Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Write A Review
June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

As a young woman, divorced with two young children, no child support, and working to earn a degree, local AAUW members encouraged my return to college. Only later, middle-aged and married again with a professional career and two more children, did I have time to commit to a volunteer organization. My choice of AAUW was a natural given its commitment to equity for women and education for women and girls. My volunteer work with AAUW locally and at state and national levels brings results and satisfaction. I still work with younger women and old in my local branch to support positive changes in our community and state. The fellowships AAUW supports for women graduates around the world are an important symbol of the path that brought me where I am. A leader in national advocacy for its defining issues, AAUW helps to secure values I am committed to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

AAUW is the only organization that I support. It is focused on advancing equity for women and girls, it puts millions of dollars toward furthering education and supporting legal action as needed, and each local branch has its own projects that further the mission. I belong to and support AAUW for myself and my friends' daughters, grand daughters, nieces, grand nieces, CHILDFUND foster children AND the men in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I first joined AAUW forty years ago as a first time mother in search of adult conversation. Over the years, I have been a member and officer in 8 branches in Virginia and California. Whenever I moved, I knew that I would find like minded women in the local branch of AAUW. And when I didn't find one, I found a group of like minded women and started a branch. During the 80s, I saw women in my branches applying to law school, being accepted, graduating and passing the bar. They inspired me to do the same, breaking through barriers that were present when I first graduated from college and fulfilling a life long dream. I am particularly impressed with the AAUW legislative program and the tools that enable us to connect with our state and national legislators on issues of equity in pay, education, reproductive rights, and justice.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Today, using the support AAUW gives the volunteers of the Capital Hill Lobby Corps, I was in the office of a US senator. I had attended a briefing prepared by a member of the organization, and was comfortable in my role advocating for girls' athletic opportunities. The legislative chief came out, and I gave him my polite, prepared heartfelt sentence. We talked more, he told me of his neighbor's involvement in the Olympics, and I think I might have gotten the support of this office. I was there for the girls who haven't yet been disappointed. This organization gives me the tools, as a volunteer, to try to make the future better.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results of our efforts in improving the futures of women and girls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a few hundred million more members in this country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Sign up the First Lady.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I am a better public speaker.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This work reduces my personal irritation at public events because I can see some of the moving parts up close.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

AAUW provides an opportunity for women to join a local group (branch) of women who are simillar minded in wanting to advocate for equity for women and girls. Last summer I relocated to New Bern, NC with my husband from MI where I was an AAUW member. I contacted the New Bern Branch President about joining AAUW. She responded to me from Israel where she was traveling at the time inviting me to the Branch's Sept. meeting. In August she invited me to a special meeting of NC State representatives where I learned about a Pilot Project for Public Policy to be initiated in 2011. I volunteered to be our branch Public Policy "sender" providing information updates as well as "Take Action" advocacy opportunities on the Federal and State level for our New Bern Branch members who signed on to participate in the pilot. This volunteer opportunity proves to be very educational for me. I am grateful to help our members become more involved in Public Policy. I am learning so much about the NC Legislature in my newly "adopted" state. Our NC General Assembly is currently in session and it is amazing to follow legislation re. Education which is the issue we are following. Besides making new friends I am now volunteering in a new area, Public Policy that I find very rewarding and a way to challenge my mind at age 68. Thanks so much AAUW!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Participated in Pay Equity Day in MO. Women on average make 77 cents to $1 a man make in his career. $1.2 million less AAUWMO delivered informational packets to our state & federal legislators on 4/17/2012.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

During the many years when women's organizations shied away from advocacy - were fearful of "controversy" - AAUW never lost sight of its mission. During those years, AAUW was a beacon for women committed to press for equity and justice, energizing so many of us. I'm proud to be a part of AAUW and its work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

This is a wonderful organization. They worked hard and stay focus on the needs of women and children. It is such a dynamic and powerful group of women that I always feel empowered to achieve anything when I am around them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 23, 2011

I love the AAUW! I am a grassroots volunteer lobbyist for AAUW which means I join other AAUW members who are part of Lobby Corps and go to Capitol Hill whenever Congress is in session to lobby on bil... more

June 14, 2012

Since I joined AAUW in 1995, I have participated in several of its activities including grassroots lobbying in the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives on issues that are critically important to women, girls and families including supporting the passage of the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009 and advocating on behalf of the Paycheck Fairness Act. I have been provided with excellent briefings and issue papers that prepare me for our visits to the Senate and the House. I advocate for and against the proposed bills, provide information to support our positions on the bills, answer questions raised by staff members and help them understand our views on the bills and the importance of these to our members. I feel like I am making a difference in the lives of woman and girls throughout our country by being involved in the advocacy efforts of the AAUW. I am part of the AAUW International Conversation and Cultural Exchange groups where I have opportunities to meet diplomats from around the world, get to know them and share information about their countries and their culture and our country. These meetings with diplomats help to promote peace between different people and countries. I have attended many branch meetings where issues that are important to women including Title IX and educational opportunities, healthcare for women, and pay equity, among other issues, are discussed. I have met many friends through AAUW. I love AAUW and highly recommend this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2011

I love the AAUW! I am a grassroots volunteer lobbyist for AAUW which means I join other AAUW members who are part of Lobby Corps and go to Capitol Hill whenever Congress is in session to lobby on bills that are important to women and families. I love to be involved in a dynamic organization like AAUW which is working everyday to better the lives of all women and families. I like keeping up with the important issues being discussed in the Senate and the Congress. I also participate in the international conversation groups that AAUW hosts with the international community. Twice a month we host coffees that the spouses of the diplomats attend and we discuss a variety of topics. This is a wonderful way to learn more about countries around the world and make some lasting friendships with women from other countries. I have been a member of AAUW for about 17 years and am very happy I joined.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my lobbying work and in my involvement in the international conversation groups with women from around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes. It is a great organization and I fully support its mission and its work.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I joined AAUW in 1974 when I returned to my alma mater as a professor in the English Department. I was mentored by Dr. Lucille Griffith, who had been mentored and was a personal friend of Dr. Hallie Farmer, who had been a professor at Montevallo for 30 years. Hallie Farmer is my hero; her courage, her passion for promoting civil rights, equal rights, fairness in society has been my inspiration. My goal has been to continue the fight that Hallie Farmer began on a small, liberal arts campus in central Alabama and continued successfully in Washington with AAUW. With her as a model, I have become an activist in public policy, at the local, state, and national levels. In my role as a teacher, I have tried to encourage young women, students and professionals, to become involved in politics, in public service, in AAUW. No other organization provides as much leadership--in its research in women's issues, in its advocacy in government, in its support of educational fellowships, in its legal advocacy for change. I am proud to have AAUW as a major part of my professional and personal resume.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers