Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Actors Theatre is unique in that they are a professional company that does plays that you wouldn't necessarily call mainstream. Phoenix doesn't have anything like that and it desperately needs it. I could tell you how personally their productions have moved me to tears ("OPUS" and "NEXT FALL" come very quickly to mind), made me laugh while thinking ("BOOM!"), or just laugh ("FOX ON THE FAIRWAY"), but what I would rather tell you is that AT gives to Phoenix far more than it takes. It is my strongest hope that they are able to stay around for a long long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know enough about their infrastructure to comment, but I think they have made significant changes to get back running....I would make sure they had the funds to find a permanent home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Actors Theatre is THE professional theatre in Phoenix and in fact the entire state. It features local actors in challenging plays that investigate the human condition in entertaining ways not approached by any other theatre company in the state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Their staff and the direction in which they are heading needs no important changes. But I would Help them in the quest to find a new and permanent performance complex for their superb work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Actors Theatre is THE unique theatre in Phoenix and is the only company that produces cutting edge plays that amuse, provoke, educate, and, in general, takes audiences to a higher level. The sad thing is that local and national Arts support is dwindling and ATP was one of the earlier casualties due, in large part, to the fact that they don’t do standard “crowd pleasers” but, rather present challenging, Broadway quality productions. My wife & I have been financial, technical, and production supporters for a number years and only wish that more people that appreciate quality would get on board as well. Phoenix can ill afford to lose a company of this quality and integrity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Actors Theatre provides the very best in locally produced, live theatre which is compelling, insightful, moving and engaging. The audiences see this aspect of what makes Actors Theatre outstanding each and every time. What the audience doesn't see is that which keeps Actors Theatre at the forefront of the community of LOCAL actors, designers, technicians and production personnel who have the great pleasure of working with and for the company. For 25+ years, AT has maintained the commitment to source LOCAL before it was a trend by hiring LOCAL actors, designers, technicians and production personnel and buying LOCAL products and services. By valuing human resources at the LOCAL level, the benefit to the community goes beyond what the audiences experiences. These aspects of greatness, in tandem, provide an invaluable asset to the Metro Phoenix non-profit arts community. As a patron, donor and theatre professional, my support for Actors Theatre is forever longstanding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have attended theatre for many years in Chicago and in the Phoenix area. I am delighted to say I have never in years of attending Actors Theatre been disappointed. No exception when last Sunday I attended "Steady Rain" and found this two man play compelling and heartwarming. The love and respect these two characters held for each other in life was unparalleled and as different as these men are, they are bonded as brothers. Fine performances by both actors and the continuing good work of Actors Theatre.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a patron, donor and volunteer for Actors Theatre, I support their endeavor wholeheartedly. I find the selection of plays unusual, interesting, sometimes pretty edgy, and always thought-provoking, as well as entertaining. I know when I head to an Actors Theatre production that I will come away with something to ponder, and a new appreciation for their directors and actors who always do thoroughly professional, wonderful work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish they could do more shows in the year, have their own space, and additional staff to add to their level of creativity and programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

All too often, we see non-profits and community-based organizations succumb to the pressures of doing business and the economy, even in spite of their talent, vision and mission to serve that community. Rarely do we see the leadership of an organization look inward to make drastic changes in order to reinvent themselves to better serve their community. But that is exactly what Actors Theatre has done. By initiating a pause, the organization's leadership of Matthew Wiener and Erica Black took a huge step back to look at every aspect of the organization, and sometimes with great pain, making huge changes to stabilize the organization for its future.

As we see Actors Theatre emerge from this pause, the community of metro Phoenix is seeing just how brilliant these efforts are. The Actors Theatre stage is once again the center of attention with the performance of A Steady Rain (by Keith Huff and directed by Anthony Runfels). With an appropriate parallel to the organization itself, the stage set is minimal, containing only what is needed to support the incredible script. And, as the name "Actors Theatre" suggests, the actors are the theater.

Actors Theatre is truly the most powerful theatre in Phoenix.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... remove much of the business and financial pressures so that the talent, both on the stage and within the organization could continue what it does best - powerfully entertaining and talk-provoking theatre.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Actors Theatre is a truely unique non-profit theatre in Phoenix. It is the only professional theatre dedicated to producing first-class contemporary plays that address important social issues. My wife and I moved to Phoenix in 1994, became subscribers almost immediately and have been subscribers ever since. We've also become financial supporters and vocal advocates. Last year the economy hit Actors Theatre hard, but rather than fold as so many theatres did, it decided to "pause" and regroup. During this "pause," I along with many others felt so strongly that Actors Theatre must survive that we volunteered to help in any way we could, and we're all glad we did. The economy is now slowly regaining strength and Actors Theatre has recently been able to kick-off its 2013-14 season with A STEADY RAIN. Thankfully there's light ahead for Actors Theatre because it is a key, unmatched component of Phoenix's arts community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Market more broadly to like-minded theatre-goers through Actors Theatre existing base of attendees and financial supporters. Actors Theatre is not yet well enough known.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This is an amazing company giving the audience a great experience on a limited budget. They have an incredible amount of passion for what they do and it shows in the product that is delivered.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been an active board member, audience member and donor for 26 years. Actors Theatre has provided a powerful avenue through which I can see the world around us in an artistic manner. Over the years, in addition to being well entertained, I have left many performances with a need to discuss the issues presented by their "talk provoking" productions. I believe Actors Theatre fills a need in our community by this type of representation. Where else can one escape, yet not lose sight of the problems, issues, joys and sorrow around us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have Actors Theatre realize their vision of being in their own space which would also provide a vibrant destination for community activities on a daily basis. This would enable Actors Theatre to reach their potential as a cornerstone of cultural arts for all to share.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers