Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

Able Flight is a absolutely a GREAT non profit organization! They really care about the people that they are helping, which is disabled people wanting to become pilots. To some that may sound weird, a disabled person with a goal of wanting to fly an airplane? but to them that is a possible candidate into there professional program that they have. I was ecstatic to learn that Able Flight was going to make my dreams come true when they gave me the chance to finish my flight training. Sitting on the ground thinking about your disability won't get you anywhere, and if you have ambitions of soaring in the air, then take the challenge of a lifetime and contact Able Flight and get your wings so you will be ABLE to know that you are just as ABLE as anyone else!
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

As a volunteer with Able Flight, I was rather unsure of what I was initially getting involved in. Having never taught outside of the one program I was employed with at the time, I didn't know what kind of support I'd have, and what the environment would be like.

After my first year
instructing, I knew that Able Flight was a program that I wanted to work for, or at the very least, support in the future. At first, I though that it was just a nice program that taught people with physical disabilities how to fly an airplane. I later realized how much this program did to change the lives of the people that were lucky enough to be selected. Both years that I have helped out, I have seen the fantastic opportunity that this program provides, and the many good people that become a part of this program, from the students, to the instructors; from the donors, to the directors.

For the last two years, all of my personal highs have occurred when working for this program. If I may be so bold, I believe that I may have learned more about instructing and about myself than the students learn during the course of the summer portion of the program.

But enough about me; this program would not exist without the stellar work of Charles Stites, the head of the program. He has 100% commitment to Able Flight but probably more. Whenever I speak with him, I can tell how much he cares for the program, the students, and the volunteers. He is the most supportive and hands down best director that the Able Flight program could hope to have. He will get whatever needs to be done, and take on obstacles, no matter how big or small, for the furtherance of the program. However, more importantly, he will do whatever it takes to create the an environment that best lets the students succeed. And successful he has been with the 100% success rate that Able Flight enjoys.

There is nothing I can say that has not already been said by countless others: the Able Flight program is, as far as I am concerned, the best nonprofit in aviation and deserves to remain a top nonprofit in the country. Thank you Charles, for allowing me to be a part of this outstanding program.
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

After completing the Able Flight program, I have made not only myself proud, but my family and friends as well. Growing up with cerebral palsy, I have always been told that I couldn’t do certain things. Able Flight gave me the opportunity to prove all of those who have doubted me wrong. I have always dreams of becoming a pilot after growing up on Air Force bases and seeing the fighter jets fly over my backyard. I thank the Able Flight program as well as the donors and sponsors because if it weren’t for them, we might not have had this opportunity. I hope that others will continue to apply to the program so that they can experience a major confidence boost, as well as earning a pilot certificate and making lifelong friends. None of this would be possible without the donors and sponsors, so I would hope that the donations would continue as they are giving life changing gifts and experiences.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

One of my favorite things is to watch the transformation that happens in the lives of Able Flight program participants. Each summer, 6 people appear at the Purdue airport to participate in the Able Flight flight training; they work very hard, and depart weeks later as changed, empowered and confident pilots. They stand, or sit, a little higher when they leave.

It's not just those 6 individuals who are changed and enriched. The families of the flight students, the Purdue student flight instructors, and anyone who connects with the program all benefit. I talk about Able Flight frequently - with my kids, friends, students, and family - almost all of whom take our own health and even mobility for granted much of the time. I'm very proud of each of the program participants and instructors, and grateful to the Able Flight executive leaders. Charles Stites is one of those rare people who makes great things happen for others. Able Flight is a top tier nonprofit organization.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

As a flight instructor for Able Flight, I had a tremendous opportunity to help teach others with disabilities to fly. In my experience as a flight instructor, I have never worked with more dedicated students. All of the students and instructors stuck together as a group the entire time while we were in the airplane, in ground school, or just hanging out.

Not only were the students awesome, Able Flight as an organization was behind us the entire time. For example, when we had a maintenance delay with an airplane, Able Flight made sure that we had the part there as soon as possible to finish the students. Their dedication to the students is made apparent by the fact that every student going through the program at Purdue has finished earning their license.

I made friendships that I know will last a lifetime, and teaching these students taught me a great deal as well. Watching my student take off on his first solo made every bit of work worth it. It really allows the student to leave their disability on the ground, and lets them join every pilot in feeling some of the greatest freedom in the world. I would definitely recommend this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I have had a dream of flight and of working in the aviation industry since I was a child. Right after I started my flight instruction, I lost my arm in an accident in the Navy. I thought my dream had been forever removed from possibility. Able Flight showed me that my life wasn't over and that my dream was still possible. They gave me the training and confidence to start a new life for myself after the old one had been destroyed. I now have my Sport Pilot certificate and am currently enrolled in an FAA Flight Dispatcher program at Universal Weather and Aviation.

Able Flight has forever changed my life for the better. Charles Stites is AMAZING at what he does and I will always be grateful that he took a chance on me. He nurtured my aviation passion and ensured that I had everything I needed to succeed. It was tough and it was hard, but it was also fun and rewarding and confidence building and worth every minute! If I can fly a plane with only 1 arm, there's nothing I can't do.

A word about the sponsors: MARVELOUS! I met so many wonderful people that support this program. Matt at Bombardier was such a joy to meet; he felt like a long lost friend that had my back and would always be there for me. Chris and the gand from Sennheiser were the same, even to the point of inviting me to share their rental house during the rain at Oshkosh when I was afraid that my tent had flooded. The staff and students and Purdue University were so good to me during my time there that I didn't want to leave. John and Bernie are so very supportive of my aviation dream and we are keeping in touch as my current training progresses.

My time was such a flurry of activity that I'm having trouble remembering everyone I met. The folks at AOPA, Aero Shell, Foreflight, and Landmark Aviation were incredible. Very supportive and personable. Jet Aviation, Embraer, Signature Flight Support, AVweb, and King Schools were also very generous and are part of something of which they should be very proud.

I am sold on Able Flight and believe in it 100%. When I finish my current training and take my place among other aviation professionals, I will begin the task of paying back and paying forward the gift with which I have been blessed. I hope to soon return to Able Flight as a ground (or even flight) instructor and return the financial blessing I have received so that others will be able to experience this, too.

If you have a disability and don't think you can do this, THINK AGAIN! I was constantly amazed at what I was able to do and you will be, too. APPLY! It will rock your world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. There are no changes necessary. All I can do is try to convince others of the worthwhile nature of this organization. Thank you again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

Able Flight directly helped me earn my light sport pilot certificate, something that I had dreamed about from the time I was young. When I found out about this program I was blow away by what they were offering with their scholarships, the freedom to fly! The 5 weeks that I was in this program will stick with me for the rest of my life and I couldn't be thankful enough for the donors, volunteers, directors and everyone involved in making this organization a possibility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would normally say there is always room for improvement but this program is unlike anything else and I couldn't imagine anything to make it better

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

All my life I have dreamed of flying, but a spinal cord injury when I was fourteen kept me from ever fulfilling that dream. All that changed earlier this year when I received a scholarship from Able Flight. These people believed in me and supported me to a greater degree than I ever imagined. Six weeks of training this past summer and now I have achieved something I wasn't sure was even possible. I also serve as an Aerospace Education officer in the Civil Air Patrol. Now I have such a better grasp of the knowledge and some real experience to draw from when I'm trying to teach basic knowledge and skills to my cadets. This was a life altering experience for me and I'm aready sharing the benefits of what I received with the next generation of aviators.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Sennheiser Aviation has been a supporter of Able Flight for several years, and we are proud of that relationship, and humbled by the accomplishments of the pilots that Able Flight graduates each year. The program is very well administered and enjoys wide aviation community support because of the integrity of the people involved and the value of the mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only improvement I can think of is an extension of the mission to promote the availability of specially equipped aircraft so that Able Flight pilots (and others uniquely enabled) continue to have access to flying at centers around the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been involved with Able Flight as a advisory board member as well as a donor. I am lucky to meet with the aspiring pilots as they do their flight training at Purdue, and to see the joy in their hearts. When a disabling illness or injury has taken their spirit for life away, the opportunities with Able Flight gives that back to them. Being associated with the wonderful organization is very rewarding but yet humbling. We as part of Able Flight, give them back their freedom, but more so, we give them back their spirit for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to reach more people for donations and grants, to make more dreams come true

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers