Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

My first hiking trips into the mountains in Upstate NY called the Adirondacks were on trails maintained by the Adirondack Mountain Club, from parking lots maintained by the Club, and lodges owned and maintained by the club. It was these trips that fuelled by passion for the mountains and led to great mountaineering adventures in Alaska and The Cascades. Since then I've returned to the Adirondack Mountains with a renewed appreciation for everything the ADK has done and look forward to introducing a new generation of yougsters to the magical inspiration that can be found there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

We are relatively new members of the Adirondack Mountain Club. We have taken an educational course and participated in guided groups climbing the high peaks. The instructors and guides to be extremely knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. The facilities are clean and welcoming. The Adirondack Mountain Club makes available many supplies and resources for both the classes and climbs. We look forward to further trips and programs with the Adirondack Mountain Club. This organization is an asset to the enjoyment and preservation of the Adirondack Mountains.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

As a member of the ADK I have been on hikes and a vacation trip to St. Johns in the American Virgin Islands. THe hikes are good, especially with the rating system if you have limitations. The trip to St. Johns was the trip of a lifetime because of superb organizers and participants. We are moving back to the Adirondacks hoping to take advantage of more outings. I highly recomend the ADK for their diligence in safety and education. Thanks ADK for getting us out more!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I love the ADK and rely heavily on the facilities and information offered. My drug of choice is hiking in the Adirondack Mountains and frequently stay at the Adirondack Loj and the Johns Brook Lodge. The ADK website along with the High Peaks Information Center at the Loj are essential sources of information regarding trail conditions. More than once these resources proved invaluable in deciding the appropriate gear to pack and trails to hike.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I have been a member of the ADK for 30 years and have been using its resources for a long time. Between educational programs, guide books, club trail maintenance and area information in its website and publications the experience with the ADK has been enjoyable, educational and very meaningful to me and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I've been hiking the high peaks of the Adirondacks with my family and friends for decades, and the spirit and hard work of all of the volunteers and employees is exemplary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I had been paddleing flat water for some time and wanted to try whitwater. A friend just bought a boat and then I bought one too. We went out a couple times together and then it happened he coldn't go and I wanted to. I herd about ADK and the Schenectady chapter and decided to join. I made a call to one of the group leaders planing a trip he welcommed me and I have been hook ever since. I could not have found a better group of people to on the water wtih.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

word of mouth

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I've been a member since I was a junior member (while at Camp Lincoln) in the early 1950's. ADK is a fabulous advocate for the Adirondack Mountain Park (New York State's huge North Park) as well as other parks in New York State (Catskills). Fighting lumber companies, developers, and the 4-wheel ATV lobbies, ADK has pushed for stewardship of the parks, FOREVER WILD. This is a concept which most residents of New York State do not appreciate, and ADK makes their presence felt in the Legislature and Governor's office. ADK also has a huge network of volunteers who help to maintain state park trails, and the ADK facilitiies. If you have never stayed at Johns Brook Lodge, you have a treat-of-your-life waiting for you. I can't say enough good things about this organization; I wish some donor would give them $1,000,000,000 to counteract all of the threats which face this park.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

The adk is an institution devoted to the preservation of open public lands for use by citizens today and future generations. Being a member not only gets you discounts on stays but also provides newsletters, resources to improve your paddling and back country skills, and offers classes. They lobby against hydro tracking, acid rain producing coal pollution in the mid west, and the deforestation of new Yorkshire forest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

ADK is a great group for people interested in the outdoors and the beautiful mountains in the Adirondacks and around the world. They have wonderful excursions from the Adirondack lakes to overseas. I went on a great paddle to Low's Lake in the Adirondacks and to a wonderful 10 day hike in Norway. Both extremely reasonable. They also do trail work here in New York in the Adirondacks and Catskills and encourage young people to get outdoors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers