Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Write A Review
May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

AAUW has been part of my life for many years. While I heartily support AAUW's efforts for women's issues, I truly cherish the friendships and contacts I have made. I have increased my confidence and learned management skills. Recently, I testified before the state legislature about pay equity - an amazing accomplishment for a shy nerdy person like me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

AAUW has been a part of my life since I was a stay at home mom with two preschoolers and I needed to have adult contact. I got involved in the wide range of issues including equity, public policy and life-long learning. Ultimately it provided me with the skills I needed when I returned to full-time employment. AAUW as always been on the cutting edge of addressing issues relating to women and girls. That is still true today. AAUW research continues to address relevant issues affecting equity and women. Its public policy program addresses issues that advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. It is an organization like no other and will always be a part of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

My journey as a volunteer in AAUW has led me way beyond what I originally sought. I became a member of AAUW because I wanted to be a part of something bigger. What I receive keeps growing and growing: I am a more effective advocate; I am connected to AAUW leaders nationwide through social media, and am involved in supporting leaders; I am informed on current issues impacting women and girls, and connect directly with my federal and state legislators to give input to public policy issues; leadership training is available in a variety of programs; ways to support women and girls are available through philanthropy and programming. An example of what keeps me volunteering is what is being achieved through a partnership between AAUW and the WAGE Project. I am fortunate to have been trained as an AAUW facilitator to present the WAGE Project's Start Smart Workshop to college women about to enter the workforce.The workshop teaches an individual how to determine what employers are paying for the job she wants when she graduates and how to negotiate to be paid what she is worth doing that job. The number of workshops around the nation are growing. The workshops in Oregon have grown from 1 in 2011 to 4 so far in 2012 -- with more anticipated. This has happened because AAUW member leaders "get it," and train to facilitate Start Smart Workshops and make a difference for women, girls, and families. I am looking forward to continuing to see the incredible "aha" moments expressed by participants in Start Smart Workshops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

AAUW has been a big part of my life, from when I was a young mom in a new city searching for intellectual stimulation to now when community and issue involvement is important to me. I am so impressed by AAUW members I have met across the country and their work for equity and education for women and girls. This is a real community of women and men with goals to improve our society, and AAUW's outstanding research provides an scientific basis for the actions we take.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

AAUW is a fabulous organization to which I have belonged since college graduation. In 1991, I was selected as a member of the first group of Eleanor Roosevelt Teacher Fellows. We were brought to Washington, D.C. For an outstanding training seminar with Dr. Myra and Dr. David Sadker of American University. They were the leaders in the field of educational equity. As teachers, we gained outstanding strategies in promoting girls' continued involvement in math, science, and technology. My grant proposal involved a middle school computer club for young women, as well as a week-long summer leadership/technology camp for girls. The we're both magnificently successful! I believe in the mission of our organization and am proud to support AAUW both financially AND as a volunteer. The Drs. Sadker told us in 1991: "The cure for cancer might be in the mind of a young woman!", and that is why I believe so strongly in our work. we welcome everyone to join in our efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 11, 2011

AAUW launched a whole new career for me in public speaking and public policy advocacy. I gained expertise and confidence after being invited to speak at some meetings and conventions. The personal sup... more

March 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

So proud to be a member: in the past year of buildup of attacks on what we thought were long-established rights and freedoms for women, AAUW is taking lead in coordinating women's voting projects, media campaigns, legal challenges, support for organizations providing health care and other social services to women. Lobbying for equal pay and other issues on Capitol Hill and at the White House has focused attention on AAUW. AAUW staff have also modeled campaigns against street harassment, and use of social media to educate people on women's issues. The scholarship program practices what AAUW preaches about education al opportunity for women. International outreach is also on the rise. Such a dynamic organization, so committed, so well managed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2011

AAUW launched a whole new career for me in public speaking and public policy advocacy. I gained expertise and confidence after being invited to speak at some meetings and conventions. The personal support and the resources on the website, as well as the networking, have allowed me to use my law degree in a whole new way. Serving as an officer has helped develop leadership skills.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Serving as a volunteer for our Dare to Dream conference for young Latinas and their moms; gaining support for women's causes when I have spoken to AAUW branches; learning a great deal more about women's history; gaining understanding of women in other countries by knowing what to ask when I travel.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Strengthen international ties (which in turn might help promote more diversity); strengthen ties to local chapters of other women's organizations which share similar goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More volunteer recognition from National

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Both personal and professional development, and of course, friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I can make a difference for women coming up behind me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

AAUW provides women and girls all over the world and at all levels of education with the support they need to do great things. AAUW has been there to support everything from title IX to Roe v. Wade to preventing sexual harassment and bullying in our schools. AAUW has my vote as the leading women's organization in the US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

As an educator and advocate for women, I found the perfect organization in AAUW. That was 30 years ago. With its research on women's issues, its advocacy and action projects designed to have a positive impact on those issues, AAUW has changed the lives of countless women in this country and in other parts of the world. Whether it be sexual harassment, workplace discrimination, domestic violence, women's reproductive health, and a plethera of other issues, AAUW is there as advocates for and allies to women and girls. Education- teaching women about resources and strategies to confront these issues - is the common theme. AAUW research on campus sexual harassment helps student and faculty learn how to deal with and work to eliminate the problem. AAUW research on the underrepresentation of women in government spawned on campus training sessions called "Elect Her." AAUW research on the gender wage gap resulted in salary negotiations workshops on campuses. Most impressive to me, I would say, is the millions of dollars for scholarships and fellowships to ensure that hundreds of women from America and countries far and wide can pursue graduate degress and important research. This is an organization that I am proud to belong to, proud to volunteer for, and proud to support financially. You should do the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

AAUW has been involved in education for 130 years, since its founding. AAUW gives over 3.7 million dollar yearly to wommen both in USA and worldwide to continue their education . These educated women use their knowledege and skills learned to make this a better world for us all.

Two very
close friends of mine have received funds from AAUW to continue their studies. One in the encironmental sciences. Tthe other in counculing students to understand themselves better and plan for their futures. These women exemplify Education 4 All.

AAUW advocates for education, both locally & nationally. AAUW's Public Policy Program approved by the memmbership supports a strong system of public education and advocates for "adequate and equitable funding for quality public education for all students." Our 100,00 members believe in and value education. They are advocates for federal and state legislation that brings all facets of edcation to people. They raise money for local scholarships as well as the Educational Opportunities Fund. They work with children and adults individually to further their education.

Education in its many aspects is the keystone of AAUW.





The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The satisffaction I gain from making a difference in the lives of people who have benefited fro our educational programs. I've seen the difference Title IX enforcement has made to my friends children and grand children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to join to carry on the valuable educational work that we do.

September 22, 2011

more

September 22, 2011

I joined the American Association of University Women years ago to meet like-minded women and to have on-going educational opportunities. AAUW has met these goals and given me so much more!
AAUW is an organization of dedicated and talented members, working together to break through barriers,
so women and girls have equal opportunities. I want the world to be a better place for future generations.

Thanks AAUW!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many volunteer projects that I have worked on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue increase membership.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers