Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

A animação das crianças, nos sábados de manhã, a alegria com que vão para as aulas na ABRACE, onde encontram sua turma, sua família maior, a brasileira, a que fala português, é uma festa, é de um valor inestimável!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Daria a eles uma sede própria, para que pudessem funcionar todos os dias, tornar-se um centro de aglutinação de brasileiros, inclusive para comecar a ter alguma voz política, como comunidade grande que é nos EUA. A ABRACE paga aluguel caro para usar instalações de escola pública, aos sábados e, naturalmente, fica sujeita a várias restrições e à boa-vontade da escola.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A ABRACE foi muito importante para a minha família quando chegamos aos Estados Unidos, longe de tudo e de todos.
Nos proporcionou uma convivência com outras crianças, aumentou a auto-estima, ambientou, aconchegou e consolidou toda a transição do português para o inglês e para a nova
cultura.
Tive também a excelente oportunidade de trocar experiências com outras mães que já moravam aqui por mais tempo.
Tudo isso, fazendo com que ainda estivéssemos ligados ao Brasil, mesmo estando tão longe, falando em um bom e gostoso português.
Eu diria que a ABRACE é um território brasileiro em Washington/ DC, nos trazendo a deliciosa recordação dos sabores das comidas, dos cheiros das flores, das músicas folclóricas e da MPB, das brincadeiras de roda, das danças, dos esportes, dos lugares e das cidades...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More courses in drama, music, dance, art, drawing...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

My son, who is 4, has mastered Portuguese, even though everywhere on his environment English is the main language. He learned so much for the time he was taking classes at Abrace, and not just the language, but also the whole cultural heritage. The teachers are excelent and I just feel super blessed for having this little "Brazil" right here in the DC area. The tuition is very very reasonable, and the extra-curriculum activities promoted is even more enriching. Congrats to this association for the great hard work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it closer to my house!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

The work that ABRACE is doing in Washington DC is unique, they work with wonderful educators and have a profound impact in the lives of the children they work with. I particularly like to see them so involved in a constant search for knowledge in methodology and curriculum building, while at the same time, very generously, sharing their own findings rooted in their pedagogical experience. This allows for a very productive exchange between researchers and practitioners of heritage language (Portuguese) instruction, and I thank them very much for engaging in this and making us all so much better than we would be otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it a national organization with branches in all Portuguese and Brazilian communities in the US.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

A ABRACE é um verdadeiro abraço! Abraço com sabor de Brasil!
É uma alegria ter participado no passado deste projeto e continuar acompanhando cada nova conquista.
Espaço de encontro e de reencontro, a ABRACE tem feito um trabalho fundamental e indispensável, não só no ensino do Português,
mas como veículo de resgate social e cultural.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Imagine you are all alone trying to teach the language of your parents, your country, your heart to your children. You are determined. You see it as your mission. But the odds are against you.

I am from Brazil. I didn't grow up watching baseball and celebrating Thanksgiving, but that
doesn't mean I come from nothing. The richness of where I come from -- my language, my culture, my history and my parents -- is what I can give to my children.

Enter Abrace, an organization of people who will have your back and think of everything to help you in this task that is so much more than simply teaching Portuguese.

Your little one is more of a sports guy and will connect with Brazil via soccer? Abrace offers a soccer class. Your children need access to books in Portuguese? Abrace launches a library. It is Children's Day ? It organizes a celebration.

Yes, thanks to Abrace, my 13-year-old is confident in his writing and has a renewed interest in reading in Portuguese. But, just as important, he loves Abrace and he learns Portuguese while having FUN (is there really another way to learn?).

Abrace makes my mission so much easier. I am not alone.

Todos juntos somos fortes
Somos flecha e somos arco
Todos nós no mesmo barco
Não há nada pra temer!










More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have taught children`s theatre with ABRACE, and found the experience extremely rewarding. Children`s creativity amazed me during class, and all expressed themselves effectively in Portuguese, different as their levels of fluency might be.
I appreciate ABRACE`s competitive professional and
cultural standards, its transparency and accountability.
Most of all, the commitment to preserving and sharing Brazilian heritage and language is extraordinary (finding a way when there appears to be none!)- in all activities, successfully combining cultural and playful elements. This is very encouraging for all Brazilians who want to feel this connectedness away from home and pass it on to our children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have known ABRACE for many years, first as a parent of a student and more recently as a board member. It always amazes me what this organization does with so little. As a board member, it has been a pleasure to see the organization grow, not only in the size of the student body, but also in the professionalism of its management and financial structure. I also admire the dedication of all of the professionals involved with the organization, most of whom are volunteers but also of those who receive a nominal fee but give so much more. As a parent of a student, I love that my son can learn about my culture and, more than that, understand that it is his culture too. For Brazilian children growing up outside of Brazil, who may not travel to Brazil frequently, ABRACE's work helps maintain that connection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are working to better integrate the community into the work of the organization. If we already do so much with so little, imagine what we could do with greater participation from our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

ABRACE is home away from home! My heart fills with so many good feelings when thinking about all that ABRACE makes possible not only to my family but to a lot of families in the DC area. It´s through ABRACE my two boys (and our little baby girl in the near future) meet with friends that they can relate to in all levels, that they can share the love not only for soccer, carnaval, and "festa junina", but also "picolé comprado na banca de revista", "água de côco", favorite beaches in Brazil and so on. It´s also where they can learn and practice their Portuguese and be just like a "native" when going to Brazil and feel and be treated like they have always lived there.

It´s not only for the kids that ABRACE is so important. Parents and the whole community have access to opportunities to socializing, learning, sharing information, building and strengthening friendships, always in a friendly environment, always with the warming and welcoming Brazilian touch.

It´s a lot of work to make all this possible. So we would like to thank all the Founders, Board Members, Directors, Teachers, Parents, Students, Business Partners and Sponsors for working like a big CARING COMMUNITY!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have only one work to say to ABRACE: Thanks ! You have been decreased the distance through this beautiful work of perpetuating our fascinating culture beyond the borders of our country ( Brazil) . Congratulations, our children will be proud of you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

- update the children's library database- help with cultural initiatives such as Book Fairs and Cultural Fairs- volunteer for storytelling for kids