Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

I am now retired as the Founding Artistic Director of Acme Theatre Company. From the moment that a group of high school students gathered with me in my classroom to talk about founding a theatre company, there has always been one important goal: to empower youth through doing theatre together. For more than thirty years, this unique organization has served thousands of young people, giving them confidence through performing all the necessary tasks to take a full-scale theatre production from conception to production. Moreover, the company has had a long commitment to producing works by important playwrights from the Greeks to Shakespeare to Oscar Wilde to Bertolt Brecht toArthur Miller to moder playwrights such as Mary Zimmerman, Arthur Giron, Moises Kaufman, Sarah Ruhl, and Stephen Deitz. Every task, from acting to set construction to costuming to publicity, to front of the house activities are performed by young people of high school age. The older, more experienced members mentor the younger members so that the institutional memory is passed down from year to year and from decade to decade. The only adults involved are the non-profit board of directors, the artistic director, and the director of the production. Occasionally adult mentors, many of them graduates of the company, will provide instruction in such things as set and costume construction, playwriting, fight and dance choreography and so forth. It is also important to note that Acme has a history of producing high quality theatre, comparable to that of adult community and professional theatre. This is an organization run both for and by young people, my idea of a perfect youth empowerment model. If you read by through the reviews of the young people themselves, you will find that there is another aspect that is very important. For many of them, Acme provided a place where they could meet and come to know people with like interests. Many of the alumni will tell you that their Acme experience was the most important formative experience of their high school career, and this from young people who attended one of the top-rated high schools in California. Finally, Acme alumni are making their mark in many fields, and only of few of those are fields related to theatre. We do have our theatrical success stories: a member of the Blue Man Group, an award-winning playwright and director, the founder of the San Francisco Sketch Fest, a television producer and former executive vice president at Disney Pictures, a professional fight choreographer in New York, and so forth. However, in other fields, there are equally successful Acme alumni, who give great credit to the self-confidence that their experience with the company built in them. Among these are a Legislative Director with the California State Legislature, a Vice-President of Energy Solutions, a sustainable energy consulting firm, The Special Projects Manager at American Museum of Natural History, a free-lance designer of Museum exhibits around the world, the co-founder of several health/medical companies, a published children's book author, and many doctors, teachers, lawyers, business people, and so forth. Add to that that many of our alumni are building happy families with young children, some of them now in Acme, and you have a youth-empowerment organization with history and longevity that continues to make a mark on our community and on the world. I am indeed proud to have been a part of Acme Theatre Company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2012

more

March 19, 2012

I love Acme so much. When I first joined Acme, I knew no one. When my first show was over, I didn't want to leave. Acme has changed my life for the better. I'm a lot more outgoing, far less shy, and I learned a lot while working with them. The people are amazing, the atmosphere is professional, and the experience is life-changing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

Acme Theater Company is a theater company run by and for teenagers and its motto is "serious theater for the fun of it." I have been in Acme for 3 years now and I have worked as an actor, lighting designer, and served on the Acme Council of Executives as member-at-large. Acme allows teenagers to assume positions of leadership with many responsibilities that teenagers are hardly ever trusted with. I have grown as a person due to my involvement in Acme and I have learned many valuable life skills such as time management, working in groups, leading a team, working with children during Acme's summer camp, and serving on a board. Acme is my home away from home, my family and the place that I most want to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

I got involves with Acme this year in their production of Cyrano De Bergerac. It was my fist play with them and I was super nervous but they all immediately made me feel at home. They were all so welcoming and kind that I right away started feeling part of the family and made tons of new friends. We had rehearsal all the time but far from being tedious or getting in the way of other activities, it just seemed like the more time we put in, the more we wanted to. The plays at acme are done almost exclusively by the kids, that means all the costuming, publicity, sound, lights, set and props are all designed and executed by us. It created a space where we are all eager to do more because the more you put in the better it comes out. I don't think I have ever worked on anything harder in my life and the results couldn't have been more rewarding because it was ours. It really is a wonderful thing to work with so many people who absolutely love what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met so many wonderful new people with Acme, and when you spend that much time with people you form a sort of family.

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

I joined Acme Theatre Company in the summer of 2011 and have loved being a part of it. I've experienced nothing but joy from it since. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly and amazing to work with and the organization serves a great purpose. It teaches young people incredibly valuable life skills in the most fun and rewarding way possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I started acting in eighth grade when I was pulled to a drama club meeting by a friend. Being new to the world of theater, I had no idea how the whole thing worked, and I didn't know anything about theater. It was fun, I knew that much. I was in four shows in Jr. High (two were musicals) and figured it was just something fun I was going to do on the side of the rest of my life. However, one day in ninth grade, my mother mentioned how two of the girls I had been acting with at school had started working with Acme Theater Company, and she had thought that since I enjoyed theater, I should try out for their spring show. Now, while I happen to be one of the weirdest people around (which I enjoy being) and did like theater, I have always been kind of shy around new people, and I didn't have many friends. I also wasn't sure if theater was something I really LOVED. So, I told my mother I would think about it. I didn't audition for the show, but I did go and see it. It was As You Like It, and it was great. It looked like it had been so fun to do, and I was extremely sore with myself for not auditioning for a very long time. I learned that Acme would be doing the Three Musketeers during the summer, and I knew that there was no way I was going to miss out on that. I showed up to auditions, and it seemed everyone knew everyone else, or at least knew someone there. Except me. I was close to turning around when I saw some people I knew in the corner, and made a quick cross over there. They went around and talked to people, and I quietly followed, wondering what I had gotten myself into. But I met some really cool people that day, and ended up having loads of fun. Over the summer, the fun continued and I fell in love with Acme and acting. I started working with the company through the new season, working stage management, ushering and acting. I can't help but think sometimes what my life would have been like if I hadn't stepped out of my comfort zone. I'm no longer afraid of walking into a new situation where I don't know anyone, I have something to do after school and during the summer, and I've become friends with people I would have never met if I hadn't walked into the DHS vocal room that summer day. More importantly, I've found a passion for something that I never would have, and with that new doors were opened to things I never knew I loved. Acme has changed my life dramatically, and for the better. I know it will continue to change my life, and I want it to. If I could type how much I loved this company, and how much it has changed my life, it would go on forever. Acme is the best thing that could have happened to my life, the people are some of the best people I could ever know, and it's an experience I will never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

At the beginning of many Acme Meetings members of the council are invited to share an "Acme Moment". The definition of Acme is the point of utmost attainment so we share experiences linked to the production process that express utmost attainment either physically or emotionally. This sort of experience seems fitting for what your asking. Once when asked I shared a story that goes something like as follows. I was sitting on the edge of the stage before my post-show clean-up job needed to be completed and listening to the various alumni reminisce about their Acme experiences. The winter show this year was the same play, although a different adaptation and different script, as one that had been performed over the summer ten years ago. One of the more prominent Acme alums pointed at me during the discussion and said "I was you, ten years ago I was you!" This particular Alum had played the same character as I in his production ten years ago and once asked most of the adults that were still there put forth some recollection of that production whether it was the set design or the 50 white shirts that had needed to be sewn or of the intricate fight choreography all of them had a different story to share. As I was walking home I couldn't help thinking that I could live a very happy and full life, in fact I would feel rather unfulfilled if i did not, return to come see the company in years to come. So my Acme moment was in that moment when I promised myself that I would need to return to see as many of the future plays as I could, as well as to pass as much of my knowledge and experience on to the future generations as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

Acme Theatre Company has changed and bettered my life so much. I remember when I first joined I was so nervous for the audition. But Emily, the Artistic Director, made me feel calm and made me smile as soon as I walked in the door. And although I didn't get in the play, there was PLENTY of opportunities to get involved. I helped tech for it and I just couldn't get enough of it. Since then, Acme has become one of my passions and I feel that without it, I'd be lost in a world of blandness and nothing but school. Not only has Acme taught me many life lessons, but I can now call pretty much everyone in the company part of my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. I mean, other than our lack of financial help, Acme is perfect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing. Because all groups have their ups and downs, but for Acme, our downs make us better.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This introduced me to a whole new group of people as well as widen my view on theatre and taught me how to just live my life better.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing in every way. Not only do you learn to work well with others, but you gain trust from those outside you general group of friends and you grow together.

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

As an Acme member from the summer of 2001 through the summer of 2005, I cannot imagine a better recipient for grant funding than Acme Theatre Company. Acme is a passionate proponent for youth empowerment, for taking pride in one’s work, for individual and group responsibility, and for dynamic teamwork; and it works constantly to give its members the tools and the space necessary to find and use these qualities and skills. The company’s efforts allowed me to grow from a small, enthusiastic but clueless newbie, into a confident young woman capable of tackling innumerable problems and of taking on leadership roles without hesitation. For my experience, and for those of the Acme alumni that I have seen come before and after me, I highly recommend Acme Theatre Company for this grant.

Acme’s brand of empowerment stems from its model of operation, of which it is fiercely proud. This model keeps adults out of the process as much as possible, which means that company leaders aged 13 to 18 are almost entirely responsible for Acme’s elements of production, from the first design discussions through the last touch of paint. In the middle the youth leaders manage all of the personnel, budgeting, transportation, and execution necessary to make the production elements a reality.

The evidence of this model at work was one of the things that impressed me most when I joined the company. The sense of responsibility and control that emanated from the company leaders, no more than five years older myself, had me determined to do whatever it took to put myself at the heart of this amazing organization. And I wasn’t the only one. The number of youth who I have seen stumble into the company as unfocused teens overburdened by hurt or low self-esteem, but who stick around to become amazing, outspoken, talented leaders in their own right would knock your socks off. Acme Theatre Company is a true gift to the Davis community: a unique and shining example of what it looks like to support our young people in a way that is beneficial to the maximum degree.

One of the biggest factors that keeps the company members working through long nights and nearly all school vacations is the pride that Acme takes in its work. Acme strives to produce genuinely high-quality theatre, and has demonstrated acting, directing, and production design of a caliber to rival many professional theatres.

During my time in Acme, my fellow company members and I would go to incredible lengths, both in order to avoid failure and to produce progressively more impressive outcomes. We felt that we owed it to the company to produce the kind of work that reflected its wonderfulness. This motivation inspired us to spend our high school lunch periods writing press releases, our weekends sewing dozens of period shirts, and our evenings designing sets or lighting plots, in addition to completing our homework and work for our other extra curricular activities. My cohorts and I would work tirelessly in order to be ready for opening night, because the show would always go up, but it was up to us to make sure that it was the kind of show that we could proudly call one of Acme’s.

Intrinsically tied to Acme’s pride in its work is a heavy emphasis on both personal and group responsibility. One of the most noticeable outcomes of removing adults from much of Acme’s theatrical process is that there comes a moment with every new group of Acme leaders when they realize that they’re the only people in a room brimming with a belief in explosive potential, and they commit to making those expectations into fantastic realities. Through this explosive energy I learned to build sets, sew costumes, hang and focus lights, perform on stage with confidence, organize fund raisers, lead groups of people, run meetings, and budget my time, among other skills. I learned to do all of these things because I had to, and I got good at them because I wanted to serve my peers and my company well.

Acme provides the motivation, training, and space necessary to allow its participants to take on responsibility for a variety of projects within a context that is real. It does this by placing a premium on youth empowerment above all, but also on striving for a high-quality product, and on emphasizing teamwork within the context of mutual responsibility. Acme is a true gift, even before taking into account that membership is absolutely free, and its only barrier to entry is a willingness to work. I emphatically suggest that our community honor this gift by supporting Acme Theatre Company with funding, and with production attendance.

Thank you for your time,




Betsy Raymond
Acme Alumna 2005

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I had just moved to Davis and was at a completely new school. I had no friends, except for girls I knew in choir, and spent all of my spare time studying or working with animals on campus. One day, I saw an audition info sheet in the choir room for something called Acme Theater company. It was the last day of auditions for their winter show, Cyrano de Bergerac. I called the number and got an audition later that day. That was probably the best decision I have made in my life so far. Instantly, I was adopted into a family of wonderful people all working to better the community with the power of theater. Rehearsals after school and on weekends were a joy to go to, every minute spent on the production was fulfilling and worth every drop of sweat, love, and blood that went into it. Acme pulled me out of depression and gave me a sense of purpose, not to mention friends and happiness. I hope to be in future productions, but even if I can't, I will always have the friends and experiences they gave me from that one time. Please consider Acme for your donation so they can continue to help other kids in the way they helped me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My social, emotional, educational, and recreational life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wouldn't change a thing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New skills (making costumes, building sets and props, stage makeup, stage combat, and more), TONS of new friends, a sense of belonging, and a sense of purpose in my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy, fulfilled, purposeful, and important.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers