Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
213 Reviews
1234.854465
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Participated in Pay Equity Day in MO. Women on average make 77 cents to $1 a man make in his career. $1.2 million less AAUWMO delivered informational packets to our state & federal legislators on 4/17/2012.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

During the many years when women's organizations shied away from advocacy - were fearful of "controversy" - AAUW never lost sight of its mission. During those years, AAUW was a beacon for women committed to press for equity and justice, energizing so many of us. I'm proud to be a part of AAUW and its work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

This is a wonderful organization. They worked hard and stay focus on the needs of women and children. It is such a dynamic and powerful group of women that I always feel empowered to achieve anything when I am around them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 23, 2011

I love the AAUW! I am a grassroots volunteer lobbyist for AAUW which means I join other AAUW members who are part of Lobby Corps and go to Capitol Hill whenever Congress is in session to lobby on bil... more

June 14, 2012

Since I joined AAUW in 1995, I have participated in several of its activities including grassroots lobbying in the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives on issues that are critically important to women, girls and families including supporting the passage of the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009 and advocating on behalf of the Paycheck Fairness Act. I have been provided with excellent briefings and issue papers that prepare me for our visits to the Senate and the House. I advocate for and against the proposed bills, provide information to support our positions on the bills, answer questions raised by staff members and help them understand our views on the bills and the importance of these to our members. I feel like I am making a difference in the lives of woman and girls throughout our country by being involved in the advocacy efforts of the AAUW. I am part of the AAUW International Conversation and Cultural Exchange groups where I have opportunities to meet diplomats from around the world, get to know them and share information about their countries and their culture and our country. These meetings with diplomats help to promote peace between different people and countries. I have attended many branch meetings where issues that are important to women including Title IX and educational opportunities, healthcare for women, and pay equity, among other issues, are discussed. I have met many friends through AAUW. I love AAUW and highly recommend this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2011

I love the AAUW! I am a grassroots volunteer lobbyist for AAUW which means I join other AAUW members who are part of Lobby Corps and go to Capitol Hill whenever Congress is in session to lobby on bills that are important to women and families. I love to be involved in a dynamic organization like AAUW which is working everyday to better the lives of all women and families. I like keeping up with the important issues being discussed in the Senate and the Congress. I also participate in the international conversation groups that AAUW hosts with the international community. Twice a month we host coffees that the spouses of the diplomats attend and we discuss a variety of topics. This is a wonderful way to learn more about countries around the world and make some lasting friendships with women from other countries. I have been a member of AAUW for about 17 years and am very happy I joined.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my lobbying work and in my involvement in the international conversation groups with women from around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes. It is a great organization and I fully support its mission and its work.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I joined AAUW in 1974 when I returned to my alma mater as a professor in the English Department. I was mentored by Dr. Lucille Griffith, who had been mentored and was a personal friend of Dr. Hallie Farmer, who had been a professor at Montevallo for 30 years. Hallie Farmer is my hero; her courage, her passion for promoting civil rights, equal rights, fairness in society has been my inspiration. My goal has been to continue the fight that Hallie Farmer began on a small, liberal arts campus in central Alabama and continued successfully in Washington with AAUW. With her as a model, I have become an activist in public policy, at the local, state, and national levels. In my role as a teacher, I have tried to encourage young women, students and professionals, to become involved in politics, in public service, in AAUW. No other organization provides as much leadership--in its research in women's issues, in its advocacy in government, in its support of educational fellowships, in its legal advocacy for change. I am proud to have AAUW as a major part of my professional and personal resume.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I joined AAUW because a friend was a member. I have found, though, that I've made many new friends through AAUW. Just as important, it provides me with accurate, up-to-date national public policy information and an opportunity to serve my community through our scholarship fund program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been a member of AAUW since the mid-70s. I joined because I had suffered employment discrimination and wanted to be part of an organization that was working hard -- and effectively -- to make significant inroads. One of the reasons I've maintained my membership all these years is because AAUW is always ready and able to take a leadership role to meet the challenges women continually face. In addition, AAUW has provided a place for me to develop leadership skills. Even when I fell flat on my face, another member was there to tell me how gracefully I took that fall. I am grateful for the opportunity to have served AAUW in many leadership roles in four different states.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my work and personal life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to recruit new members who can work with us to achieve equity for women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have had many opportunities to serve in leadership positions -- president of the local branch in two different states, president of the state in one state, active participant in the other two states in which I have lived.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Worthwhile. That I was making a difference.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been an AAUW member since 1993. Working with AAUW in branch leadership positions has honed my consensus-building skills and my organizational capacity. Working with Lobby Corps has taught me to speak out on issues of importance to women and girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

AAUW has provided me with a truly unique volunteer experience. Along with over 30 other women in the Washington DC area, I am a part of Lobby Corps. We extend the policy advocacy of all members in local affiliates by meeting each Thursday morning to be briefed on particular legislation and then talk to talk face-to-face with congressional staffers about the issues. Most of us on Lobby Corps have been volunteering in this way for years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

As an African American “Boomer” woman, I have spent my entire adult life working with civil rights and women’s rights organizations. Nonetheless, the advocacy that I learned and am still developing in the AAUW “Voices” Project is unique and extraordinary. A diverse group of women from all over the nation have been brought together to learn how to write op-eds which both support progressive women’s socio-political views and increase the number of women now underrepresented in media opinion pieces. I have had editorials published in New Jersey’s major publications on women and social security, as well as the future role of our millennial women.
Over the years, I have been an AAUW member on the sidelines observing the organization’s many pursuits of its mission to “advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.” The AAUW “Voices” Project has taught me how to access a much more activist role in the organization. A retired educator with 40+ years experience, AAUW has reinvigorated and enriched my commitment to community-strengthening teaching and learning for women and their families. I look forward to the continued growth and success of the AAUW “Voices” Project and its innovative impact on other organizational initiatives.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Janjacks is a retired educator and participant in the AAUW Voices Project; President Emeritus of the New Jersey Association of Black Educators; a member of AFT-Retired, NJEA-Retired; the North Jersey Negro Business and Professional Women; the Plainfield League of Women Voters; the National Council of Negro Women; and the NAACP.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers