Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.605635
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in mission work for many years on the Indian subcontinent, and Activated Ministries has provided funding for a number of tremendous projects that are impacting the lives of young people and children.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

AM is a spinoff of or front for the high demand religious group / cult The Children of God / The Family International. As such, any support offered them directly or indirectly helps the COG. Tom Hack is /was a longtime leader of the COG/ TFI. He has never distanced himself from the group or it's abusive beliefs and practices. Donors should be aware of this connection and proceed accordingly. A quick google of the COG TFI will give anyone interested plenty of background information.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When someone has been hurt or offended somehow, I think the person or the organization should take the initiative and respond accordingly. Instead, they have communicated with some of their beneficiaries in order to get positive feedback. Very insidious, it is a complete whitewash cover up and shows that this organization has a very low social responsibility level.
The truth is that Activated Ministries and their recipients abroad are all members of the ‘Children of God’, a.k.a ‘The Family International, TFI. The group has lost most of its people as well as its initial thrust as a religious movement, today being no more than a couple thousand members. All that was due to several failing restructuring moves, power distance with leaders and members and lack of founders’ communication with its people.
Activated Ministries operates as a private company, they collect and distribute some sporadic help to their colleagues in some countries, mostly in kind, books and DVDs. However, the issue at stake is the fact this individuals go around with brochures and newsletters portraying pictures from this irregular events, approaching donors and fundraising for their own expenses, all the while holding a high standard of living and creating a vague and fake ‘missionary life style’.
Lots of the parents from the generation that join the group had several children, and some of them live abroad begging with their brochures and books, or are found into inconsequential ‘peripheral activities’ like clowning, restaurant singing, event management or even belly dancing. Is this the future you want or your kids? Does it seem like the religion you want to help support? Well, as for me and my family, no sir.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In 1972, when I was 16, I was deceived and manipulated into joining the cult, the Children of God, which later became known as The Family International. In 1991, I escaped the group while living in Japan, returned to Canada and went on to earn a law degree. I am now a lawyer and a member of the Law Society of British Columbia. Activated Ministries is a front group to disguise the immoral, unethical and illegal activities of The Family International. I once lived with Activated Ministries CEO, Thomas Hack, in Japan, not long before I escaped that group. My personal experience with him was that he was a typically abusive and manipulative leader of The Family International. He played a direct role in abusing me personally and causing psychological harm that I still feel the effects of.

The group's mission statement claims that it helps improve the lives of those less fortunate, but that is a deception. Based on my own experiences, I can tell you that the group skims the best of donated goods for their own use, committing charity fraud where ever it operates. The group also forges legal documents such as passports and university degrees, financially and spiritually exploits their own children, indoctrinates and denies them their basic human rights, deceives outsiders as to their true intentions, illegally proselytizes in countries where that is illegal, and engages in many other unethical behaviours. The group's misleading mission statement does not reveal that a great many families have been broken and many lives ruined by involvement with this organization. Do not donate to this group. Your money will not be received by or used to help those who are most needy, but will be used to deceive and harm many more people. For more information or contact info google my name, Perry Bulwer

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers