Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.35
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

A friend invited me to a play reading here. What struck me was the friendly atmosphere and genuine engagement of people who wanted to offer constructive advice about improving the play. I also went to a performance here and it was easily as good as the professional shows I've seen in New York and elsewhere in Atlanta. I felt bad later because I hadn't given this group a chance until then. Academy has a lot of potential - sort of a sleeping giant.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

This theatre doesn't LOOK like a theatre. Nobody would know it was even there because it's off the main road and hidden in kind of a bad area of town. I have seen plays at other theaters that were good but this one was surprising because I didn't expect much from a place like that. But the play was good and the actor was good and I forgot I was in a building like that. Also I thought it was at a school because it was called "Academy". You should probably get a better building, because you do good work and more people might come if they knew you were there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I enjoy theatre - one might even say I'm a die-hard fan of live performances. I don't even mind going to the theatre alone. It's not just a social gathering for me. Some people like to go just to be seen - and there are a few theatres in town where I'm SURE people pay top dollar for tickets and can't tell you a thing about the show afterwards. I have seen several performances at Academy Theatre - and usually I've been intrigued by the choice of play and the performances. Occasionally there's a lame actor or a so-so play... but for the most part, I like their work tremendously. What's depressing is seeing so few people in the audience. Come on, people - Academy does excellent work! A little support would go a long way! Two thumbs up!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love going to this theatre because it always surprises me. A friend of mine was an intern there and she always talks about how much she learned. I really like the late night improv, and seeing the talented music acts like Matthew Troutwein's groups. I have seen about 6 shows there in the last few years. I wish they would perform more full length plays!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Usher for one of our many shows and see the show for free. Help with cleaning the space and grounds. Help with our fundraiser. Volunteer