Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I am a small donor to the Abbe, but also a friend of the Director and many staff members. It has become a powerful member of culture on Mount Desert Island and nationally. The staff is a joy to work with on collaborative efforts. They deserve lots of credit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

The Abbe draws on more than 80 years of curatorial and archeological effort and a deep relationship with the Wabanaki to create a 21st century resource for Mount Desert Island, Maine, America and the wider world. Its gifted leadership and staff know that "place" is at once historical, cultural, physical and emotional. Those who enter the Abbe environment discover the deep history, vibrant present, and promising future of the First People of this place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Daily life as a volunteers, donor, Ambassador and counselor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Prepare them for a successful endowment campaign within the next five years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

To affirm the probity and perspective of the board and staff leadership.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To send a clear message of support to the leadership and "full confidence" to our communities.

What would you tell others about this organization?

First, enjoy and discover. Then, ask what is truly important in the complex communities of coastal and inland Maine. Finally, be responsible to the future.

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

This is an award-winning museum dedicated to informing the public about the Wabanaki cultures of Maine, from the ancient past to the present day. Its exhibits reflect a close working relationship with the contemporary Wabanaki nations of Maine. Dr. William A. Haviland Professor Emeritus of Anthropolgy The University of Vermont

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

The Abbe Museum is a wonderful non-profit. The museum is well-done with lots of Native American artifacts, art, and history. They do a great job of illustrating the role that Native Americans played in our early history and the impact that they have in Bar Harbor today. The Abbe is more than a museum, it is a community center where they have school programs and public programs geared toward educating all about our rich Native American culture. We are very fortunate to have this great resource in our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Abbe is over 80 years old, and has a story to tell that is timeless, but the staff is youthful, creative and up-to-the-minute in terms of museum management and interpretation. There is a wonderful team spirit and genuine desire to learn among the Board, staff and volunteers that make this a very satisfying place to serve as a Trustee. Outreach to the community, both tribal and nontribal, is vibrant and continues to keep the mission front and center so that the Abbe's place as a unique resource for the State of Maine, the entire Northeast U.S. and the country, is clear.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Visited the Abbe Museum this past summer. I found the Abbe to be a top-flight museum that met or exceeded my expectations. They treated the stories of the native populations of Mount Desert Island with dignity and respect and it is clear that they care deeply about their relationship with these peoples as well. I also enjoyed thoroughly my visit to the Abbe facility in Acadia National park. A truly wonderful nonprofit that deserves its accolades and support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers