Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.906985
Write A Review
July 7, 2013

more

July 7, 2013

My name is Jonimae and Actors and Others for Animals helped me spayed and neutered both my dogs Jojo and Lulu. Without their help, it would take me a long time to get them neutered/spayed and I would probably have to give up my Jojo who I rescued from the street.
I am more at ease knowing that
the two dogs will live a healthier life. The clinic that they sent me (pet doctors of industry) was an awesome clinic.

Thank you much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

my name is jamie stanton and i have a cat that is 9 years of age. she is very important to me and my family and she for the first time has gotten sick and i have not got the funds at all to help her. i then searched the internet and found actors and others and filled out the application. within not even an hour they called me and set me up a place to take my kitty and then payed for her visit and so much more and it is something that i never thought could happen. i am so grateful for them and all the people who have donated their time money and efforts to help the animals that need it and the people that own the pets. They are great people and i hope to help them out in the same way they helped me and my pet in the future. thank u actors and others

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I am disabled and my service dog and I were working with children in orphanages in Mexico, when she fell off the bed and broke her leg, which apparently was quite serious and needed an operation. The operation needed to be done sooner then later or they could have to amputate the leg. We flew back to Los Angeles right away, where we met with my vet, who confirmed the seriousness of the injury. The vet recommended a specialist, who quoted $6000 for the operation. As with most people, money is an issue and I looked for someone less expensive but the average price was $4000. Finally a friend told me of a vet in Idaho, who was the best at this surgery but it was a 14 hour drive. Armed with determination, I drove the 14 hours and had a successful surgery for about $2000. It was then that I remembered Actors and Others for Animals from years ago when I witnessed a dog hit by a car and received financial aid from them. I went on line and shared my story and within 48 hours I received a personal telephone call from a representative who said to me, "Did you really drive 14 hours to a vet?" I replied, "Yes" as I was not able to afford the vet in Los Angeles. Amazed by my determination, Actors & Others for Animals came through again and helped with with the vet bill. I can't speak HIGHLY enough of this organization and what they do for those who are subject to such high vet prices only so that they can keep those that they love, our pets, alive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have to say that Actors in Other's surpassed my expectations than many when asking for help in a situation where I had almost given up. I contacted them on a Saturday after going to the Humane Society who surprisingly was very expensive for surgery and meds for my mom's dog Precious. . I received a call early Monday morning from Beverly who was so compassionate and understanding she quickly gave me another veterinarian for a second opinion & assured me their prices were very reasonable. Before I can even secure an appointment for the surgery Beverly had already got her very kind donors to provide me with $309 dollars for the surgery which was greatly appreciated by my entire family and precious siblings. Thank you actors & o from the bottom of our hearts♥♥♥♥♥! ( so sorry about resubmitting this, your website is a challenge on a mobile phone!)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I'm a psychologist/artist used to helping other people. However, after I was partially downsized, chronically ill and my employer dumped all of my benefits including health insurance, I was the one who needed to reach out for help. I have a 16 yo rescue dog with bad liver values. Cookie needed an expensive liver ultrasound. This group helped fund the cost for this diagnostic procedure. Actors and Others came through for Cookie when I really didn't think anyone would! This may seem silly, but this dog is my BFF. Sometimes, pets are the best therapy. Sometimes, agencies like A and O are invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2012

Bless ALL of the people who have donated to this organization. It's so important to help those who otherwise couldn't afford to help their pets. My dog, Toby, got sick and I couldn't afford to take him to a vet. He was 11, and I'd had him since he was a pup. It was killing me that he was suffering and I couldn't afford to do anything about it. I was helpless, distraught, truly tortured by his pain. Finally I realized that I would have to try to give him up, to someone who could afford to care for him. I started calling for advice, looking for some humanitarian group who might be able to help my poor animal in his time of pain and crisis. Actors and Others for Animals stepped right up to help. They paid for a vet to evaluate him, and for a shot, his last chance. The drugs gave him one last good week of life, for which we'll always be grateful. Finally, when it was time, they saw to the cost of euthanization and disposal. I can't say enough how important their help was. It was truly life changing. I was so stressed that I almost collapsed when I heard the reassuring voice on the phone that I could take him to a vet and they would cover the costs. On top of it all, the vet they referred me to was so good, that I've already been sending him clients. Great service, great organization, great people. Thank you SO MUCH!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

In June 2012, I contacted Actors & Others for Animals when my twelve year old dog Duste needed to have his teeth cleaned. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income, and I live alone with my dog who had bladder stones removed the month before. I was told that his urinary tract infection may have led to the stone formation, and that teeth in need of cleaning can be a source of this infection. Having no other resources, I reached out, and thanks to their willingness to help, I was able to have the teeth cleaning done. Duste's teeth look healthy now, and he is able to chew more easily. I thank Actors & Others for Animals for their dedication to the welfare of animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

I feed, vaccinate and take care of anyone's pet that needs it. Including spaying/neutering. I normally only have one or 2 animals fixed at a time, so, I don't ask for financial assistance because I go to the local humane society because they don't cost as much. This time I'm fixing 7 dogs at a time and I'll be fixing a cat in the near future. I had all the dates set, but I just didn't think I could do the nearly $600 it was going to cost. That included surgery, rabies shot and expected extra costs for one of them. I of course cannot administer rabies because that has to be done by a licensed veterinarian. Anyway, I just didn't think June would be a month I could afford it and called to reschedule the appts. and the receptionist suggested three charities that could help. I figured if I could just get $10 per dog from each charity I'd cut my cost in half. So, I emailed actors and others and then called Monday because I know they've got to be swamped all the time, most animal organizations are, and the lady I spoke to was very nice. I didn't give her a chance to offer more than $10 per dog and she was nice to give it to me. Later the same day Beverly called me in response to my email and I told her I'd already spoke to someone and she'd pledge $10 per dog for me. Beverly and I argued for a few minutes about why I wasn't asking for more than that since they weren't my own pets and because on top of their medical needs I typically take care of daily needs for these animals. In the end she pledged $30 per dog. I could't believe! I told her starting in July I will return the favor by setting up a monthly donation of my own.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

We had just lost our home to foreclosure and we have a cat who has diabetes that was raging out of control. We spent every dime we had on her, and we maxed out every form of credit we could get our hands on, but her hospitalization and treatment added up very quickly. We asked all the cat sanctuaries and one of their first recommendations was Actors and Others. I contacted them and got a response almost immediately, and the women I spoke to were kind, understanding, and reassuring when I was panicking. They sent me to a wonderful vet who I will always bring my cat to, and they gave us hope and support when we needed it most. Thank god for organizations like Actors and Others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

The woman I just spoke to was very rude and not helpful when I told her there was a cat in need that had been abandoned by it's owner. She said it was my responsibility to NOT take it to the animal shelter, and then she hung up on me! Sorry, but that is not charity for me! I had called to help this cat, to see if there was any other way other than the shelter. Maybe she was having a very bad day, but it looks bad for their "charity." If they are not helping the public like me, then where is their money going?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire the woman who answered the phone and replace her with someone that actually cares!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

through a work colleague

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers