Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Hi Twenty years ago, I was diagnosed with breast cancer Well, this April it returned!!! I was in shock and that night I called ABCD. Years ago, it was the Y me hotline. I asked for someone to speak with and match me up with a survivor. they did the EXACT match I was looking for. Understanding, caring, empathetic, and this woman got me through. if it wasn"t for this woman at the other end of the phone counseling me, guiding me, listening to me I would not be in the space I am today! She was My life saver! I have no family that was ready and available to "listen" Friends shyed away from me and still do. I have had a double mastectomy and reconstruction. Still healing and now facing chemo therapy for a year. I know have another survivor I am speaking with. I am also BCRA1 positive. I live alone and its been painstaking going through this . This organization has helped me through this whole ordeal and continues to help me I am blessed and greatful to have called and utilized your agency You are the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I needed to have help with my diagnosis. I wanted a mentor so when I called they matched me to someone who had basically the same diagnosis that I had. My mentor helped me get through the decisions I needed to make. She was not pushy and was there when I needed her. It made me want to be a mentor myself. I am now a mentor and hopefully I have helped the people that I mentored.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I don't remember where I picked up the contact information, but what I do remember is that the person on the other end of the phone was empathetic and understanding. After obtaining the most pertinent infomation about my diagnosis and current concerns she told me that a closely matached mentor would be in contact with me that very same day. She was absolutely correct! My mentor had almost the exact same diagnosis at my same age. She had the same treatments that I was expected to have, and the best news was that she was leading a very active life 5 years out from treatment. It was the best medicine I could have had.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

I first volunteered for ABCD: After Breast Cancer as it was just being organized. I knew first hand that a free, unbiased, reliable, accessible and truly personal resource for support for those affected by breast cancer - patients, family and friends - was essential. I had just learned a dear friend had breast cancer and had no idea how to be helpful or calm my own stress. Since that time thousands have been served, living in cities, rural areas and everywhere in between. ABCD's approach is changing the breast cancer experience. Now, I work at ABCD and am proud to be part of an amazingly effective and sensitive organization with hundreds of trained and professionally supported volunteers, committed staff and insightful Board. Sadly, because of the prevelance of breast cancer, I've used ABCD's services over and over. But until there is no more breast cancer, thank heavens ABCD is there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers