Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.897445
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I'm a psychologist/artist used to helping other people. However, after I was partially downsized, chronically ill and my employer dumped all of my benefits including health insurance, I was the one who needed to reach out for help. I have a 16 yo rescue dog with bad liver values. Cookie needed an expensive liver ultrasound. This group helped fund the cost for this diagnostic procedure. Actors and Others came through for Cookie when I really didn't think anyone would! This may seem silly, but this dog is my BFF. Sometimes, pets are the best therapy. Sometimes, agencies like A and O are invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2012

Bless ALL of the people who have donated to this organization. It's so important to help those who otherwise couldn't afford to help their pets. My dog, Toby, got sick and I couldn't afford to take him to a vet. He was 11, and I'd had him since he was a pup. It was killing me that he was suffering and I couldn't afford to do anything about it. I was helpless, distraught, truly tortured by his pain. Finally I realized that I would have to try to give him up, to someone who could afford to care for him. I started calling for advice, looking for some humanitarian group who might be able to help my poor animal in his time of pain and crisis. Actors and Others for Animals stepped right up to help. They paid for a vet to evaluate him, and for a shot, his last chance. The drugs gave him one last good week of life, for which we'll always be grateful. Finally, when it was time, they saw to the cost of euthanization and disposal. I can't say enough how important their help was. It was truly life changing. I was so stressed that I almost collapsed when I heard the reassuring voice on the phone that I could take him to a vet and they would cover the costs. On top of it all, the vet they referred me to was so good, that I've already been sending him clients. Great service, great organization, great people. Thank you SO MUCH!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

In June 2012, I contacted Actors & Others for Animals when my twelve year old dog Duste needed to have his teeth cleaned. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income, and I live alone with my dog who had bladder stones removed the month before. I was told that his urinary tract infection may have led to the stone formation, and that teeth in need of cleaning can be a source of this infection. Having no other resources, I reached out, and thanks to their willingness to help, I was able to have the teeth cleaning done. Duste's teeth look healthy now, and he is able to chew more easily. I thank Actors & Others for Animals for their dedication to the welfare of animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

I feed, vaccinate and take care of anyone's pet that needs it. Including spaying/neutering. I normally only have one or 2 animals fixed at a time, so, I don't ask for financial assistance because I go to the local humane society because they don't cost as much. This time I'm fixing 7 dogs at a time and I'll be fixing a cat in the near future. I had all the dates set, but I just didn't think I could do the nearly $600 it was going to cost. That included surgery, rabies shot and expected extra costs for one of them. I of course cannot administer rabies because that has to be done by a licensed veterinarian. Anyway, I just didn't think June would be a month I could afford it and called to reschedule the appts. and the receptionist suggested three charities that could help. I figured if I could just get $10 per dog from each charity I'd cut my cost in half. So, I emailed actors and others and then called Monday because I know they've got to be swamped all the time, most animal organizations are, and the lady I spoke to was very nice. I didn't give her a chance to offer more than $10 per dog and she was nice to give it to me. Later the same day Beverly called me in response to my email and I told her I'd already spoke to someone and she'd pledge $10 per dog for me. Beverly and I argued for a few minutes about why I wasn't asking for more than that since they weren't my own pets and because on top of their medical needs I typically take care of daily needs for these animals. In the end she pledged $30 per dog. I could't believe! I told her starting in July I will return the favor by setting up a monthly donation of my own.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

We had just lost our home to foreclosure and we have a cat who has diabetes that was raging out of control. We spent every dime we had on her, and we maxed out every form of credit we could get our hands on, but her hospitalization and treatment added up very quickly. We asked all the cat sanctuaries and one of their first recommendations was Actors and Others. I contacted them and got a response almost immediately, and the women I spoke to were kind, understanding, and reassuring when I was panicking. They sent me to a wonderful vet who I will always bring my cat to, and they gave us hope and support when we needed it most. Thank god for organizations like Actors and Others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

The woman I just spoke to was very rude and not helpful when I told her there was a cat in need that had been abandoned by it's owner. She said it was my responsibility to NOT take it to the animal shelter, and then she hung up on me! Sorry, but that is not charity for me! I had called to help this cat, to see if there was any other way other than the shelter. Maybe she was having a very bad day, but it looks bad for their "charity." If they are not helping the public like me, then where is their money going?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire the woman who answered the phone and replace her with someone that actually cares!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

through a work colleague

September 8, 2011

more

September 8, 2011

I am disabled, and live on a very limited income. My apartment was flooded by my upstairs neighbor and my companion pet, got VERY sick. He is my best friend, the only other I speak to on a regular basis. My illness confines me to my room, from a brain injury that occured from chemo therapy many years ago,I am AGORAPHOBIC. When my unusual companion, an Umbrella Cockatoo needed medical help, I reached out to Actors and Others for Animals. They made many calls on our behalf, and found a vet and technician to come to our room to help him. He had gotten a fungal infection in his lungs from the mold after the flood...Without their help, TUTU woiuld have died! I could not help him, I could barely speak and going outside almost impossible, but I did for TU!
Actors and others for Animals helped financially as well as with their continued support I recieve from them, There are no words that can express what my heart feels.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Financial aide, resources, and veterinary care for my companion Umbrella Cockatoo,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that they could have done better than they did. They were caring and helpful . Their services were avaliable within hours of my first e-mail..

September 3, 2011

more

September 3, 2011

they were very responsive and prompt in helping out with a major surgery expense on one of my pets. There help financially softened the blow for myself and allowed my special pet to be herself finally. Thank you so much Actors and others for your caring and generous donation towards the surgery, it is greatly appreciated. Dennis

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting my pet the help she needed to get surgery

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything

August 31, 2011

more

August 31, 2011

Over the years, I have personally hosted several presentations offered by this organization at my library. By incorporating an entertaining educational approach, a representative shares with children information about dogs, cats and safety around animals. Audience members come away with life-saving information. For example, children learn safety tips when approaching strange dogs. I recommend this presentation for any organization committed to educating the public about proper pet care and safety.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the responses of audience members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions at this time.

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

Thank you Actors and Others for Animals for 40 years of advocacy for animals! You provide guidance, resources, financial aid for low-income animal lovers, humane education for youth and coordinate pet therapy animals into care facilities where a wagging tail and a few woofs provide valuable comfort. You have greatly helped my efforts for Trap, Neuter and Release of feral cats throughout the years.
My Mother, Dr. Joyce Miller and I have many times benefited from the support and guidance of your wonderful office staff. We believe in Actors and Others for Animals- so much so we have helped raise funds for your continuous efforts for many years.
You recently launched www.spaycalifornia.org which supplies a state-wide referral network/database that provides low cost spay/neuter info - you are always on the front lines.
There are a lot of grateful animals and their humans who send woofs and meows in praise of Actors and Others for Animals!

Page Miller and Dr. Joyce Miller

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Guidance and support with feral cat Trap, Neuter and Release projects and the rescue of various animals throughout many years. We have referred many people to them for aid and information.They have also supported my efforts to raise supplies to be donated to many rescue groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more visability and funding.Tell the political leadership of Los Angeles to speak with Exec. Director Sue Taylor when assessing the animal welfare system and its many challenges in Los Angeles. Her insight and assessment is invaluable. It is important to listen to the right people and she is one of them.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers