Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

As the City of Cupertino's Environmental Programs Manager I am very pleased with Acterra's role in creating public awareness, environmental stewards and in taking on restoration projects that positively impact the City and the extended community.
For many years, Acterra has provided hands-on
opportunities for Cupertino residents to learn about creek pollution and how to do something to prevent it. Acterra staff regularly lead community volunteers in monitoring the quality of water in Stevens Creek and run an ongoing study of creek bugs to help determine aquatic habitat health. These citizen science programs not only provide helpful data, they serve to promote a sense of responsibility for and connectedness to our local habitats.
For the last several years, we at the City of Cupertino have depended on Acterra to assist, or take the lead on some of the City's most popular and beneficial programs: 1) Third-grade creek education field trips in partnership with the Cupertino Union School District (a study of bugs in the creeks to learn about aquatic habitat health and water quality); 2) Annual World Citizen Water Monitoring Challenge events to engage volunteers of all ages in the fun of learning to care for local creeks; 3) Coordinating ongoing volunteer days to remove non-native and invasive plants in connection with the City's restoration of Stevens Creek and; 4) Consistently hosting an audience-attracting booth and engaging the public at City events where the community may conveniently experience or acquire a taste for stewardship of our local creeks and other outdoor treasures. I am very grateful for Acterra's support and leadership in outdoor education. Thank you!
Cheri Donnelly
Environmental Programs Mgr.
Public Works Department
City of Cupertino
10300 Torre Ave.
408-777-3242
www.cupertino.org/environmental

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that Acterra had the funding to expand and ensure the continuance of their programs which are valuable to the health and well-being of Cupertino’s community and provide rare educational opportunities for children and students of all ages in a fun, outdoor, hands-on experience that inspires a whole new love, appreciation and concern for our creeks and aquatic habitat.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

I really enjoyed the two sessions I attended to plant trees in the banks of the San Francisquito Creek! Also, the person who was in charge of Acterra's creek programs was very generous with his time to come to my summer camp to explain the San Francisquito Creek to a big group of kids. Unfortunately, shortly after that, he was laid off, and now I don't know who to contact at Acterra about their creek work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I volunteered on a Wednesday afternoon. The weather was great. I helped disperse the seeds of yarrow. Next, I removed tape from cardboard boxes. The group I volunteered with was big. I meet new and old friends. I like the experience of restoration habitat in a urban environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with Acterra both as a volunteer for the last 6 years and as a donor for the last 8 years. I have always been impressed with the expertise and good nature of the staff members and consider many of them to be good friends. I started as a volunteer with the Wednesday Weed Warrior program at Arastradero preserve in Palo Alto back when I was still working since it runs in the afternoon and fit well with my schedule. I have been retired for 3 years now, but the afternoons still work perfectly for me and I go out to do battle with the weeds every Wednesday. One of the things that I really enjoy is that after being a regular volunteer for so long I'm now considered one of the "lone rangers", long-time volunteers who work on their own whenever they wish in addition to the regularly scheduled programs. I spend another day out at Arastradero each week as a lone ranger where I can experiment with new techniques such as drilling out roots with an auger, and designing and building custom weeding tools with a perfect place to test them out under real world conditions. One tool is working so well that I am applying for a patent on it and am gearing up to put it into production. If that turns out to be profitable Acterra will certainly be the first on the list to benefit from it along with me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

My husband and I got involved with Acterra to help build a watershed sculpture under the direction of Acterra and Daniel McCormick, an environmental artist. Junko Bryant welcomed us and other volunteers to participate in a fun community project over Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday weekend. Since the community build in January, my husband and I have been going over to Redwood Grove to water the watershed sculpture about once/week while the willows get established and grow. We've really enjoyed getting to know Junko and meeting other people involved in Acterra and are very glad we can do our part to contribute to restoring and enhancing the Adobe Creek watershed in Redwood Grove. Thanks, Junk and thanks, Acterra for welcoming us and allowing us to contribute to this environmentally-sustainable project!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

Acterra is unique in that it addresses local environmental issues locally. They have been in business, under different names, for many years and have accomplished an amazing number of things. Since Debbie Mytels took over as associate director, many new and wildly successful programs have been instituted, two of the most important being: "Green@Home," in which volunteers have done home energy audits in hundreds of homes in 5 different cities and "Be the Change," which has trained a couple of hundred people to be environmental change agents, either in their own businesses or by starting a project of their own. I have worked as a volunteer there in several different capacities and can't praise it enough because it gets the work done and is humane towards its staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I originally joined Acterra because it was an environmental organization with a very local focus and I could see the results of my volunteer efforts in my community. Acterra approaches its work with scientific integrity and a healthy dose of fun - my volunteer time always feels worthwhile. Recently I had the opportunity to work closely with Acterra's Redwood Grove Stewardship program in Los Altos and the partnership exceeded my expectations. I've observed the transformation of the Redwood Grove since Acterra was brought in to manage the restoration and the changes have been dramatic. I worked with the Redwood Grove Director, Junko Bryant, to create a partnership between the Shaped by Water Exhibition at the Los Altos History Museum and Acterra to bring in artists Daniel McCormick and Mary O'Brien to create a living sculpture to restore a streambank at the Redwood Grove. The sculpture was made from live willow and other native riparian plants and was built with the help of community volunteers over the course of several weekends. Acterra helped find funding for the project, coordinated the signup and management of volunteers, gathered native plant materials and provided tools and facilities that enabled the entire project to run smoothly. Part of what truly exceeded my expectations were the excellent relationships Acterra had built with City of Los Altos staff which enabled this unusual project to move forward without delay - the city staff had developed a great deal of trust in the work that Acterra is doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I originally became involved with the Acterra stewardship project with my son, whose initial experience was through a school-sponsored program. We have been working with this project now for 3 years, and the changes in the redwood grove have been both subtle and dramatic. We appreciate the effort organized and managed by Acterra for projects that improve and sustain local habitats so that they may be enjoyed by current and future members of our town and surroundings. The Acterra staff, well represented by Junko Bryant, are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

What drew me to Acterra originally was the organization's focus on the hard work of behavior change. Working with people, house by house, neighborhood by neighborhood, town by town, to enable more sustainable living, is the "deep work" that drives any social movement toward a tipping point. It's much harder than education or advocacy. I've been a board member for about six months, and am tremendously impressed by the hard work of the staff, the transparency of process, the willingness to adapt strategically to a changing (economic and political) environment, and the passion with which all involved fulfill their commitments to the organization and to being good stewards of the environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I have been involved with Acterra as a donor, volunteer and former board member since its inception. In my opinion, no other local environmental organization leverages the energy and expertise of volunteers on behalf of our environment as does Acterra. Its reach is very broad, both programatically and demographically, which affords citizens a range of opportunities to get involved in the helping to solve the environmental challenges that they see as being the most important. Most important to me, as a teacher recently retired, is how much focus there is on outreach to young people. This is particularly true of the stewardship programs which offer young people a chance to get out into nature and do something positive with their hands and their heads. The program landscape is structured to allow maximum flexibility to be able to respond to the most pressing problems that need our attention, while continuing to support such long range commitments such as the San Francisquito Watershed initiatives and the Arastradero Preserve Stewardship program. Over the last decade plus, Acterra has engage thousands of citizen-environmentalists in its efforts to effect change from the ground up, many of whom have become regular stalwarts of their various programs. In the current large scale political environment, in which progress towards resolving issues is snail-paced at best, grassroots efforts such as Acterra are where the responses to our severe environment challenges are actively being pursued. I am as proud of being a part of this fabulous organization as I am of being a grandparent whose grandchildren will benefit to no end from our efforts of today.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers