Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

WOW where can I Start!! I am a current student at EMU. I was presented with an opportunity to go to a NCCWSL conference for woman leaders. It was a very costly Trip and I could not afford it but AAUW stepped in a funded my entire Trip!! This nonprofit organization is absolutely wonderful. The women within this organization are hardworking and they really care about the people around them. Not only did they fund my Trip but they took the time to get to know me. They took me out to dinner and are constantly checking on me. I can tell you one thing when it comes to assisting someone they come running to the opportunity. I am currently a member now and I plan on helping those around me, just as they helped me!!!!!! It's so many good thing I could say about this organization but they are amazing and they do a lot of work for the community!!! The members of this organization are absolutely awesome!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I did not know much about AAUW until a friend of mine reached out and invited me to apply for a scholarship to go to NCWWSL 2014. I do not believe in coincidence. I know that everything happens for a reason. There was a real reason why I went to that conference; it has honestly changed my life! It was comforting to see that there were like-minded women who desired to achieve that which has been perceived as unattainable. I was able to move forward in my own plans after hearing from strong role models and even stronger peers. I am beyond grateful for this opportunity and I look forward to attending the next conference! One day, I hope to sponsor another eager young woman. It is important to give back. We have to know that in order to truly survive, we need each other. I am currently working on my own business and laying down some solid foundation for my career. Thank you NCWWSL and thank you AAUW!
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

While women and girls have made progress toward achieving equity, we are not quite there. AAUW both highlights disparities and works to eliminate them. We all benefit when everyone (both male and female) can contribute, without constraints or obstacles, his or her talents to make the world a better place. The work of AAUW is essential and benefits everyone.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

I have been a member of AAUW since 1973. This organization is the best national group advancing women and girls in the United States. AAUW has been "empowering women since 1881." From the National offices in Washington, DC to all of the branches work is being done in the areas of Public Policy,Philanthropy, and Education. AAUW has been a mainstay of my volunteer work, and will continue to be for as long as I can serve the organization.Any donations received are treated in a transparent way, with the Donor's wishes always uppermost. Any person interested in bettering the lives of women and girls should be a member. Judy Horan, Corona,CA
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

AAUW has been advancing equity for women and girls for over 130 years. I am a proud member and volunteer with the San Francisco branch, a leader in the community contributing scholarships for college going women and raising funds to send middle school girls to Tech Trek math and science camp every summer. AAUW is the go-to organization for research on Gender Pay Equity, Women in Community Colleges, and Crossing the Line: Sexual Harassment in Schools. AAUW is as relevant and vital today as it was in 1881 and will be until there is true equity for women and girls everywhere.
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

As a longtime member who has served in leadership roles on the Branch and State levels of AAUW in Florida I am so impressed with the accomplishments of AAUW. It is the commitment and dedication of its members and leaders that make things happen for young women! I have attended many National Conventions leaving each so inspired and honored! There is no organization that does what AAUW does in promoting and offering "real experiences" for middle school girls in the fields of STEM as it does at its week-long TECH TREK Camps throughout the country. I have been a volunteer at AAUW-Florida Tech Trek 2013 and 2014......marvelous undertakings. I have also attended AAUW's National Conference for College Women Student Leaders at the University of Maryland. This is another outstanding event that AAUW offers to young women from all over the country.

AAUW is truly a non-profit organization that uses its funds to further the advancement of women. I have been a member, an elected leader, an appointed leader and a donor of this worthwhile organization. This organization has become my passion!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

In the 24 years I've been a member of AAUW, I have gained the self confidence and skills to work toward equity for women and girls, both in the workplace and in education. AAUW is always at the forefront of issues concerning equity and the advocacy work it does is needed now more than ever. The fellowships and grants awarded by AAUW help ensure that women can pursue their educations and work on projects such as finding a cure for cancer, providing wellness programs for the senior population and educating women about a multitude of health and safety issues. When I contribute to AAUW, I know that my money is well spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am thoroughly satisfied with the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

As a longtime member of AAUW, I continue to watch the growth and dedication of this organization to advance equity for women and girls. The women and men who belong to this organization have a strong commitment to provide educational and leadership opportunities to women, to advocate for women who experience sex discrimination in the workplace and in higher education, and to advocate for policies that advance equity for women and girls. As I see the work of AAUW nationally and at the state and local level to benefit women, young and old, I continue to be a proud member and supporter of this organization. Over the years as I have moved across the country, AAUW at the local level is the organization that I can always count on to provide me with support, a feeling of belonging, and interaction with a group of men and women who are passionate about AAUW’s mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am very satisfied with this organization and how it carries out its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

AAUW is an outstanding organization that works both nationally and locally to advance equity for women and girls. As a member I have participated in many projects that have made a difference. AAUW is recognized nationally as a leading non partisan voice on women's issues. I have served in a variety of leadership roles at both the branch and state level and encourage other women to join AAUW to help make a difference. Even if you are not a member you can make your voice heard on issues that are important to women by signing up to receive AAUW's Action alerts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is effective now - I don't have any suggestions for change

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

A friend introduced me to AAUW by inviting me to a branch meeting. The women there were enthusiastic and intelligent, and the branch had interesting programs. Over the years I gradually became more a... more

September 27, 2013

A friend brought me to my first AAUW branch meeting. The women there were so committed to AAUW's mission and so interesting that I joined, although that had not been my intention. Since then I have been drawn further and further into the organization, serving on my branch and state board and on the national College/University Relations Committee. Working with students and introducing them to the issues that women face have become a passion with me. Empowering women and especially young women is so important for the future of this country. AAUW offers programs that are especially relevant for female students. The $tart $mart salary negotiation workshops teach them how to negotiate for the starting salary that they deserve, and Elect Her-Campus Women Win trains them to run for student office, thus opening the way for them to be politically active when they graduate. The annual National Convention for College Women Student Leaders provides networking opportunities, inspiration, and leadership and career-planning skills. These programs empower young women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012

A friend introduced me to AAUW by inviting me to a branch meeting. The women there were enthusiastic and intelligent, and the branch had interesting programs. Over the years I gradually became more and more involved in the organization, along the way learning how it advances its mission to promote equity and opportunity for all women and girls. Recently I've been working with AAUW's College/University program and the bright young women introduced to AAUW through their institution's partner membership. Through AAUW young women learn about issues that will face them once they graduate; they learn leadership skills; they learn to fight for justice in combating gender discrimination, how to negotiate for fair salaries and benefits, and how to run for elected office--all skills that will stand them in good stead in the future. Empowerment of young women is one of the crucial benefits of AAUW.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers