Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

My first hiking trips into the mountains in Upstate NY called the Adirondacks were on trails maintained by the Adirondack Mountain Club, from parking lots maintained by the Club, and lodges owned and maintained by the club. It was these trips that fuelled by passion for the mountains and led to great mountaineering adventures in Alaska and The Cascades. Since then I've returned to the Adirondack Mountains with a renewed appreciation for everything the ADK has done and look forward to introducing a new generation of yougsters to the magical inspiration that can be found there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

I am a member and Membership Chair for my local chapter. It is a wonderful organization not only because of all the environmental causes that it supports but for the people I have met over the years through this organization-can not say enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

We are relatively new members of the Adirondack Mountain Club. We have taken an educational course and participated in guided groups climbing the high peaks. The instructors and guides to be extremely knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. The facilities are clean and welcoming. The Adirondack Mountain Club makes available many supplies and resources for both the classes and climbs. We look forward to further trips and programs with the Adirondack Mountain Club. This organization is an asset to the enjoyment and preservation of the Adirondack Mountains.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I've been a member of ADK for almost two years. Since I am a college student, it's difficult for me to find time to participate in a large number of ADK's events, but I read their newsletters faithfully and have found that they consistently offer a wide range of activities. I've only ever had good experiences when I have interacted with ADK, and plan on staying a member for life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

Great cause, super communication and excellent execution. after decades of involvement, I continue to be so impressed, I became a life member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've had an impact on the quality of experiences others have in the back country of the Adirondacks.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

superb (and fit!).

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

The Adirondac Mountain Club aka "ADK" is a terrific member driven organization which has for the better part of a century has organized and enabled recreational opportunities and conservation projects throughout the Adirondack Mountains of New York and the New York State as a whole. It has been able to continue its excellent work and grow due to its unique organization in which dues are shared with it's local chapters. Approximately 40 cents of every dollar raised from dues is shared in this way - allowing local chapters to publish their own outing schedule and undertake their own local activities such as maintaining trials in a number of local state parks and preserves as well as supporting the main chapter conservation projects and maintaining club's properties in the High Peaks area of the Adirondack Mountains.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

ADK works incredibly hard to maintain the beauty, integrity and eco-system of the Adirondacks through: extensive volunteer activities, including trail and shelter maintenance and many group leisure outdoor activities; education, especially for citizens and public officials who are not acquainted with the full story behind proposed legislation that could adversely affect the region; youth and adult programs: and exceptional publications. But beyond these outreach activities, ADK is a personal, warm and friendly organization dedicated to assisting everyone to enjoy the treasure that is the Adirondacks,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

The people who maintain the trails, the ADK lodge, and all the ADK voulunteers have contributed greatly to my "peak" experiences hiking in the Adirondacks. Ryan Doyle, whose title I believe is ADK Education Prgram Director, deserves special mention. After my first hike with him in a group up Esther and Whiteface one beautiful aumumn day, I went on to hike many more peaks, including several in the winter. In the midst of this, "life" was happening back at home, and looking forward to hiking with Ryan in a group helped me maintain motivation to deal with my family challenges. Ryan Doyle fits the spirit of the mountains as I found them; he has helped me keep my awe of them alive, as well as my desire to experience them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I have been a member of ADK for many years and involved in its leadership for several. This is a unique organization in many ways,not the least of which is that it is member directed. It has been able to blend its roles of environmental education and advocacy with an extensive program involving members in recreational and volunteer work projects. Over the years, I have been able to participate in activities as diverse as canoe outings, trail building and outdoor eduacation programs for local school children. ADK has a network of chapters thoughout the state who further its goals through involvement in issues relevant to their particular area. The organization also maintains two lodges in the Adirondacks where it helps the public enjoy their public lands in a safe and environmently friendly way. We try to teach by doing; maintaining trails, supporting our "summit steward"program or promoting green technology at our own property. In short, ADK is a great organization for people who love the outdoors and are concerned with its preservation to work with other people to achieve these goals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

ADK is the bedrock of Adirondack environmental preservation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers