Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I am a new student-member of AAUW. I learned about AAUW at the university I currently attend because they recently established an AAUW student organization on campus. My AAUW student org president initiated our sector after attending a NCCWSL conference. She was so inspired that she felt an urge to bring such a powerful organization to her fellow students. Every time I met someone who had been to the conference, they would express to me -with great enthusiasm- that it was imperative for me to attend because it would be life changing. I attended the 2014 conference and would have to say that I was truly overwhelmed with inspiration (if there is such a thing)! I was so amazed to see such a large group of women in full support of one another. When I heard the speakers tell their stories, it felt like a burden had been lifted off my shoulders; as I had no idea that their experiences in reaching their destinations closely relates to those I face on my own journey. The wealth of encouragement, information, resources, and overall sense of power that NCCWSL instilled in all of us is something that I think every woman should experience. As such, I, too, have been inspired to, not only inform and drive more women to attend the NCCWSL conference, but to also heavily recruit more women to join in the wonders that AAUW has done daily for the empowerment of women. Thank you, sincerely, AAUW and NCCWSL!
September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

American Association of University Women has a mission of advocacy for women's and girls' right. I am especially involved in it's efforts to achieve pay equity for women.

I personally ran up against gender discrimination in pay, in my professional career, when I was employed as
department head of Food Service at a large church-owned retirement center. Salaries were supposed to be 'top secret'. But the CEO, with a slip of the tongue, revealed the salary of director of Housekeeping he had just hired. His starting salary was the same as my current one even though I had a record of 10 years there heading up FS. Adding insult to injury, he had no degree. I have a BS in Foods & Nutrition and am a Registered Dietitian. And the CEO did this in our weekly administrative meeting of all directors, so all my peers then knew too. This was so unfair, so degrading, I want to do all I can to make this kind of discrimination illegal so other women won't have to go through this. And AAUW is trying to achieve this legislation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think ;of any changes needed right now. It's a grand group of women to be associated with!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I have been a member of the American Association for University Women (AAUW) for eight years. AAUW has been serving women for over 100 years in the US. AAUW was one of the main supporters of the effort to get women the right to vote in 1917. AAUW was a central player in getting Title IV passed so that everyone, including women, had access to all public educational opportunities, including athletics. AAUUW has worked faithfully for years for equal pay for women in the workplace, despite many roadblocks. AAUW has a legal defense fund to support women who are challenging the "system" regarding discrimination based on gender. AAUW provides scholarships for women of other countries as well as American women to pursue areas of study related to women's rights and self-sufficiency. The money for the legal defense fund + the scholarships comes from members and others interested in supporting the causes that AAUW promotes, based on their mission statement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I recently had my first experience with AAUW and learning about their purpose and mission for empowering women. They helped fund my trip to the Washington DC for the NCCWSL ( National Conference for College Women of Student Leaders) conference. I had the best time being around women who are going out into the world making their voice be known. I did not know much about AAUW until I went to one of their events called Elect Her at my university; Pacific Lutheran University. Elect Her was about women having a voice and being leaders in the political world. More women need to be apart of the political scene due to men dominating it. That was the first time hearing about AAUW and wanting to become more involved in the organization. At the end of the conference I can truly say I made great relationships with women who want to empower other women and make a mark in the world that women do have a voice and ideas to share. I will continue to learn, listen and speak out with AAUW for empowering women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

The AAUW has provided me with the opportunity to expand my horizons geographically as well as mentally. As an attendee to the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders, I was able to gain practical knowledge for balance in a competitive career and social world. Meeting women from all over the country who believe in equal pay for women and are promoting social change in their lives for their families and communities was reinvigorating. I think all women would benefit from programs like these that the AAUW holds. The organization works as an invaluable resource and support system for developing women leaders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

I love their research reports. Important issues, timely, and actually readable (unlike so many policy papers). It's nice to know that gender inequality is not a forgotten cause because we are far from done.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2010

more

September 29, 2010

Our school has received a grant from AAUW for encouraging, supporting, and nurturing high school girls that plan to enter a STEM career. We have just begun our activities and the participants selected are so excited about the project. We began at our first workshop with a pre ACT math test. Some of the girls were lamenting their scores. I told them that is one purpose of the grant, to help them work on these skills - you should see the smiles and relief on their faces.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Several years ago I participated in an event sponsored by AAUW, for middle school age girls. I was a presenter and the excitement of bringing young girls together that had interest in math and science was very motivating, exciting and encouraging.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 26, 2010

more

May 26, 2010

AAUW not only offers timely information about legislation, reports, articles, votes, topics of debate, and information in the news...the organization gives members and the general public a swift path to action. Want to know the latest about Supreme Court nominee Kagen, the report on Women in Science, an upcoming House bill, pay equity, international incidents, or the simply get inspired by women making a difference - AAUW fits the bill.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

AAUW keeps me abreast of all the issues most important to me and my community, and I count on AAUW to provide me with a clear way to move into action and motivate my community into action.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers