Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.967745
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I donated food over the years to ACTS, and our business closes its doors one day in November volunteers each year for Operation Turkey. Until I joined the board I didn't fully understand the tremendous scope of services and support ACTS provides- not just to Eastern Prince William but the entire Prince William County community. Often known for the food pantry, ACTS does so much more. ACTS provides services for battered women and men, advocacy for those victimized by sexual assault and Helpline for those contemplating suicide, or seniors that enjoy a friendly telephone call each day. ACTS reaches out in a powerful way to those in crisis. ACTS is more than just a hand out - ACTS provides support and case management to help individuals break negative patterns and cycles and empower people to move towards self-sufficiency. I believe that is one of the factors that sets ACTS apart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand the workforce training opportunities, so that clients will have expanded opportunities to receive training and enter the workforce - encouraging self-sufficiency and stability in thier lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The incredible work that ACTS does for this community is well known in other jurisdictions in Virginia as well. Living in one of these jurisdictions, I have always wanted to work for ACTS. From time to time, I would check on the internet for new job postings. My wishes finally came through last October when I proudly joined ACTS Turning Points to provide services for the large Hispanic Community of Prince William County and the cities of Manassas and Manassas Park, victims of domestic violence.

Although, the work that we do is extremely stressful at times: I enjoy working with such a great group of people.

Go ACTS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what we are doing to continue helping the community the way we do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived in Prince William County for better than 45 years. For as long as I can remember, ACTS Has been doing their thing, helping those members of the community down on their luck and in need of assistance. When I was a boy, I remember my mother working with ACTS through her church, St. Paul's United Methodist to lend a hand to folks in need. I still use recipes from my mother's 'What's Cooking at ACTS' cookbook, a joint effort between ACTS and the churches in the county. Over the years ACTS has helped, and continues to help countless thousands of county residents with direct food assistance, help paying utilities, job training and placement, thrift stores that provide needed gods at a discount as well as raise revenue for additional help, and I am certain, many other ways that I am not even aware of. ACTS has always been a savior for the county residents that need help the most. As our economy continues to struggle and employment remains scarce, the help and services provided by ACTS could not be more valuable. I salute the many employees and volunteers at ACTS that work selflessly to help their neighbors through these trying times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a stay home mom where I felt I was much needed and by staying home I saw my rewards through my daughter's success. She went off to college and I now needed to do something good for someone else and myself again. The ACTS Pantry has been so rewarding to me in so many ways...... helping others through their hard times, seeing them smile, feeling their appreciation, and meeting other volunteers that become your friends. Everyone at ACTS is so nice, hard working, and kind. It is a great organization and I so enjoy going to volunteer. That is rewarding and success to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is always an honor and joy to serve at ACTS through our church and scouting group. I've seen many lives changed and restored through this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked at ACTs for over 2 years. ACTs has a real impact in Eastern Prince William county. Each month our food pantry gives almost 49,000 pounds of food each month to near 2000 families. Our clients range the gambit of working folks living paycheck to paycheck, people who newly unemployed to seniors on fixed incomes. We also help families in need with gas, water and electric bills. These people tend to have an emergency that causes them to rob Peter to pay Paul, ie car breaks down and needs repair the money for electric bill goes to the repair.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More space in our pantry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ACTS is a great organization who's main purpose is to help those in need in the Prince William County area. My sister is part of image church and her church has done a lot to help ACTS. I once went on a mission with her church where we helped feed the homeless. It was a great experience for me and it helped to open my eyes to what is going on. This is a great organization and I have had a wonderful time volunteering here and it really makes me feel like I am helping and doing something good in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to this organization because I feel like they manage it quite well and they are very kind and caring people who run it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Both my grandmother and my sister have worked for ACTS, my grandmother as a volunteer and my sister as an employee. This is an old organization that has for a long time been an important part of the PWC community, providing both assistance and opportunity to people who are really struggling. It is particularly encouraging to see how much this organization has been expanding in recent years to include a broader range of services. The CNA training (certified nurse assistant) program is particularly exciting new program that helps low-income people get on their feet and earn the credentials they need to get a solid, well-paid job. It's so encouraging to see some social programs being expanded at a time when so many of them are being reduced and shut down nationally. In these hard economic times, programs such as ACTS are a vital lifeline of the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand even more! I hope that ACTS will continue to get the funding it needs to continue and expand its successful programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

AS a volunteer, I feel that ACTS really values our time and our desire to improve our community. My husband and I have been blessed to work with ACTS clients. When we do this, we see how ACTS programs are designed to improve the client's lives and help them gain self sufficiency. Volunteering with ACTS leaves us feeling closer together, more hopeful, grateful and full of joy. It is one of the best things we do together as a couple each month!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ACTS is an organization that seems committed to helping the community in Prince William County. Their emergency crisis line helps those who are suicidal or depressed with trained staff and volunteers who listen, soothe, encourage and give vital referrals. They provide a food bank, emergency shelter for families in domestic violence situations and so much more. I cannot think of a more deserving or impactful nonprofit in my area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sort food in our food pantry, or sort clothes in our Thrift Store warehouse Volunteer