Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Since I have been a child, I have enjoyed trips to the Adirondacks to camp, canoe, relax, enjoy the beauty of nature, and especially to climb the mountains there, especially the High Peaks. The Adirondack Mountain Club has insured good stewardship of the Adirondacks, promoted education, maintained the many trails that thousands use yearly, and advocated at the governmental level for structures, policies, and laws to preserve and even improve the Adirondacks for my generation and generations to come. they have worked with many groups purchase more and more land to be forever wild. As a hiker, I greatly appreciate all that they do to facilitate the ability to climb the many mountains of the Adirondacks and enjoy the physical challenges and the amazing views that one experiences by climbing an Adirondack mountain. This is a fine organization that I am happy to support.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

In 2010 I saw what other organizations were doing for the Virgin islands National Park and guided ADK to initiating a program of volunteering in the Park in 2011. We were able to field a force of 20 persons ,maximum size permitted, and we did trail work and were introduced to the island of St John. it was a success and was followed in 2012 with another trip. ADK organized the volunteers , made sure we were fed and housed and we produced a trail project that is lasting and an addition to the park experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have been an active member of ADK, Mid-Hudson Chapter for over 30 years. I've hiked, kayaked, held various Chapter offices anyoud worked on trails in the Catskills, and maintained a section of of AT. Wonderful experience. You get to meet and work with some great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have been active in the Adirondack Mountain Club for years. I eventually became a volunteer after seeing all the positive time and energy the club spends on conservation, stewardship, environmental education and the like. I personally serve as Education Chair of my local chapter and have been rewarded ten times over by the response of youngsters being introduced to hiking, Leave No Trace, nature identification and appreciation via activities I have led and sponsorships to environmental camps and trail maintenance internships that I have been able to connect youth with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

As a member of the ADK I have been on hikes and a vacation trip to St. Johns in the American Virgin Islands. THe hikes are good, especially with the rating system if you have limitations. The trip to St. Johns was the trip of a lifetime because of superb organizers and participants. We are moving back to the Adirondacks hoping to take advantage of more outings. I highly recomend the ADK for their diligence in safety and education. Thanks ADK for getting us out more!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

For about 30 years I have volunteered in various capacities with the ADK. As a trip leader for over 10 years in the Johns Brook valley I was always given clear direction, great support, and the freedom to make the decisions I needed as the on-scene leader. As a campground host I was always treated with the same kind of courtesy. In these endeavors over this long time, I feel that these opportunities have had positive impacts on hundreds of people in their appreciation for wilderness and both its fragility and beauty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Adirondack Mountain Club, Inc. through education and environmental advocacy helps protect the largest park in the United States. I have personally helped as a lean-to steward and trail maintenance volunteer. I stay in the clubs lodging facilities and have hiked extensively in the high peaks of the region. I have canoed the waterways and swum in the rivers and lakes. I can think of no other organization I'd rather contribute my time and money too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

On one hike they really impressed me with how much they do to maintain the environment. One gentlman gave us tips on trail closings following hurricane Irene. Another checked our food storage container. We saw a work group on the trail. Not only in the ADK's, their interest extends to oil "fracking", the Catskill's, Canoers, and more. They offer diverse programs for overseas excursions, ADK education, and general wilderness training to name a few. They are active in goverment lobies. They maintain and improve trails for the volume of people treking through NY's forests. Overall, one of the better to belong to!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Too many ways to say. From Low's lake, Oswagatchie River, to the High Peaks, to the Catskills. After Irene, they have done a tremendous job cleaning up with very limited resources. The county can doo just soo much. Heart lake is a nice place. The interior stations were always well maintained.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like all things, these days, I would give them more money. I can't but they do indeed use it wisely...maybe our government could learn this?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Hmmm.... I do not know. I think I always knew about them, once I had asked. (My uncle took me up to climb Mt Marcy as a child of 6 or so.) 'Corse, we drove a long ways down what is now closed road. Before then, my memory is a bit hazy, but, I believe my father told me when I was younger than that...how much? Well, I don't know.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I maintain two sections of the ADK trail from Spruce Pond to Tinker Falls. It is a very popular, frequently hiked trail as there is a spectacular view from Jones [hang glider] hill as well as the Falls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have always admired the ADK's dedication to issues in the Adirondacks and Catskills. Whether it as been trail maintenance. legal battles to retain the Preserves in both areas, or simple providing low cost venues for hikers, The ADK has been a leader among environmental groups that support the Adirondacks. While I am not in the area to volunteer that much i do try to support the club as much as possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers