Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
November 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 23, 2014

Don't be fooled, most upper level staff are related to c_suite and unqualified. Some with multiple DUI, etc. Extra money goes to their sports car habits. Good reviews are written by on of the 8 family members. Good Luck
November 22, 2014

more

November 22, 2014

Following our interaction with Ability Plus, I was left extremely impressed by the sincerity and professionalism of their staff. They were able to accommodate an extremely difficult situation their residential program. I highly recommend this company. They are far and away superior to any of the smaller companies we investigated. As a parent, I just can't thank them enough for the peace they have provided.

-Karen

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the public visibility of this company so the community knows how well they take care of the people they serve.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

This company is the best thing that could have happened in my career. The atmosphere is great!!
I really enjoy meeting the many faces that come through our doors on a day to day basis. I think our consumer rock!! I consider it a privilege, and an honor to be a part of such a wonderful
organization.
Many hats off to the people we serve, as well as to the ones who are there to serve them with much love.
November 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2014

This is an awesome company! They are great with the people and families they serve!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

After learning of the scalding of a girl in a whirlpool bath which resulted in a very large settlement by API , the shocking death of Jeremy Shubert, multiple rib fractures of my daughter, her time spent in Intensive Care Unit for Septic Shock after no medical access for illness and pneumonia following a prior hospitalization for pneumonia ..again..inadequate medical treatment ..and being told by a surgeon that her survival was In severe jeopardy because her condition had gone on too long......I would never recommend Ability Plus for anyone.
I am hearing of other disturbing incidents that have taken place due to API neglect and I believe outright fraud.

The organization is not the same as it was when we took our daughter there with high hopes and trust. The key employees that we trusted have been fired and replaced by family members of unknown qualifications but inflated salaries.

Stay away from these people. Take a deep look into this organization. Go beyond what you see on the surface and go beyond the loving hugs and smiling faces. Go to metro jail website.

I can be contacted and I will pass on information that I honestly feel is shocking. my email is pthomas40@aol.com. My telephone number is 256-426-4696.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start at the top and clean house and make this an honest and honorable organization. I would use funding for the people who are supposed to be served and take away the unbelievable salaries and top heavy organization at the top. I have never known of a similar organization with so many top executives and Senior Directors. And they are all paid a lot of money that I think should be used for the ..as they call them..consumers. I would ask for investigation into the real organization of API

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 30, 2012

I am legal guardian for my sister, who has been living with Ability Plus since 2007 & has also been in their Day Hab Program since it began. Their residential care CANNOT BE BEAT. My sister had a stroke while living in an Ability Plus apartment. Thanks to alert staff, they caught her problem early & got her to the hospital in time. They were a huge source of security for our family during her long hospital stay & rehabilitation. Ability Plus staff at all levels visited her several times a week and were responsive to our needs. They were advocates in helping us find & good care, educating the rehab center on my sister's special needs, etc. The Ability Plus nursing staff even found & corrected issues with her medical care that the hospital staff had overlooked. In at least one case, and possibly more, my sister may have DIED without their careful attention to her needs. Not only were they helping OUR family out. At one point, they had five clients in the same hospital, and they showed the same care & concern for all of them. I would STRONGLY ADVISE families who are considering placement of a loved one in residential housing to consider this important question: Can you truly count on the staff of the facility to BE THERE and to CARE for your loved one, in the event they get sick or are injured? With Ability Plus, I KNOW I can rest easy. They care for my sister as well as I would. Their Day Hab Program is first-class all the way. It's more like a place of learning than most other day programs I have seen, including the ARC's Opportunity Center. They truly do develop learning programs for the INDIVIDUAL client, rather than just "baby sitting" them in one big room. My sister loves it there. Having good care for HER makes MY life sooo much easier! A++++! Can't recommend highly enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers