Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.96975
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

I was a stay home mom where I felt I was much needed and by staying home I saw my rewards through my daughter's success. She went off to college and I now needed to do something good for someone else... more

September 26, 2014

I am a volunteer at ACTS Food Pantry and it has been so rewarding for me. I look forward to going on my scheduled days for so many reasons..... everyone is so nice, seeing the appreciation on the clients faces, knowing that you and the organization are helping so many people in need. The clients are truly grateful for what ACTS Food Pantry provides for them. This is a excellent organization and makes a great impact in peoples lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a stay home mom where I felt I was much needed and by staying home I saw my rewards through my daughter's success. She went off to college and I now needed to do something good for someone else and myself again. The ACTS Pantry has been so rewarding to me in so many ways...... helping others through their hard times, seeing them smile, feeling their appreciation, and meeting other volunteers that become your friends. Everyone at ACTS is so nice, hard working, and kind. It is a great organization and I so enjoy going to volunteer. That is rewarding and success to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

ACTS is an excellent organization that repeatedly strives to enhance the services offered to the community. Having been a staple of Prince William social services for 25+ years, they are well regarded by clients, donors and the community as a whole.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

ACTS has big impact within the county. There are so many programs that help people make it through a crisis. The Emergency Assistance section helps people with utility bills, food assistance or propane. There are 2 emergency shelters and thrift store that support Prince William County residents. Other programs range from a helpline to domestic violence shelters. Great place to volunteer.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014


As a volunteer Acts is an excellent organization to work. Most important is that all the people are friendly and they appreciate what you do. This is my second volunteer experience here and it is amazing. Everyone smiles at you, they say good morning and they thank you for the job you are
doing. They make you feel like even as a volunteer you are a member of a team.

It is also a place to start your career, they have full and part time jobs.

I would rate this organization as excellent in its goals for helping people, especially women.
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

ACTS is the best kept secret in Prince William County. The staff is so caring and kind. They continue to give of themselves to help those in need in our county. The Thrift Store in Dumfries is a great asset to the community. You can donate and shop for bargains knowing that all of the funds are used to support the various programs within ACTS. Thank you ACTS for all you do. Keep up the good work

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

The thrift store and shelter provide major benefits throughout the community, I have both donated and utilized these facilities on numerous occasions. I have also donated to the food pantry. So many volunteers and they are all delightful, helpful and caring. They are able to reach and help so many people in need. ACTS just had a book sale, with amazing deals throughout the day. I can't wait for this year's charity walk at National Harbor. I hope the supporters don't try to make this about themselves, and instead they allow ACTS to shine with all they have to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to make the restroom at the thrift store available so that a fitting room can be opened.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I moved to VA last year and after many unsuccessful attempts in volunteering with other local organizations I found ACTS through St. Matthew's Lutheran Church in Woodbridge. I called and was invited to start volunteering at the Food Panty right away. I volunteered there for months and continue to be amazed by the wonderful people who are employees of ACTS, generosity of the other volunteers, and the many different programs and individuals/families/groups throughout the community that ACTS helps on a day-to-day basis. I have now volunteered with ACTS in many different capacities for the past year and a half. I have been blessed with an internship in the Volunteer/Event Department during this summer between school semesters. I have also used many of the programs myself. It would be my hope and desire that everyone in the surrounding community gets to learn, contribute, and use the many wonderful programs and helpful services that ACTS has to offer! ACTS is quite an amazing non-profit organization and I am proud and totally dedicated to support their mission!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly add additional programs that could better meet the needs of the seniors in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

ACTS amazed me when I first started volunteering. I had never seen an organization supply so many resources to a community in one place. It is a one-stop-shop for many of our neighbors in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

The services prided by ACTS staff and volunteers help thousands of individuals every year. I personally know that as a volunteer I am making a difference in a persons life. So few non-profits put their clients first and ACTS always does what is needed to help those in need in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them the funding that is needed to help even more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

ACTS has helped our community stay fed, clothed, housed, and safe for over 40 years!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sort food in our food pantry, or sort clothes in our Thrift Store warehouse Volunteer