Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

I came in with my mom for Medicare help and the services that were provided to my mother were amazing! The woman that helped us was kind and patient as my mother could not hear very well. The woman also told us about computer classes that were offered there and we are going to look into that also. I don't know what we would have done without Action for Older Persons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

AOP is a local non profit offering numerous services for older people. Their staff is knowledgable, kind and courteous and always willing to go the extra mile to help any individual that comes to them for help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

After retiring, I decided I had the time to do some volunteer work. After looking at many possiblities, I decided to become involved with AOP through their long term care ombudman program. I found the work force at AOP to be a wealth of knowledge regarding the needs of the aging population. They are caring, polite and make the process of difficult decision making and the filling out of confusing forms achievable. It is a great place to go and get the information and encouragement needed to help negotiate the trials that most of us will need to go through with our aging loved ones as well as ourselves. It is also a great place to do rewarding volunteer work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

I have been involved with AOP for several years, mainly with the Elder Friendly Program. All of the staff are very helpful, knowledgeable people who really care for their clients. I higly recommend these people. I often refer people with insurance questions or problems with learning to use the computer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

more

August 29, 2012

I have known of Action for Older Persons for over 20 years but involved personally for the past 15. The service they provide to our community is outstanding but seldom recognized. It is rare that you find an agency that provides our senior population and their families with unbaised information concerning health care insurances, provide advocacy for those in long term care facilities and all the other many services. Where else can you find staff that goes above and beyond and trains volunteers to carry out these many services. I am honored to have been a Board Member for over 10 years. As funding is decreasing all seniors and community members should support this agency by becoming a member of the agency and assure that it is able to continue its mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

AOP is a fine organization that offers services including counseling on Medicare choices, end-of-life issues, computer classes, etc. Many services and seminars are free. Donations and memberships are always welcome. I have been a volunteer in the HIICAP (Medicare choices) program for a number of years. I have heard many 'aha' moments when people said they finally understood their options. Being a volunteer in such a well-run program is a delight.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I have been volulnteering at AOP for 7 years in the Health Insurance Information and Counseling Program. Through this program I have the privelege of helping people navigate the complex issues of Mediciare and Supplemental health insurance coverage. We help hundreds of people every year by giving them objective, factual information to allow them to make the best possible choices for themselves.It is a pleasure to meet so many interesting people and feel a sense of satisfaction as they gain a better understanding of their options. The support and friendship of the staff and the interaction with the other volunteers at AOP make my volunteering well worth while.l

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

I have been part of this Board for 9 yrs...I am very passionate about the elderly so the services that are being offered through AOP are the best. Shelli Cordisco and her staff go above and beyond for everyone. I would encourage everyone to become a member so you can receive all of the perks that go with the memebrship.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Action for Older Person since September of 2011. I tutor people in the operation of their computers, evaluate businesses for the Elder Friendly program, and have just started counseling in the HIICAP Program. AOP fills many needs for the elder community. I saw the great value the personnel at AOP give to the community. I now volunteer at AOP to be another valuable resource to the community. Without volunteers AOP would not be able to touch as many people as they currently do. Most benefits at AOP are free to the elder comunity but every year state and federal funds are cut. I would encourage all people utilizing the resources at AOP to become a member. A membership can be as inexpensive as $25.00. As a member, you receive many benefits and help offset the operating costs that are not being covered by the state and federal funding. Volunteer some of your time to help. That time is valuable to the day to day operations of AOP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers