Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

ADK is a wonderful organization with the interest of making the Adirondacks available to all who want to enjoy its splendor. They offer many programs, group activities and provide faculties to make access possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Hands-on concrete service makes this club more meaningful to me than a group that is mainly interested in legal policy and politics. Simple good natured interpersonal help in canoeing, hiking, photography, how to information on day packing, trips, eating, and cautions taught by fellow local members in a welcoming manner makes this club superior for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

A wilderness lodge - John's Brook Lodge - brings a new meaning to enjoying the trails in the Adirondacks. A long weekend planned, friends from a New Jersey hiking club ventured to the Haystacks, Marcy, Yarde, and Big Slide to begin the process of hikig the 46'ers. The trek into the lodge form the Garden Parking lot is a beautiful walk and the perfect setting for the beginning of this experience. With a number of ppular trailheads leading in all directions, one has the option to hike or just hang out at the lodge and cool your feet in the brook. The ADK runs a ship-shape lodge with experienced staff and eco-friendly services. A jewel not to be missed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Adirondack Mountain Club has long played the role of Educator, Steward and Supporter of Hikers and Paddlers in the Northeast. It has been the champion of caring for the environment and using the mountains, lakes and rivers of this area with concern for generations to come. The club has been instrumental in helping pass legislation to that end. I've been involved with the club for over 40 years and have reaped the benefits of their work and will continue to be a supporter as long as i can so that others may as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

To me the outdoors is the last frontier. We need to preserve it and enjoy it. The more we respect this great resource the more we will get back. The ADK has a passion for the environment and nature. I'm a firm believer in their mission statement - The Adirondack Mountain Club (ADK) is dedicated to the protection and responsible recreational use of the New York State Forest Preserve, and other parks, wild lands, and waters vital to our members and chapters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I love the ADK and rely heavily on the facilities and information offered. My drug of choice is hiking in the Adirondack Mountains and frequently stay at the Adirondack Loj and the Johns Brook Lodge. The ADK website along with the High Peaks Information Center at the Loj are essential sources of information regarding trail conditions. More than once these resources proved invaluable in deciding the appropriate gear to pack and trails to hike.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I have been an ADK member for at least 30 years. I have learned so much from other members and the club postings. They help me keep up with the latest environmental issues in my area in addition to keeping me healthy from hiking or canoeing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I am a donor and volunteer for the ADK. I donate on top of my membership fees and in 2011 also participated in the ididaride, a 75-mile fundraising road bike ride in the central Adirondacks. I have to admit I was a bit worried about completing the tour, but wound up doing fine, thanks to 4 well-stocked rest stops along the way and lots of encouragement from everyone involved. I have also stayed at Adirondack Loj and Johns Brook Lodge, ADK's flagship lodging options in the High Peaks area, both of which provide a good base camp for hiking nearby 46'ers and other points of interest. My volunteer work for ADK has been representing the organization at EMS Club Days for the past several years. Laurie Schweighardt and Deb Zack have kept me well-stocked with brochures, signage and give-aways, including reusable cloth shopping bags, and I really enjoy doing this. The ADK is just a great organization with great employees and vision!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

ADK provides an invaluable service in providing for the protection of wild lands in the Adirondack mountain preserve, as well as serving as a model for other organizations of this type. I have utilized their educational programs, vacationed at their lodgings, had transcendental experiences in the protected wilds, and have learned to be a better advocate for my own community and environment. I imagine that I will be a life-long member of ADK.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Joining the ADK was one of the best decisions I ever made. I have had the opportunity to meet some amazing people and make lifelong friends, learn responsible recreation as well as useful survival skills, and be part of a group who make a difference in the environment. As a volunteer trip leader, I have been able to inspire other members with the power of the outdoors, teach outdoor skills to new hikers, and improve on my own leadership skills. My membership and interactions with ADK have been life-changing and have led to my rewarding career in wilderness therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers