Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

They have helped with questions I had about my daughter. My daughter has a group of fruends that she can do things with. They are the greatest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Abilities 21 is a wonderful support group for children with all different "abilities" and their loving families. I found this group at a time when I needed a place to take my son with Autism where he would "fit in" and be accepted. It also gave my husband and I a place to go to be with other parents who are in similar situations and who understand what it's like to have a child with special needs. The group does so many great events for our son and we can't thank them enough! They have been so supportive to my family. We would truly be lost without them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Abilities21 is AMAZING and such a wonderful group! They are a lifesaver to me in so many ways. From the understanding, love, compassion, support, fun times, our bad times, and so on, this is one group that I can say does everything within its powers to make you feel like family and offer a place to never see or feel different. What more could a parent ask for! The kids meet and make new friends, parents meet and make lasting friendships, and its a safe place for the kids. I am so happy me and my family are now a part of Abilities21 and will continue to help them grow. They do SO MUCH for the kids and even do great fun things with the parents so that we can also have a little ME time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I helped form this group about 2 years ago and never imagined where it would take me. Our family continues to grow everyday. We have met truly amazing families along the way. The strength, courage and love these families show for their children is immeasurable. We are support and love each others children as our own. It is wonderful to talk to other families who understand your daily challenges and know just when to cheer you up or offer that supportive pep talk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do most of the planning for events. I would love to be able to have the funds to offer events at much cheaper discounts for the families. We do not want a single child left out bc of cost.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I wanted to write a review for the group abilities 21. I am a speech language pathologist working with early intervention clients in their homes. I have referred several of my families to this group because of the wonderful events they hold for the members as well as the support system that is in place in a world where it can be very difficult to raise children. This group has been needed and long awaited in the Lackawanna and Wayne County areas!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Abilities21 is an amazing group of children and families who offer support, understanding and a safe place for our kids to be themselves! Through my son, I have met so many great friends and I thank God every day for leading me to this group. It helped me understand I am not alone and has opened a whole new world of opportunities for him and us that we may not have known were out there. It is a group formed out of love! And with love, we all know ANYTHING is possible. Abilities21 has given my son, Tyler, friends, a wonderful extended family, and acceptance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

Abilities21 is filling a need in the North Pocono area and beyond. As the parent of a teenagers with Autism, a local support group has always been lacking and I was never able to connect with other parents, no matter how hard I tried. This will help other parents avoid the isolation and disconnect from the local community that we did. We attended one event, a picnic at the end of summer, that was well-planned and enjoyable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Attract more teens with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

We found this group in the spring, I wish I would have found it sooner.... Love this group! My son has Erbs palsy and most people just don't understand our daily routines. Abilitied21 DOES!!!!! Our children all have a range of disabilities BUT we all understand our daily hectic lives:) it is wonderful to meet with, gain support, friends- for the parents and the kids AND not be judged!!! The board members are awesome! The events are fantastic! The support is phenomenal! This is a group that deserves funding! The kids are #1!!!! They truly understand a child with special needs!! And some parents with a child with special needs have to stay at home and then financially can't afford outings:( all children deserve FUN! Please grant this group the funds! They are a life changing group in our area! The children have tons of socialization in awesome environments!!! And they understand and know that the mommies need a break too, so they have moms nights! They are also informative, behavior workshops, financial workshops, and more! This group helped us and is a life changer and life saver! Thank you, Deanna leo

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I love this group, For first time I am taking my special needs children to socialize . We now have a social life and look forward to all the well planed fun events with great families !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more visible to others in need so they can join

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

This group was formed by a couple of awesome moms who wanted more for their special needs children. I have the pleasure of being a member of this group. We share stories, good and bad, about our children, ask for advice, give advice, set up special events for our children keeping in mind those who are sensitive to lights, sounds and crowds, share information regarding SSI & doctors. The members are all in the same boat so to speak so they understand that every once in a while the parents need to be pampered a little. My son, Steven, was born with Down syndrome. I was not prepared at all and I was scared. The internet has way too much info and a lot of that info doesn't pertain to all individuals. This group helped me by giving me hope about my son's future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do absolutely nothing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers