting the main chapter conservation projects and maintaining club's properties in the High Peaks area of the Adirondack Mountains.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Since I have been a child, I have enjoyed trips to the Adirondacks to camp, canoe, relax, enjoy the beauty of nature, and especially to climb the mountains there, especially the High Peaks. The Adirondack Mountain Club has insured good stewardship of the Adirondacks, promoted education, maintained the many trails that thousands use yearly, and advocated at the governmental level for structures, policies, and laws to preserve and even improve the Adirondacks for my generation and generations to come. they have worked with many groups purchase more and more land to be forever wild. As a hiker, I greatly appreciate all that they do to facilitate the ability to climb the many mountains of the Adirondacks and enjoy the physical challenges and the amazing views that one experiences by climbing an Adirondack mountain. This is a fine organization that I am happy to support.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

On one hike they really impressed me with how much they do to maintain the environment. One gentlman gave us tips on trail closings following hurricane Irene. Another checked our food storage container. We saw a work group on the trail. Not only in the ADK's, their interest extends to oil "fracking", the Catskill's, Canoers, and more. They offer diverse programs for overseas excursions, ADK education, and general wilderness training to name a few. They are active in goverment lobies. They maintain and improve trails for the volume of people treking through NY's forests. Overall, one of the better to belong to!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Too many ways to say. From Low's lake, Oswagatchie River, to the High Peaks, to the Catskills. After Irene, they have done a tremendous job cleaning up with very limited resources. The county can doo just soo much. Heart lake is a nice place. The interior stations were always well maintained.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like all things, these days, I would give them more money. I can't but they do indeed use it wisely...maybe our government could learn this?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Hmmm.... I do not know. I think I always knew about them, once I had asked. (My uncle took me up to climb Mt Marcy as a child of 6 or so.) 'Corse, we drove a long ways down what is now closed road. Before then, my memory is a bit hazy, but, I believe my father told me when I was younger than that...how much? Well, I don't know.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have always admired the ADK's dedication to issues in the Adirondacks and Catskills. Whether it as been trail maintenance. legal battles to retain the Preserves in both areas, or simple providing low cost venues for hikers, The ADK has been a leader among environmental groups that support the Adirondacks. While I am not in the area to volunteer that much i do try to support the club as much as possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

ADK provides an invaluable service in providing for the protection of wild lands in the Adirondack mountain preserve, as well as serving as a model for other organizations of this type. I have utilized their educational programs, vacationed at their lodgings, had transcendental experiences in the protected wilds, and have learned to be a better advocate for my own community and environment. I imagine that I will be a life-long member of ADK.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

ADK does a great job planning outings and educating the community in both local and national issues with the result that many members become life long friends.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

We have been members of the ADK for over 30 years. We have taken walks with ADK guides, used ADK guide books to plan our various trips in the Adirondacks, stayed at Adirondack Loj and are serious readers of ADK publications. They keep us up to date on environmental issues that are important to the area and their educational information helps people who love the out of doors and the Adirondack region in particular to understand issues in the environment and in government that are important. Their outreach is excellent and their mission to educate people to better enjoy the out of doors with appreciation and safety is admirable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Participating in ADK encouraged me to set a goal of becoming an Adirondack 46er, which I officially accomplished in 2005, having completed the hikes before that but taking a while to get my paperwork filed so that I could be officially registered. For many of the hikes, I joined organized ADK hikes, but I also did a number on my own. On one of the trailless hikes in which I did not make it to the summit before turning back, I came upon a group of three hikers/campers from Sweden, and they informed me that the woman who was one of their group had twisted her leg and could not make it back to the ADK Loj, so I hurried back and notified the ranger there, who immediately set in action a rescue operation, so that this woman could be airlifted by helicopter to receive medical assistance, and the way in which she would be rescued would be to have two rangers coming from different directions meet her with a stretcher to carry her to a location where a helicopter could get access to her. I have met a number of interesting people, from many parts of the world, while hiking in the Adirondacks, and I will continue to look forward to new adventures with fellow hikers as long as I am able to be an active hiker. I feel honored to continue to be associated with the ADK, of which my membership is in the Albany Chapter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Been a member for 20+ years. Great organization....Always friendly and helpful. Been spending time at their ADK Loj every year of those 20+ years. Will always remain a member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers