Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

AAUW is a wonderful organization full of inspiring, amazing women, who pay it forward. Last year, they sponsored 4 bright young students from Seattle Girls' School for Tech Trek - a STEM camp. Seattle Girls' School staff is so grateful to AAUW for making that experience possible for those girls. Thank you AAUW for your advocacy and work on behalf of women and girls!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The AAUW has been the most amazing organization over the past year of my life and continues to amaze me. My involvement and awareness with the AAUW grew in March 2012 when the AAUW used Legal Advocacy Funds to sponsor a press conference for military rape survivors taking action at the National Press Club. Ms. Linda Hallman, CEO of the AAUW gave an incredibly though-provoking speech and encouraged survivors of military rape to continue to advocate and spark true societal and institutional reform within the Department of Defense and United States. Within minutes of the press conference ending, CNN, NBC, ABC, CBS, BBC, Reuters and the Associated Press all covered extensive stories on-topic and involved, "The Invisible War" multi-award winning documentary. Media inquiries continue to this day as a result of what the AAUW funded, yet also had the foresight to do: advocate for equality and action. I had the most sincere pleasure of attending the Florida State Convention of the AAUW and giving a speech representing how truly touched and grateful I was for their actions. The AAUW raises funds and campaigns for other women whom they may not ever meet. They raise funds, increase awareness and ask for equality on the premise and principle that it is the right thing to do and therefore a call to action is necessary. I have since met my local branch and joined the organization- I firmly believe that all eligible women should. Yesterday, the AAUW announced something even more bold, yet powerful. They will start an "Invisible War Campaign" at the branch level. The influence that this campaign will have over local communities, veterans and society will be monumental. The AAUW has now helped raise the bar even higher for men and women alike regarding ending the epidemic of injustice, sexual trauma and apathy within the military. Now is certainly the time to join this all-encompassing organization. I cannot say enough how truly grateful I am for this life-changing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

The AAUW has helped me overcome a very difficult situation in my life. They have assisted me as an individual, with integrity and respect, in a time I needed support. I could not imagine having to go through the unfair battles I faced as an individual without having the broad shoulders of the AAUW LAF team. I hold the up most respect for the AAUW because of their mission and actions. They have proven to me that they are a mission driven orginization, not just a name. I am a CEO of a longstanding non profit myself and feel I fully understand the roles and responsibilities required in leading a non profit agency. The AAUW is clearly a leader of all in the areas of respect, responsibility, integrity, honesty and caring. I could not imagine better service in any mission driven orginization. The world is clearly a better place because of the AAUW's good works!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

The AAUW (Legal Advocacy Fund) came to my rescue so I could continue my fight against my former employer in a Title IX Retaliation Lawsuit. There support was immediate and made a huge impact on all involved with the case. The more I learn about the AAUW the more I realize that all women would benefit from being a part of this organization. As I travel and speak on their behalf I am so embraced and supported by the membership that I am compelled to tell everyone that they should join. I was fortunate and settled my lawsuit and the support I receive from AAUW Women from all across this country gets strronger everyday!! Thanks AAUW!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

AAUW is more than an organization that supports gender equity. As individuals, they are strong, profesisonal, generous, compassionate and rightous human beings. As an LAF supported Plaintiff, I have met some of the most amazing women, who have lifted me up, supported me, and given me the courage to keep going. AAUW leads the charge to help girls and women conquer important issues and become strong leaders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

AAUW has provided me and my university with a program like no other. AAUW puts on Elect Her- Campus Women Win at 30+ colleges and universities across the United States. Elect Her empowers women to run for elected office. Political office, student government, and elected campus club position, anything! There are so few women in president and vice-president roles, and the Elect Her program through AAUW has shown me that I have the skills and the tools to become president of an organization or win an election! Thanks to the AAUW and Elect Her, I am more confident in my abilities as a leader and as a woman.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I attended the National Conference for college Women Student Leaders and it was an absolutely awesome experience. I enjoyed hearing from other women who have made it and are still making a huge impact in our world. I am a mentor, an advocate and a missionary and attending this conference has solidified everything I have been doing. I am inspired to go on and continue to fight for the rights of women and human rights in general. I am grateful and I thank all of the women who attended as well, especially the key note speakers. They took the time out to come and share there great accomplishments, for that I am thankful. YOLANDA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

AAUW helped me gain confidence in my leadership skills, provided opportunities for networking, and encouraged my continued success as a senior college student!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2011

more

October 4, 2011

For many years, the AAUW Erie Branch has supported our organization, Environment Erie. The members have graciously awarded us numerous grants for educational programs geared towards undeserved girls in our community. The members however take funding to the next level by becoming personally involved in the programs and making a positive impact on the girls served!

For instance, this past year the AAUW Erie Branch funded a program that offered four field trips for girls age 11-14 that created an awareness and generated an interest in green collar careers. The four field trips took place during after-school hours and included a snack and light supper prepared by member of AAUW. Members also presented during the dinner hour; interacting with the girls, sharing personal experiences and career advice.

Each week, the girls left the program with heightened energy and a renewed since of self confidence and ability! I often see the same girls at different events and they always ask if they will have the opportunity to once again be part of the AAUW after school program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've observed the positive impact the members have on the young ladies in our community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 10, 2011

more

March 10, 2011

At the end of my first year of teaching elementary students,  I was awarded a scholarship that allowed me to complete half of my masters degree. This gave me incentive to complete my masters program. That allowed me to meet the state's requirement of obtaining a masters level degree within 5 years of receiving a teaching certificate.

I also found using a member in transit status allowed me to quicky connect with a local branch when I had to relocate. I quickly met new people and connected smoothly into the new community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was able to continue my education and progress more rapidly in my profession. Also, I made key professional and personal connections by becoming a branch member right away when having to relocate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No particular changes

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers