Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.565
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

What drives a nonprofit is not just the mission they stand for, not just the good they do, but the level of passion and integrity of its membership: the lifeblood of the organization.

When AMPHS began just a few short years ago, we couldn't have imagined the level of impact we have
accomplished, or the community we have brought together under a common goal. It is a pleasure and an overwhelming source of pride to be aligned with such individuals who make it their job on a daily basis to ensure the health and well being of those who can't for themselves, both in and out of our communities.

I support AMPHS' mission in all that strive for and cannot wait to hear of the continued successes of their passionate members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I've been involved with AMPHS for about a year now, and it never ceases to amaze me the level of dedication of Mon Yuck and Hewitt. Whether weekend events or mid-week phone calls they are constantly working to reach as many people as they can. As a Public Health student and long time Sunset Park resident I realize how important and how much of a difference a health focused organization can make, especially for the often overlooked disenfranchised populations of Sunset Park.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve technology infrastructure (public computers, accessible databases, research software) and office location

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I've been volunteering with AMPHS since the summer and am impressed by the organization's commitment and dedication to serve the health needs of undocumented and uninsured Brooklyn residents. The staff are amicable, energetic and tireless in their efforts to expand AMPHS' offerings, while mindful of their core competencies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I am presently a partner with AMPHS and is one of the organizations that I have a great deal of respect. They are caring , and very dedicate to what they do. I am also very impress by how effective they work. on events. T he CEO goes out into the community and help those that are in need of Health screenings and are in need of information about health care .

We are happy and please to be partner with such a great organization, which I am sure will be making more than a difference in people lives whether its in their community or others.

Great Job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Went to an AMPHS program and was very impressed by how effciently they worked and the high quality of the program. Everyone roled up their sleeves, including the CEO, who is smart and, later I learned, open to collaboration with other organizations. AMPHS does a lot with a little, and has the right spirit. Really exceptional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I have been volunteering with AMPHS as a board member for three years, since its inception. The organization has truly redefined the healthcare landscape of the underserved communities in which it operates, and I am glad to have been a part of it. Though it is young, it is growing at an exponential pace, and everyone at AMPHS is always interested in building a compassionate environment for its clients and improving the organization. This makes AMPHS a welcoming and encouraging place to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure more community partners, agencies, and service providers are aware of the work AMPHS does through concentrating on Community Outreach and Engagement efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have been volunteering with the Academy of Medical and Public Health Services for three years now, and in my time here, I have seen the organization grow both internally, in terms of the the volunteer base, and externally, in terms of the programs and services that the organization offers. As a grassroots organization rooted in the Sunset Park community, I am often impressed by the way that the organization ingrains itself into the community it serves through community engagement, outreach, interviews, community mapping, and networking with other organizations. The organization also conducts public health research through data collection, which is really unique compared to other health organizations in this community. I have also had the pleasure of participating in AMPHS' health screenings and teaching their CPR and First Aid classes, and have really been able to see the impact the organization makes in the lives of others. There have been cases where AMPHS has been able to provide free glasses to people who have suffered from poor vision for years and those where AMPHS has been able to save the lives of those who were at high risks for heart attacks and had to be sent to the emergency room on the spot.

I wish the organization could obtain more funding to support its goals and increase its outreach because it is really making a visible difference in our communities, and while the organization struggles to make ends meet, it still strives to deliver to the best of its abilities with its available resources. As a volunteer, I am happy to see my efforts turn into something bigger, so to that end, I do not mind spending hours on projects , especially when I am able to utilize my skills from school and prior work experiences. At the same time, I have also learned a lot from AMPHS--from interacting with other volunteers, to grant writing, to using databases like Salesforce, to conducting interviews, and even practicing my Spanish! The volunteers are also great to work with--everyone is passionate about what they do and their compassion shines through when you see them interacting with community members during our events. Volunteers will sometimes spend even an hour with a community member during a screening just to ensure that they receive the appropriate care and counseling. Moreover, because the organization is such a young and entrepreneurial entity, there is always a lot to learn--sometimes, I find it frustrating, but in the end, it helps me build a lot of project management, administrative, technological, and social skills I don't think I would be able to get elsewhere. Through AMPHS, I've learned many crucial lessons from the challenges and failures that we've had, along with our successes. I love volunteering with AMPHS and growing along with the organization, and will definitely continue my time here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hold outreach events (given enough funding and sponsor support) to increase impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I volunteered for AMPHS for a couple of months doing legal work for them in a general counsel capacity. The organization serves a great purpose, and Hewett and Mon Yuck are both wonderful people to work with. Unfortunately it did not work out for me to continue volunteering for AMPHS due to personal reasons, but I have every hope that AMPHS will continue to grow in the future and help more people in Brooklyn and beyond. I encourage others to volunteer their time and efforts with this organization as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

I was a summer intern for AMPHS and had a wonderful and interesting experience. As a community engagement associate I worked on community mapping as well as collecting information about the health profile of Sunset Park. I also worked on an independent project developing a plan to effectively and efficiently use social media for marketing and outreach. Finally, I volunteered as a translator and survey assistant at several health fairs and screening events in Sunset Park and Brooklyn. These were fun and a great way to learn more about the challenges of public health care.

I learned quite a bit and developed both qualitative and quantitative skills. AMPHS is a small but highly motivated and ambitious organization. Their breadth of services and outreach is impressive considering how young the organization is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Narrow the focus and geographic spread so we do a few things really well, as opposed to a lot of things pretty well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I was a summer intern for two months. AMPHS is an ambitious non-profit and had me working on improving their health screening surveys, organizing their huge clinical resource library (with hundreds of information sheets, brochures, and booklets on diseases from Alzheimer's to foot problems), and doing independent research on air pollution in Sunset Park. I learned a lot through the program which also included a conference on Alzheimer's and Dementia in Times Square, workshops from doing qualitative research to taking blood pressure to learning about health care policy reform.

I also had the chance to help out at their free in-house screenings and pass out flyers to community members about the screening. The best part of that was seeing people you talked to on the streets come to the office for the screening. It made me feel small things do make a difference. I learned research skills, communication skills, time management, and self-motivation during this very busy summer.

AMPHS is still a young organization, testing many different ways of helping the Sunset Park community members get better health care. The non-profit has a lot of potential and when they find some specific project to focus on in a specific community, they will be able to make a big difference. Keep up your hard work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For the summer internship program, let interns focus on fewer projects and create deeper and more specific impacts. Improve publicity of organization and of in-house health screenings to Chinese residents in Sunset Park.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

conduct outreach to 300 more health screening participants, help run a health screening, provide translation services at a health screening, bring an animal companion to accompany a bedridden senior, assist the teaching of an emergency response class to enhance the student learning experience, get trained to teach a class, market emergency response courses to more individuals and community partners to increase impact and awareness, help run a fundraising event to support the organization's programs and services. Volunteer