Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Able Flight directly helped me earn my light sport pilot certificate, something that I had dreamed about from the time I was young. When I found out about this program I was blow away by what they were offering with their scholarships, the freedom to fly! The 5 weeks that I was in this program will stick with me for the rest of my life and I couldn't be thankful enough for the donors, volunteers, directors and everyone involved in making this organization a possibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would normally say there is always room for improvement but this program is unlike anything else and I couldn't imagine anything to make it better

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

All my life I have dreamed of flying, but a spinal cord injury when I was fourteen kept me from ever fulfilling that dream. All that changed earlier this year when I received a scholarship from Able Flight. These people believed in me and supported me to a greater degree than I ever imagined. Six weeks of training this past summer and now I have achieved something I wasn't sure was even possible. I also serve as an Aerospace Education officer in the Civil Air Patrol. Now I have such a better grasp of the knowledge and some real experience to draw from when I'm trying to teach basic knowledge and skills to my cadets. This was a life altering experience for me and I'm aready sharing the benefits of what I received with the next generation of aviators.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Sennheiser Aviation has been a supporter of Able Flight for several years, and we are proud of that relationship, and humbled by the accomplishments of the pilots that Able Flight graduates each year. The program is very well administered and enjoys wide aviation community support because of the integrity of the people involved and the value of the mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only improvement I can think of is an extension of the mission to promote the availability of specially equipped aircraft so that Able Flight pilots (and others uniquely enabled) continue to have access to flying at centers around the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been involved with Able Flight as a advisory board member as well as a donor. I am lucky to meet with the aspiring pilots as they do their flight training at Purdue, and to see the joy in their hearts. When a disabling illness or injury has taken their spirit for life away, the opportunities with Able Flight gives that back to them. Being associated with the wonderful organization is very rewarding but yet humbling. We as part of Able Flight, give them back their freedom, but more so, we give them back their spirit for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to reach more people for donations and grants, to make more dreams come true

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

In 2011 I was granted a scholarship from Able Flight and was sent to Purdue University for training. In just a short 5 weeks I was issued my pilots license. What many people don't know about Able flight is the possibilities that come out of it. Two years ago I would have never thought I would be a graduate student and work in the airline industry. If someone was to ask me to describe Able Flight in 2 words or less I would have to say life-changing to say the least. Able Flight has led me to a career and a much better quality of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I couldn't imagine it being any better!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Able Flight got me back flying at a time in my life when I thought my flying days we're behind me. As a result I'm now making a living as an amputee pilot! I can't say enough good things about the benefits of aviation and the Able Flight organization! Thank you Able Flight for all you did for me and all you're doing for others. -- Ryan (Right leg amputee, WIA Iraq 2003)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Able Flight gave me a gift I never thought I could attain, the gift of flight. I was born with a rare condition that left me wheelchair bound, so although I could stare at the sky with appreciation, I never thought I'd be able to reach it. Becoming a pilot was something I could only dream about.

A scholarship from Able Flight in 2011 turned that dream into a reality. The scholarship provided an intense, 6 week flight school at Purdue University that ended with me receiving a Sport Pilot certification.

I am very grateful to Able Flight for helping me reach my goals and am excited for all the others who will have the chance to experience this amazing opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I am in a wheel chair due to early age polio and never thought flying is possible with my both hands only.

Able Flight granted full scholarship for me to learn flying at Purdue University this year I got my pilot license in six weeks. It was Amazing!

It was total life-changing
experience and I am able to fly solo now.
I really appreciate all the effort and support Able Flight provided for my great achievement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

When I was 16 I had an opportunity to fly and loved every moment in the air. After being wounded by an IED blast in Iraq and consequently losing my left arm and right leg, I figured becoming an aviator was never going to happen. Able Flight and AOPA teamed up to get me back in the air and helped me earn my pilots license. I continue to fly regularly and my story has motivated other veterans to get out and continue to lead active lives. Able flight provides a great service to our veterans and has been an outstanding organization to be affiliated with. I highly recommend Able Flight to anyone with a passion for aviation.

S/F

-Adam Kisielewski
Sgt/USMC/Ret

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Able Flight has changed my life. I have had Multiple Sclerosis since the age of 16 and have been told over the years that I have to modify my whole life and prepare for the inevitable "wheelchair" which was always deemed to be the end all be all of my illness. I always wanted to fly but was told it would never happen. Able Flight took me out of that box and told me to go fly and be free. I am so greatful to Charles and all the Able Flight Instructors as well as my compadres along the journey. Even though it was completely new to me and I had had no former experience, everyone was supportive and positive and certain I would be able to do this...and I did! I will never be able to say, "Thank You!" enough!

At the age of 42, and being in a wheelchair for the past 16 years, I have become a licensed pilot!!! Thank you, a million times, thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reach out to more fund raising organizations....there are many hedge funds and other types of organizations that would love to help bolster this program and offer it to as many disabled individuals as it could.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers