Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I've been supporting Achieve in Africa for a number of years now and it's been amazing to see how it's been growing and making a difference. In 2007 I was lucky enough to take part in a service trip to Tanzania with Brendan Callahan. I saw first hand the need for education, but more importantly the demand for it. Many young people I met desperately wanted to learn and to improve their lives. From then on Brendan, and Achieve in Africa, have been answering that cry and have been helping Tanzanians improve their lives through education. I'm proud to be a supporter of Achieve in Africa, and am excited to see the difference that they will continue to make.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Many of us live with hundreds of good intentions of making positive impacts outside of our closest circles yet we find these intentions rarely manifesting into actions. Yet for as long as I have known the following members of Achieve in Africa (Mr. and Mrs. Callahan, Liz, Nathan, David, Alyssa and Brendan) I have never seen the weight of their words exceeding the weight of their actions. I am continuously inspired at how powerful this entrepreneurial determination has been in bringing the org to where it is today. It seems clear that this essential ingredient for success that they all carry with them in their own personalities also contributes to the understated character and apparent success of Achieve in Africa. Keep doing what you doing!
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

"Teaching is the mother of all professions. You cannot have a doctor without a teacher." These were the words of the head mistress of Olasiti Secondary School as we stood in her office, hearing about the opportunities Achieve in Africa has brought to the students at the school. Some of them filtered into the office and told us what they wanted to be when they grew up. Doctor and Pilot were at the top of the list.
I have had the pleasure of working with Alyssa, Brendan and the board for over a year. Their tireless dedication to the organization has impacted many lives and the work of AIA continues to grow from year to year. I look forward to continue to support their efforts, creating a path for the future doctors and pilots of Tanzania.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

The AIA founders Brendan and Alyssa have a tremendous passion for the work they do. I spent several months working with them to raise awareness and funds in the southeastern US. I only have positive things to say about them, working with them and their team, and the organization as a whole. All too often we take our education for granted. We sometimes fail to truly appreciate what it has done for us as individuals and how it has helped better the world. AIA works to bring education, the priceless gift that it is, to people in parts of the world that need it most. It's a solid cause that helps build bright futures. I wish there were more people out there doing it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Achieve in Africa is not only building schools, it is building futures and providing hope to the communities they serve. It's founders, Brendan and Alyssa Callahan, have experienced the hardships of the Tanzanian people first-hand, and are selfless, passionate, and genuine in their efforts. Their organization is comprised of un-paid volunteers who share the same qualities and who together strive to deliver a lasting impact. They are creative in their approach and provide sustainable solutions to problems the Tanzanian people face. Above all, Achieve In Africa cares about making real differences that matter to affect change for the better and long term. They don't just build schools and provide education because it is a good thing to do, but because they know it will lead to a greater achievement of the African people, so they can in-turn lead better lives and have deeper influence on the success of future generations. As the the ancient Chinese proverb goes, "Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime." This is the power of this organization, it is why what they are doing matters and why they are effective. I strongly stand with AIA and their efforts to create a better world for the people of Africa.

For more information visit Achieve in Africa's website: http://www.achieveinafrica.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

What an extraordinary organization run by wonderful and selfless people! Volunteering with AIA has genuinely been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life and I can't say enough about it. I've seen first hand how the work this organization has done has contributed to communities in Africa and how it has changed lives. It's been an privilege working with them and I can't wait to see the amazing work they do in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Achieve in Africa is an organization that is able to strike a balance between the two key tenants of any successful nonprofit organization - innovation and effectiveness. You can often see organizations that have innovative ideas but fall short at the implementation phase, as well as organizations that can implement solutions, but not think of better ways of delivering solutions.

AiA is able to do both, thinking creatively about ways to best benefit the villages in which they work, developing programs including school lunches, business training, after-school programs, female empowerment - the list goes on and on. They couple this with superb effectiveness, limiting their focus to a specific area and number of schools which they know they can properly serve given their resources and team. They also have a phenomenal governance and advisory structure in place both in the US and on-site in Africa which enhances their ability to deliver valuable solutions to disadvantaged communities.

I had the pleasure to work as a Marketing Director for Achieve in Africa for a period of time, and the enthusiasm of its founders and members was infectious. Brendan and Alyssa Callahan and their team have a clear vision and are willing to take the steps necessary to ensure that Achieve in Africa is in the best position to make a difference as a sustainable and impactful non-profit organization with key performance metrics to track progress. I firmly believe that this organization will continue to be a front-runner in its contributions to the sustainable development of education in African communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Any organization, no matter how successful, can always find areas for development. Continued interaction with industry mentors and partners will help AiA to continue taking their programs to the next level and broaden their ability to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Brendan and Alyssa's infectious passion for the work they do with Achieve in Africa made it very rewarding and humbling to volunteer and do what I could to help grow the organization. So many of the schools and organizations I spoke to for help with fundraising were immediately interested and could easily see the long term value that AIA would have for the children and community of Tanzania. The organization is also run very professionally, so there is no doubt that all the money raised is being put to good use.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Being a volunteer for Achieve in Africa has been one of the best experiences of my college career. It is truly humbling being able to see and be a part of the positive impact that Achieve in Africa has on children in Tanzania. None of the workers are paid, which really speaks volumes about how important it is to everyone to be able to help these children who are in need of schools in Tanzania. They make it possible for these children to have desks, safely built classrooms for learning, and electricity in their schools, among other things. I personally always wanted to use my Graphic Design skills and knowledge to help a Nonprofit that is truly making a a difference in the lives of people somewhere in the world, and I could not have found a better Nonprofit than Achieve in Africa.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to collect even more funds to build more classrooms!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

It has been a wonderful experience to work with both Brendan & Alyssa Callahan in establishing Achieve in Africa as an organization and then to observe it develop into the superb educational force in southern Tanzania each year in developing classrooms, school materials and even electricity to those truly in need and who are unable to help themselves. Achieve in Africa is an honest, well organized non-profit organization. It is devoted to improving the lives of children half-a-world away and consistently meets its goals. As a result, the organization is deserving of recognition for its selfless acts of great kindness, charity and good will. Marvelous!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Obtain greater financial contributions to achieve more!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers