Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
218 Reviews
1234.853215
Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have served in many roles in AAUW. I am a second generation member brought to membership by my mother under the proviso that I would be a branch member for one year on her dime just to get to know the organization. To say I was reluctant is an understatement but I did it and by the end of the year I was a life member, asked to join the state board and my branch board and on my way to eventually serving on the national board. In between time I received a Community Action grant and was able with the assistance of many other members to put on the first Statewide Educational Roundtable on Shortchanging America - Shortchanging African American Girls followed by a similar local roundtable focused on Shortchanging Hispanic American Girls. The Shortchanging Research provided the impetus for both of these events. Every dollar that I give goes toward research, leadership development and bringing more equity to the women and girls of America and the world. I have always found that both my money and my volunteer efforts have been well used and respected. I have personally gained from the opportunities in leadership development as well as the feeling of empowerment as AAUW has positively changed the world for women and girls. Each role that I have had - member, volunteer, grant recipient, life long learner, leader and donor - is important to me but I count donor as the most important because it is through my donations that I feel I have the greatest long term impact. Thanks, Paula Jean Yukna

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow our on line presence and on campus.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I have been a member of AAUW since 1984 and am especially pleased with the work done by the Educational Foundation, Legal Advocacy Fund, the AAUW Fellowships and Grants and the excellent AAUW research work . All of this has served to improve the lives of women and girls not only in the U.S., but worldwide. I am a proud member and AAUW donor!
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

While women and girls have made progress toward achieving equity, we are not quite there. AAUW both highlights disparities and works to eliminate them. We all benefit when everyone (both male and female) can contribute, without constraints or obstacles, his or her talents to make the world a better place. The work of AAUW is essential and benefits everyone.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

I have been a member of AAUW since 1973. This organization is the best national group advancing women and girls in the United States. AAUW has been "empowering women since 1881." From the National offices in Washington, DC to all of the branches work is being done in the areas of Public Policy,Philanthropy, and Education. AAUW has been a mainstay of my volunteer work, and will continue to be for as long as I can serve the organization.Any donations received are treated in a transparent way, with the Donor's wishes always uppermost. Any person interested in bettering the lives of women and girls should be a member. Judy Horan, Corona,CA
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

AAUW has been advancing equity for women and girls for over 130 years. I am a proud member and volunteer with the San Francisco branch, a leader in the community contributing scholarships for college going women and raising funds to send middle school girls to Tech Trek math and science camp every summer. AAUW is the go-to organization for research on Gender Pay Equity, Women in Community Colleges, and Crossing the Line: Sexual Harassment in Schools. AAUW is as relevant and vital today as it was in 1881 and will be until there is true equity for women and girls everywhere.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

AAUW has given me an outlet to express my frustrations about women and girls inequity and to become an activist of change.
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

As a longtime member who has served in leadership roles on the Branch and State levels of AAUW in Florida I am so impressed with the accomplishments of AAUW. It is the commitment and dedication of its members and leaders that make things happen for young women! I have attended many National Conventions leaving each so inspired and honored! There is no organization that does what AAUW does in promoting and offering "real experiences" for middle school girls in the fields of STEM as it does at its week-long TECH TREK Camps throughout the country. I have been a volunteer at AAUW-Florida Tech Trek 2013 and 2014......marvelous undertakings. I have also attended AAUW's National Conference for College Women Student Leaders at the University of Maryland. This is another outstanding event that AAUW offers to young women from all over the country.

AAUW is truly a non-profit organization that uses its funds to further the advancement of women. I have been a member, an elected leader, an appointed leader and a donor of this worthwhile organization. This organization has become my passion!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

In the 24 years I've been a member of AAUW, I have gained the self confidence and skills to work toward equity for women and girls, both in the workplace and in education. AAUW is always at the forefront of issues concerning equity and the advocacy work it does is needed now more than ever. The fellowships and grants awarded by AAUW help ensure that women can pursue their educations and work on projects such as finding a cure for cancer, providing wellness programs for the senior population and educating women about a multitude of health and safety issues. When I contribute to AAUW, I know that my money is well spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am thoroughly satisfied with the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

As a longtime member of AAUW, I continue to watch the growth and dedication of this organization to advance equity for women and girls. The women and men who belong to this organization have a strong commitment to provide educational and leadership opportunities to women, to advocate for women who experience sex discrimination in the workplace and in higher education, and to advocate for policies that advance equity for women and girls. As I see the work of AAUW nationally and at the state and local level to benefit women, young and old, I continue to be a proud member and supporter of this organization. Over the years as I have moved across the country, AAUW at the local level is the organization that I can always count on to provide me with support, a feeling of belonging, and interaction with a group of men and women who are passionate about AAUW’s mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am very satisfied with this organization and how it carries out its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

American Association of University Women has a mission of advocacy for women's and girls' right. I am especially involved in it's efforts to achieve pay equity for women.

I personally ran up against gender discrimination in pay, in my professional career, when I was employed as
department head of Food Service at a large church-owned retirement center. Salaries were supposed to be 'top secret'. But the CEO, with a slip of the tongue, revealed the salary of director of Housekeeping he had just hired. His starting salary was the same as my current one even though I had a record of 10 years there heading up FS. Adding insult to injury, he had no degree. I have a BS in Foods & Nutrition and am a Registered Dietitian. And the CEO did this in our weekly administrative meeting of all directors, so all my peers then knew too. This was so unfair, so degrading, I want to do all I can to make this kind of discrimination illegal so other women won't have to go through this. And AAUW is trying to achieve this legislation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think ;of any changes needed right now. It's a grand group of women to be associated with!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers