Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
221 Reviews
1234.850685
Write A Review
July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

The AAUW has helped me overcome a very difficult situation in my life. They have assisted me as an individual, with integrity and respect, in a time I needed support. I could not imagine having to go through the unfair battles I faced as an individual without having the broad shoulders of the AAUW LAF team. I hold the up most respect for the AAUW because of their mission and actions. They have proven to me that they are a mission driven orginization, not just a name. I am a CEO of a longstanding non profit myself and feel I fully understand the roles and responsibilities required in leading a non profit agency. The AAUW is clearly a leader of all in the areas of respect, responsibility, integrity, honesty and caring. I could not imagine better service in any mission driven orginization. The world is clearly a better place because of the AAUW's good works!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

The AAUW (Legal Advocacy Fund) came to my rescue so I could continue my fight against my former employer in a Title IX Retaliation Lawsuit. There support was immediate and made a huge impact on all involved with the case. The more I learn about the AAUW the more I realize that all women would benefit from being a part of this organization. As I travel and speak on their behalf I am so embraced and supported by the membership that I am compelled to tell everyone that they should join. I was fortunate and settled my lawsuit and the support I receive from AAUW Women from all across this country gets strronger everyday!! Thanks AAUW!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I have been a member of the American Association for University Women (AAUW) for eight years. AAUW has been serving women for over 100 years in the US. AAUW was one of the main supporters of the effort to get women the right to vote in 1917. AAUW was a central player in getting Title IV passed so that everyone, including women, had access to all public educational opportunities, including athletics. AAUUW has worked faithfully for years for equal pay for women in the workplace, despite many roadblocks. AAUW has a legal defense fund to support women who are challenging the "system" regarding discrimination based on gender. AAUW provides scholarships for women of other countries as well as American women to pursue areas of study related to women's rights and self-sufficiency. The money for the legal defense fund + the scholarships comes from members and others interested in supporting the causes that AAUW promotes, based on their mission statement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

AAUW is more than an organization that supports gender equity. As individuals, they are strong, profesisonal, generous, compassionate and rightous human beings. As an LAF supported Plaintiff, I have met some of the most amazing women, who have lifted me up, supported me, and given me the courage to keep going. AAUW leads the charge to help girls and women conquer important issues and become strong leaders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having been a member raising funds for AAUW for 34 years, I have come to greatly admire the projects, the information and the quality of the women funded for scholarships. The money is raised in many ways: outright donation, selling books at Book sales, wreath sales, kitchen tours and wine tasting events. You name it the Branches have successfully tried it and made the money to fund their dreams for women and girls equity. As the funds are carefully raised so are the projects and scholarships carefully chosen to give the biggest quality outcome. It is a pleasure to serve the many aims of AAUW.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My introduction to AAUW came when I was in college at the beginning of the 1950's. My mother was an AAUW member in Auburn, AL and I would occasionally visit the meetings when I was home on vacation. After college I corresponded with a classmate who had gone to Ethiopia to reunite with her father who had been Minister of Justice in the Polish government when the Nazis invaded Poland. He went to North Africa to fight with British Forces against Rommell and settled in Ethiopia after the war and codified Ethiopian law for Haille Selassie! My friend wrote long, interesting, detailed letters about Ethiopia which my mother wove into a program for AAUW! My participation has been on the Program Committee for my branch for several years. I have enjoyed meeting likeminded women who value AAUW's initiatives in education, national policy, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

On all the issues that impact women and girls, the AAUW remains in the forefront. It lead the nation in pushing for equal opportunities for women in school athletics; it remains steadfast in the push for Pay Equity and personal rights. In these times when women feel under attack, the AAUW plays a vital role in securing equality for all women and offers great hope that religious and political zealots will not determine the course of the nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

As a young woman, divorced with two young children, no child support, and working to earn a degree, local AAUW members encouraged my return to college. Only later, middle-aged and married again with a professional career and two more children, did I have time to commit to a volunteer organization. My choice of AAUW was a natural given its commitment to equity for women and education for women and girls. My volunteer work with AAUW locally and at state and national levels brings results and satisfaction. I still work with younger women and old in my local branch to support positive changes in our community and state. The fellowships AAUW supports for women graduates around the world are an important symbol of the path that brought me where I am. A leader in national advocacy for its defining issues, AAUW helps to secure values I am committed to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined AAUW when I was a mother of small children in the early ‘70s because it was a lifeline to adult conversation. I stayed on because it became it became clear to me that AAUW is a source of strength, optimism, and esteem-promoting, life-enhancing change for all women of all ages and circumstances. By working together toward equity for women (and therefore equity for all) — in education, in the workplace, in health care benefits — we in AAUW multiply exponentially our individual power to make a difference in the lives of the women and girls who come after us. And through our community programs and scholarships, we encourage an interest in life-long learning and an understanding of what women have contributed down through history. In addition to the pride of knowing that I’ve played a role in all this there has been the reward of personal growth and enrichment from my nine years as branch public policy representative.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing first-hand from Lilly Ledbetter, whose unfair pay over the course of her career, led to the "Lilly Ledbetter" Act, the first to be signed into law by President Barack Obama after he took office in January 2008. While Lilly got nothing from this law which wasn't retroactive, other women will benefit from her speaking up and taking action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Neighbors who belonged to the local branch.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Equity for women, through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Equity for women through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

AAUW is the only organization that I support. It is focused on advancing equity for women and girls, it puts millions of dollars toward furthering education and supporting legal action as needed, and each local branch has its own projects that further the mission. I belong to and support AAUW for myself and my friends' daughters, grand daughters, nieces, grand nieces, CHILDFUND foster children AND the men in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers