Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Acterra has been a tremendous partner in our neighborhood creekside habitat restoration project. We began clearing non-native plants from the San Francisquito Creek corridor and planting native species in 2010. Acterra has provided plants, tools and volunteers. This year Acterra received a grant to put even more time and resources into the project, and we're looking forward to doubling our efforts. This fall we will likely plant more than 1,000 native plants, benefitting both wildlife and the esthetics of our neighborhood. Thank you for all your support, Acterra!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

My interest in water conservation and native plants led me to Acterra. I attended a rain barrow installation workshop and was deeply impressed with their knowledge and dedication to the environment. Because of Acterra and their variety of events, I have learned not only about native plants and water conservation but also creek restoration, fish habitats, the importance of riparian zones, and creek water monitoring. I took on a leadership role in a local non-profit from my experience with Acterra. Their program model for restoration involves local community education. Much of my knowledge and experience of environmental issue was gained through Acterra's rich programs. Teaching our communities to be better stewards of our land will propels all of us to reach our environmental goals and reduce future problems with water and land use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Role out satellite organizations throughout the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I enjoy helping do habitat restoration at the Arastradero Preserve. Acterra makes it easy to volunteer, and coordinated and employs people with deep knowledge and passion about the ecology of the area. I feel as if I can come when I have time, and I can always leave feeling I've done something that will help restore the native habitat in a local park.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a greater variety of tasks available.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

It was amazing to learn all the invasive plants that are taking over the land for the native plants here! The directors explained everything well and answered any questions that any student had. Would definitely volunteer here again when i'm in the area!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

I really enjoyed the two sessions I attended to plant trees in the banks of the San Francisquito Creek! Also, the person who was in charge of Acterra's creek programs was very generous with his time to come to my summer camp to explain the San Francisquito Creek to a big group of kids. Unfortunately, shortly after that, he was laid off, and now I don't know who to contact at Acterra about their creek work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I volunteered on a Wednesday afternoon. The weather was great. I helped disperse the seeds of yarrow. Next, I removed tape from cardboard boxes. The group I volunteered with was big. I meet new and old friends. I like the experience of restoration habitat in a urban environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with Acterra both as a volunteer for the last 6 years and as a donor for the last 8 years. I have always been impressed with the expertise and good nature of the staff members and consider many of them to be good friends. I started as a volunteer with the Wednesday Weed Warrior program at Arastradero preserve in Palo Alto back when I was still working since it runs in the afternoon and fit well with my schedule. I have been retired for 3 years now, but the afternoons still work perfectly for me and I go out to do battle with the weeds every Wednesday. One of the things that I really enjoy is that after being a regular volunteer for so long I'm now considered one of the "lone rangers", long-time volunteers who work on their own whenever they wish in addition to the regularly scheduled programs. I spend another day out at Arastradero each week as a lone ranger where I can experiment with new techniques such as drilling out roots with an auger, and designing and building custom weeding tools with a perfect place to test them out under real world conditions. One tool is working so well that I am applying for a patent on it and am gearing up to put it into production. If that turns out to be profitable Acterra will certainly be the first on the list to benefit from it along with me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 19, 2012

Acterra is an amazing force for then environment in the community. I particularly like there skill in engaging and training volunteers to do great work for the environment. I volunteered for the Gre... more

October 21, 2013

We co-sponsored a Zero-Net Energy Solar Homes Tour with Acterra for the second year and it was a great success. We had over 200 people register which was an increase over the previous year. Acterra has earned a great reputation with the local community, city departments and the press. So they were a real asset to the process. Acterra has a can do attitude and they are fun to work with. Thanks much!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

Acterra is an amazing force for then environment in the community. I particularly like there skill in engaging and training volunteers to do great work for the environment. I volunteered for the Green@Home program that trains volunteers to do energy audits and install simple energy saving devices for homeowners and renters. They not only engage the community at the end user level, but the volunteers are local as well. They also do a great job at collecting metrics and scientifically comparing outcomes to continuously improve the program. They also firmly believe in having fun as part of the experience. I also appreciate their EcoCalendar and newsletters that have many interesting local green events co-sponsored with other nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2009

Acterra has been amazing with the breath and forward looking vision. I started with their Green@Home program volunteering to do free energy audits. They provided training and we worked in one city, now we are doing 5 cities and growing. And they followed up with people to measure how much energy/CO2 was saved. I volunteered at anther non profit the Clean Tech Open and discovered that Acterra had incubated it. So they don't have the feeling like they need to do everything. They can nurture something that can grow to be even bigger and better on it's own. Then I wanted to transition to a green career and they offer an environmental leadership course which helped transform my thinking and put me into the network for environmental change. And yet they still have things like walking tours in a local preserve. It's also important for them to keep things positive, not just focus on the negative environmental impacts. It's about what we can do to make a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reducing energy use and CO2. Fostering new environmental organizations. Creating communities of environmental leaders.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

They focus on positive actions and offer fun, practical activities to help.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Staff is great, warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the world. They have been asked by many people to replicate the environmental leadership program in different areas, but they don't have the funding. Also the Green@Home program could be dramatically expanded to more areas.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

My husband and I got involved with Acterra to help build a watershed sculpture under the direction of Acterra and Daniel McCormick, an environmental artist. Junko Bryant welcomed us and other volunteers to participate in a fun community project over Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday weekend. Since the community build in January, my husband and I have been going over to Redwood Grove to water the watershed sculpture about once/week while the willows get established and grow. We've really enjoyed getting to know Junko and meeting other people involved in Acterra and are very glad we can do our part to contribute to restoring and enhancing the Adobe Creek watershed in Redwood Grove. Thanks, Junk and thanks, Acterra for welcoming us and allowing us to contribute to this environmentally-sustainable project!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

Acterra is unique in that it addresses local environmental issues locally. They have been in business, under different names, for many years and have accomplished an amazing number of things. Since Debbie Mytels took over as associate director, many new and wildly successful programs have been instituted, two of the most important being: "Green@Home," in which volunteers have done home energy audits in hundreds of homes in 5 different cities and "Be the Change," which has trained a couple of hundred people to be environmental change agents, either in their own businesses or by starting a project of their own. I have worked as a volunteer there in several different capacities and can't praise it enough because it gets the work done and is humane towards its staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers